We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived late in the evening, not a word from the receptionist. I had to approach her to check-in and the only thing she seemed interested in was going home herself.....definitely not a good first impression! A deluxe room booked, should have been a king size bed, but we had two singles!! Room mostly quiet, one slight glitch was the very noisy gurgling radiator!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherylfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    142
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
75
125
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Dogs truly are welcome and not in a scruffy back room. I stayed for 2 nights and the staff were very welcoming to both myself and my dog. We were going to SKC a championship dog show and couldn't have found better accommodation at such a reasonable price. I had already recommended this hotel to friend and they agree.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denhalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked this hotel for a cheap overnighter to see friends in Edinburgh. For what we paid (£60 bb) this was seriously undervalued. Rooms were light, very clean and airy and the garden around the property was well kept and very pretty. It is about 15 minutes from the centre of Edinburgh so great for anyone wanting to explore the city without having to pay a preimium price. Breakfast was very good with a great supply of juices, cereals and pastries. Hot breakfast was cooked very well - just how we asked - and the waiting staff were very attentive. Would I go back - yes!yes!yes! best nights sleep I have had in ages!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our last stay here just last week, the 5th time I've stayed here showed some great signs of improvement - no not in the dated aspects of the room with its well-ready for replacement doors and in need of a bathroom refit. But in Art's bistro where the food has improved significantly on previous years and the staff seemed to be more 'can do' than the previous 'can't do' philosophy.

Despite being very busy on the Friday & Saturday night and us getting in late on service there was perhaps too much haste in getting us through our courses even though the restaurant weren't requiring our table for another cover. I guess getting us out so they can set for breakfast was the new priority?

Note to management - never forget the paying customer is your priority not the system that says 2105 set restaurant for breakfast and shuffle people out ASAP.

But there were improvements and for that I've pushed it up from an average.

Room Tip: I;ve no idea if there is a programme of refurbishment - if there is ask for one that's seen a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jud9e_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for about four days, taking the price (£60odd for a well-equipped double) into consideration, I can’t fault the place.

Room was nice and clean, albeit a tad dark. Lights were slightly unpleasant, but maybe I’m just silly for being bothered about these things.

Had food several times in the pub, abundant portions, well prepared and competitively priced. Didn’t have a chance to test the proper restaurant, but I’ve heard from other people that it is very nice.

Staff was helpful and very cheery and didn’t mind our requests.

Overall, the hotel could do with a refurb as some parts look rather dated, but still, for the price you really can’t complain. In fact, I find the 80s throwback lobby rather charming.

I’d definitely recommend the hotel to people on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had an amazing weekend, my wonderful husband took me away for a break as I was working too hard. We stayed in a beautiful hotel, the Pitbauchlie House Hotel in Dunfermline and had a wonderful time. Lovely food, very comfortable and staff were all so friendly. Becky the receptionist was exceptionally helpful and Sam, the owner/manager was a breath of fresh air with his stories. We will definitely be returning and would recommend for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanMcDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked my brothers wake here for after his funeral, and also recommended friends from down south to stay at hotel! staff in attendance were very nice but duty manager and board member could learn communication skills as their lack of thought and communication led to a lot of upset on the day and the following few days, charged us extra for food although we did not ask for any or were consulted about this, several phone calls later led me to speak to..sorry be spoken to by a chairman/board member who was incredibly arrogant and rude and could only utter the words company policy like it was his mantra, according to him the customer is not always right even when it comes to simple communication skills!! needless to say we wont be back and will not be recommending this to anyone again as a venue!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Unhappy939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at Pitbauchlie House Hotel.

As previously discussed it is our policy to cater for extra guests that attend a funeral tea. We are often thanked for how expediently we provide this service.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the upset you feel has been caused to your family.

I am sorry that we were unable to resolve the situation to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.2 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Property: Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing