We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Dunfermline”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Premier Dunfermline”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We rang the reception bell and waited sometime for someone to respond. The receptionist , who was pleasant, had been busy with another guest. That's what you get with minimal staffing.

Our room was in the new wing and had been prepared as requested. So far so good.the new style of decor and furnishing were quite good. A hairdryer was provided. There was an electronic cluster on the back board of the desk for which there were no instructions. It was not clear that it was connected to anything.

There was a large fan on a stand, which caused me to suspect that the room could have temperature issues. I was not wrong. I had no wish to use a noisy fan at night. There was no way to turn off the heating, it could only be turned down. Unfortunately, whatever temperature I set was centrally overridden at some point during the night, or early hours. I have stayed at Premier Inns where the guest can turn off the room heating, and as this wing was a recent construction, I am surprised that such a facility was not designed in.

The TV was set to a volume of 13. This is okay if you are listening to radio only, or are sitting watching TV at the desk, underneath the TV, but, not if you are watching while in bed some distance away from the TV. The volume was unable to be adjusted till the next day, when staff with the know-how were available to adjust the sound,

I do wish the edict from on high to issue one hand towel per room would be lifted. Sharing a towel is not hygienic: it is not guest friendly. The edict applies to all Premier Inns. If you want an extra towel, you must ask.

We had a king size bed. There appears to be a fad for foam topped mattresses. It felt like we'd got one. The mattress was on the soft side of medium and it felt like a heavyweight had indented a shape into it that you rolled in to.

Lighting to read by was best at the desk.

The en suite bathroom had new fresh decor and provided all basic requirements. The bath and shower, as is usual, were combined.

Unfortunately, we experienced very poor housekeeping during our short stay. The duvet was roughly thrown over an un-made bed. On the morning of departure and with our luggage, we found the small lift was unattended and full with a trolley of housekeeping sacks, which I removed, so we could use the lift.

There is adequate parking. The usual 30 minutes free wifi is available, anything more you pay for. If you use the restaurant, wifi is readily available, though I had to reconnect after half an hour. It was not a fast connection.

This Inn is in a park where you'll find a number of eating chains, you are not reliant on the restaurant attached to the Inn. The Inn is well placed for Dunfermline which is not far to drive and if you arrive early in the day, you can enjoy the Abbey, which is the ancient seat of Scottish Kings, also,there are a couple of lovely parks. There is a comprehensive shopping centre and places to stop for coffee. Not far from the Inn is a useful park and ride for buses either in to Edinburgh, or the other way into Fife.

If the housekeeping had not been so poor, and the room thermostat could have been controlled in the room in this new wing, I would have rated this Inn more highly I am unsure about the efficacy of the mattress on the bed. The two receptionists with whom we had most contact were pleasant.

Room Tip: The facilities are immediately off a motorway and a busy dual carriageway, and there are restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAC_ZACL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you liked the new style rooms, you found our reception team pleasent and our location conevenient during your stay. At Premier Inn we would like our guests to enjoy every aspect of thier stay and we apologise that on this occasion this was not the case. We hope our refund in line with our Good Night Guarantee has showed to you our commitment to provide this. Please be assured the issues you experienced have been fully investigated and been recorded on our feedback system.

Unfortunately our rooms can become warm in the Summer months; however, we have tried to combat this by leaving the windows open in the rooms during the daytime, providing fans in all our rooms and switching off the heaters at the wall. We apologise that on this ocassion your heater was not switched off. Premier Inns that currently do not have air conditioning are due to recieve air conditioning within the next two years.

We also apologise for the TV volume being set at 13. After previous feedback we have recieved from guests, all our TVs were set to a volume that we believe is appropriate, in order to control the levels of disturbance caused to guests by TV volume. Unfortunately on this ocassion the volume you experienced is not the normal volume for our TVs, and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Although at present our wi-fi is free for the first 30 minutes and then £3 for 24 hours afterwards, we are due to recieve free wi-fi in the coming months.

Please be assured your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Once again thank-you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    158
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
164
173
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Super comfy bed in a comfortable room - 40 minutes from Edinburgh during August (the Festival)
Excellent Service - with a smile - definitely recommend! Restaurant close - again with excellent service and food was yummy.



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele_OO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank-you for such a lovely review regarding your stay at Premier Inn Dunfermline. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and that you felt we delivered excellent service. We are also glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay; I agree our Hypnos mattresses are really comfortable. We are also glad to hear that you found our location close to Edinburgh convenient during your travels, and that you would recommend dining in our neighbouring restaurant. Please be assured your feedback regarding the restaurant will be passed onto the restaurant's management team. Once again thank-you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hotel was really nice. Situated in a leisure park with lots to do esp if you have children. I wouldn't recommend dining at the Crooked Glen restaurant but there is plenty other places to dine around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank-you for reviewing your stay with us at Premier Inn Dunfermline. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I agree our location within a leisure park which includes a cinema, bowling and crazy golf is great for families with children. I am sorry to hear that you would not recommend dining at our neighbouring restaurant, please be assured your feedback will be passed onto the restaurant's management team. Thank-you once again for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A good clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Plenty of eating places on the site ie McD , Frankies and. BEnnys, Burger King as well as brewers Fayre. Watch the price though, a bit expensive for a budget hotel . Beds are comfortable but extremely high for shorter or older visitor. Only 30 mins free Wi Fi .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Premier Inn Dunfermline. The team here are glad to hear that you found them friendly and helpful during your stay and you found the rooms clean. We are also glad to hear that you found our location within a leisure park with its many restaurants, cinema, bowling and crazy golf, convenient during your stay. We are also delighted to hear that you found our beds comfortable, our new mattresses are slightly higher than our old ones, however, this is due to the memory foam topper which we have placed on top of our mattresses which I hope you will agree makes our beds more comfortable. At present the hotel does offer 30 minutes free wi-fi and then it is £3 for 24 hours, however, this will be changing in the next few months to free wi-fi. Thank-you for your feedback on our pricing. Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time. Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy. We do have a team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money. Once again thank-you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

hotel was easy to get to, staff are all friendly and eager to help, ask for the new rooms they are stunning. Ideal base for Edinburgh without the noise and congestion off the city. As always the Famous Premier Inn breakfast lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simps296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your stay with us at Premier Inn Dunfermline. The team here are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and you found them helpful and friendly during your stay. I have got to also agree with you that our new rooms are stunning, although we only have 18 rooms in this design at the moment we are receiving a refurbishment on our other rooms by the end of this year which we are very excited about. It is also wonderful to hear that our breakfast service in the neighbouring restaurant met your expectations, I always find our unlimited Premier Inn breakfast with its wide range of items is a brilliant way to start the day. Lastly I am glad you found our location convenient during your stay and you had no problems trying to find us. Once again thank-you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We ( a party of 30ish) travelled to Scotland for the Edinburgh Tattoo. we stayed at the Premier Inn as a cheaper option to staying in Edinburgh. and as a first timer at Premier Inns I have to say I was very pleased with what I found, The rooms were very clean & tidy, and had everything that was needed for a weekend stay. I could not fault the staff, every single one that we spoke to at the Inn itself and at the Brewers fair restaurant were extremely polite. The all you can eat buffet breakfast is exactly what it says on the tin. I would certainly recommend this Premier Inn to anyone travelling to Dunfermline, Edinburgh or surrounding district.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbconneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank-you very much for such a lovely review regarding your stay with us at Premier Inn Dunfermline. The team are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and you found the rooms to be right to your needs during your stay. The team are also glad to hear that you found them friendly. Please be assured that I will pass your comments regarding the restaurant onto the restaurant's management team. We agree our unlimited breakfast is a brilliant way to start any day. The team hope you enjoyed watching the Edinburgh Tattoo as well. Once again thank-you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very pleasant overnight stay at the Premier Inn Dumfermline after visiting our family in Keig Scotland will certainly visit again Brewers Restraurant on site which was very good food excellent value for money staff friendly too

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsybut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Premier Inn Dunfermline. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Please be assured your comments regarding the neighbouring restaurant will be passed onto the restaurant's management team, I am sure they will be happy to hear them. Once again thank-you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Dunfermline
Travelodge Dunfermline
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
219 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
2.2 mi away
King Malcolm Hotel
King Malcolm Hotel
#11 of 12 in Dunfermline
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Address: Fife Leisure Park | Whimbrel Place, Dunfermline KY11 8EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will not get bored staying at Premier Inn Dunfermline. Situated within a leisure park, there is plenty to do including bowling, cinema and crazy golf, not to mention all the restaurants to choose from. Premier Inn Dunfermline is also a short 30 minute journey from Edinburgh, surrounded by good bus and rail links. Dunfermline Town itself has a beautiful Abbey at its center and Andrew Carnegie's Birthplace Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel Dunfermline
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing