We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We got this room at a very good rate and stayed for 2 nights. We were a bit concerned when we first arrived as it is next door to a nightclub, which i think belongs to the hote,l and there is no parking. However, we never heard anything from the club and there is a huge public car park directly behind the hotel. The Italian restaurant, which is also part of the hotel, was good value too and doubles up for breakfast which pretty much caters for every choice. In summary, good value for money and nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo7304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    57
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
20
80
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here on a night out in Dunfermline, was ok but had marks on walls, no real decor and felt very claustaphobic in the room, quite expensive on weekends and staff were not very helpfully and car parking non existent, local council car park down 8 flights of stairs right outside a night club and another busy hotel bar so car was not easy to make sure was secure and you had to pay after 0800 in morning. Would stay again but not at weekend prices. Average at best

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siann R, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review Rooms@29. I would like to reply to a few of the concerns you had about our hotel. Firstly, being in the town centre of Dunfermline, we do not have our own car park but are located in front of a large, secure council car park with plenty of space for our guests. There is a set of stairs, definitely not 8 flights, which brings you conveniently from the carpark to the hotel entrance.

Our rooms vary from single rooms to family rooms and the size of the room varies accordingly. Our most spacious rooms are our king rooms so I would suggest booking one of those if you felt a double room did not meet your expectations. The decor of our hotel is simple and modern. I am pleased to tell you we have recently re-painted, so any marks on walls- which you would expect with normal wear and tear, are no longer.

As with any hotel, our prices vary from week to weekend and according to the time of year. You will expect to pay more at any hotel during busy times and perhaps this is why you felt it was 'expensive'. I would suggest that our prices are reflective of what we offer - clean, modern accomodation in the heart of Dunfermline city centre.

Regards,

Siann Reid

Rooms@29
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We bought a Groupon for this hotel and wished we hadn't. Firstly, they double booked us so we had to move our weekend with only a few days notice.
Our room was tiny and looked out on to a brick wall (that you could touch if you put your hand out the window), an industrial fan outside the window kept us awake all night and someone had left a 'small gift' for us in the loo. Staff were not helpful at all, not that there was ever anyone at reception.....we won't be back. One of the worst weekend experiences we've had. And we've stayed in lots of hotels. We complained when we left and were told someone would get back to us. Nobody did of course. Don't do it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJK865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siann R, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Hi,

I wish to respond to a few of the issues you had with our hotel. Firstly, due to the large number of Groupon vouchers we sold, unfortunately there were a handful of rooms we had to reschedule. I am certain we gave you ample notice and that our sincerest apologies were extended. As we still honoured all vouchers, we thanked those guests who did have to change their date for their understanding.

You were allocated a standard double room. Our hotel is in the city centre of Dunfermline and the sights are what you would expect of a hotel in this location - we do not advertise our rooms to have spectacular views and would suggest for guests that want this that Rooms@29 is not for them. What we do offer is comfortable, modern accomodation in a central location.

Our reception is staffed 24 hours a day and so I find it difficult to understand why you would have trouble finding anybody, although this is certainly something we will work on. Any concerns you had about the cleanliness of the room would have been seen as a serious matter and immediate action taken, if you had only let someone know at the time.

I am confident that all of our staff take pride in being courteous and helpful to all of our guests. We aim to make everyone feel welcome, and would therfore love to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Siann Reid

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunfermline hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel filled me with dread the moment we pulled up and realised just how close the nightclub was to the hotel. We booked a double room and were given a box room with 2 single beds (different heights) pushed together, we spoke to staff and were told that they couldn't do anything about it. When I switched on the shower the bath began to fill with water and I thought they had left the plug in the bath, I WISH. The plug hole was full of hair from previous occupants and the bath hadn't been cleaned properly either, totally disgusting. The noise from the nightclub was horrendous and when that noise ended in the early hours all you could hear was a very loud air conditioning unit outside our bedroom window. As you can imagine we didn't sleep well at all what with the noise and continuously pushing the beds back together. I opened one of the draws and found an adult magazine from the previous occupants, Im so pleased I didn't have my 4yr old daughter with me. This is supposed to be a family hotel and that kind of adult material is left where children could be exposed to it. When we checked out we were told a manager would contact us on the Monday to discuss our complaint, we were still waiting by Wednesday. I rang them and spoke to various staff and explained my situation numerous times and were again promised the manager would call. It's nearly 2 weeks on and we have still not spoken to management. This hotel is dirty, noisy and ran by incompetent management who cant return calls and cant even do a simple room check to prevent children being exposed to porn!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 108 it is not a double room asthey like to sell it as and has an air conditioning unit si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siann R, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Hi,
Whilst we encourage reviews from our guests, it is important that both sides of each story are available so that fair judgement can be made. I therefor wish to respond to a few of the concerns you had about our hotel.

In terms of how close the hotel is to the nightclub, that is stated clearly on Laterooms, where you booked. We suggest if the noise from the club is going to affect you then request one of our quiet rooms, as many of our guests do. Where possible we will always accomodate accordingly.

All of our twin/double rooms are configurable - a standard practise of many hotels, meaning again we can accomodate the bookings that we have. Rather than having 2 single beds pushed together, these are hotel beds designed to be attached and detached as we require. Room 108, is the last of our rooms to have these beds put in place, and unfortuantely with your booking being on the busiest weekend of the year due to T in the Park, this was the room you were allocated. I will mention that we have had no previous complaints about the beds in this room.

In terms of the cleanliness of the room/bathroom, nothing was brought to our attention over the course of the weekend and so we had no way in which to rectify the situation. I will state that we take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and would have been seen as a serious matter and dealt with immediately, had you let someone know.

There is obviously some confusion on your part about who you have spoken to, if you do not feel like you have spoken to management! I spoke to you twice after you checked out. My sincerest appologies were extended for the concerns you had, and we offered to rectify the situation which you declined. We then offered you another means of compensation which you also declined. And so feeling that we have done all we can, to no avial, we will comment no further on your review.

Regards,
Siann Reid

Manager
Rooms@29
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for T in the Park, the festival was only 20 mins drive. The accommodation itself is adequate for what you need instead of a wet and muddy tent! The room was very small and basic but clean and tidy and a great shower!! The staff were helpful and friendly! This hotel is next door to a nightclub but this didn't cause us any problems. The only downside was the price of the hotel for the weekend, however, most accommodation in and around the festival was extortionate! Overall a good base for the festival but wouldn't choose to stay for a luxury night but if you're wanting to get your head down in some clean accommodation give it a bash!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sallymorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Honestly, why have a hotel right next door to a nightclub.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sucioperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We went to stay here with a Groupon voucher. The deal was an evening meal + glass of wine, bed & breakfast. When we checked in, the receptionist immediately apologised for the noise of the fan outside our window. It was the air conditioning for the restuarant. She explained it was quite noisey but assured us that it was switched off at the back of 9pm when the restuarant closed. As we were going out for the evening we didn't think there would be any problems. We went for our meal which was average. The staff however were geat. Very friendly. The waitresses couldn't have done enough for you. They were first class.Unfortunately the weather was bad so we didn't go far, just to a couple of local pubs then back to the hotel. The noise was horrendous. I phoned the reception just after 11pm & the guy told me he was just going to deal with it. He never did. I must have managed to doze off & woke up about 3am to silence. Sheer bliss. But first thing in the morning it was back on. I was so tired I just wanted home to bed. I really felt that because we had paid through Groupon they already had our money so we were given sub standard service. The room was dire. It was like a shoe box & looked onto a wall. We were checking the hotel out as we are going to be staying in Dunfermline on a number of occassions, but it won't be here !!!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.7 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms at 29 Bruce Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms at 29 Bruce Street

Property: Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Address: 29 Bruce Street, Dunfermline KY12 7AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms at 29 Bruce Street 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street is a boutique 17 bedroom hotel and entertainment complex. The Hotel offers affordable luxury and first class entertainment situated in the city centre of Dunfermline. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, satellite tv, dvd players and high speed internet access. With adjoining nightclub and authentic Italian restaurant we believe we offer something to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rooms at 29 Bruce Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Hotel Dunfermline
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing