We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here at the end of August for three nights at the start of our little tour around Scotland. Due to all the one-way streets in this part of Dunfermline it was difficult to find the front of the hotel, but we eventually did, dropped off our bags, and parked in the car park around the back (there are stairs up round to the front).

The room and ensuite bathroom were both clean, well decorated, and reasonably sized. The room had a flat screen TV and a wall mounted air conditioning unit. The bed was comfortable and there was quite a good shower mounted over the bath.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Albertos restaurant offered good food at reasonable prices and there was a well-stocked bar.

The hotel is well located in the old part of Dunfermline, with a very short stroll down the quaint streets taking you to the High Street, the park, or the Abbey. There are many pubs and restaurants around the locality to choose from, and as the weather was quite pleasant during our visit, we were mostly out and about.

Dunfermline is a wonderful little town for a short break, and I don’t think you can go wrong by choosing Rooms at 29 Bruce Street as your place to stay. We were certainly not disappointed and would easily choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonSider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a few nights as it was only a short drive from Knockhill Racing which was the reason for my visit.

Reception staff were fantastic, in particular the male receptionist (cant remember his name) went out of his way to be very helpful and was very friendly. Restraunt staff were excellent also, very friendly and welcoming and made an effort to make sure you werent kept waiting for anything.

The first room we were allocated wasnt the best. I suffer from asthma and i felt that the dust was agitating me so i opened the window but found that there was a vent/fan that was very noisy. I went to reception and was kindly given a new room which was facing onto the main road but did alow me to open the window without a lot of noise. The bed wasnt very comfortable but met its purpose. Shower and toilet were good.

The food in the restraunt was fantastic, couldnt fault it and was very quick in being prepared.

There is a nightclub right next to ot and due to our staying there we were allowed free entry. Never went however had seen in previous reviews complaints about the noise from the music however we did not hear a thing.

Overall had a good experience, if the bed was comfier would stay again and reccomend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmah3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Room was OK although bed wasn't very comfy so I didn't sleep well & got back ache (something I don't normally suffer from). The window didn't open & we had a view of a brick wall. There was a free-standing air conditioning unit which was effective but very noisy. Too noisy to leave on overnight.

Meals in the restaurant were great although there was some confusion over the 10% discount to residents which wasn't applied to our bill. Breakfasts were very good. The same CD seemed to be played constantly in the restaurant which became annoying after a while.

Things to do nearby include: Stirling Castle with excellent guided tours, Falkirk Wheel, Callendar House (Falkirk), Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum, Dunfermline Abbey, Pittencrieff Park & much, much more.

We stayed for 3 nights on a Groupon deal. Good value for money and so much to do in the area that we need to go again despite this being our 3rd visit to Dunfermline. We're already planning our next visit but will stay longer and not at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed for an overnight, thought the hotel was clean and lovely. The rooms were spacious and well equipped with everything you need x Nicely decorated and very helpful staff x Albertos downstairs was excellent value for money and food and drink was lovely x

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmilne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Booked to see a show at the Alhambra and decided to stay here. Greeted by a friendly member of staff and shown to our room. Room was very basic but clean and staff let me park my car outside until after 6pm when I moved it to the local car park which is free after 6pm on Saturdays. Breakfast was nice but they ran out of orange juice on the Monday morning therefore an older couple had to go without which was unforgivable considering there were only six people having breakfast. Hotel is situated 5 mins from the theatre and right in the centre of town. We did not hear any noise from the night club next door.
Could be a very nice hotel with a little more effort but OK for the price we paid

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side from nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madgolfer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Two years in a row we have booked this hotel for the BTCC weekend and both times they have phoned to say they have double booked and can't offer us a room. This time they blame late rooms. Last time there were regulars who were more important despite us booking months in advance.This place needs to sort itself out.. Very disappointed.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooms29_Manager, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Sir,

Having booked 8 weeks in advance, and having received contact from our staff advising you of the booking error within one hour of your reservation. We feel that the method of your complaint is unwarranted and excessive. We appreciate your frustration, however, as discussed the error lies with a third party site. A common error by laterooms unfortunately and one which we are taking up with them.
My sincere apologies, however, we have done our due diligence to ensure that you were not inconvenienced by any delay in our communications.

Apologies & Regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very clean bright rooms, would advise to pay for the full breakfast if you did decide to stay as the continental breakfast is very basic. It was a shame as the holiday spoilt due to the noise from the club next door which went on upto 3am. The one novelty was also being woken by a peacock which slept on the roof of one of the buildings opposite our room behind the hotel. Sad to say with not getting to sleep till 3am then woken at 5am by our peacock alarm this wasn't a place to go for relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
402 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
0.8 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms at 29 Bruce Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms at 29 Bruce Street

Address: 29 Bruce Street, Dunfermline KY12 7AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms at 29 Bruce Street 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street is a boutique 17 bedroom hotel and entertainment complex. The Hotel offers affordable luxury and first class entertainment situated in the city centre of Dunfermline. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, satellite tv, dvd players and high speed internet access. With adjoining nightclub and authentic Italian restaurant we believe we offer something to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Rooms at 29 Bruce Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Hotel Dunfermline
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing