We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST night EVER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WORST night EVER!!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

when i first arrived at this hotel i was left waiting for over 10 mins to find out my room wouldnt be ready for 2pm so i had to leave it till later on in the evening due to other things on. after checking in later on in the evening we went to our room to find a large family room with 3 single beds which was fine but a double bed would of been better, one bed the mattress was on it last legs as the springs felt like it had no spring in it and very noisey when moving on the bed. the window had 2 latches which one was hanging off and the bracket to stop opening the window to far was broken to. 2 bear wires was showing from a switch for the radiator thermostat was exposed and not even taped up but was sorted after i told them about it. but the worst of the worst was the noise in the room from the night club and the people outside. even with the window closed the noise was bumping and you could tell what songs was being played. it does say the was a nightclub next door but nothing about the noise in a family room. all 3 off use didnt get to sleep till after 3 when the club shut. only plus thing i can say about this hotel is the breakfast was good. i wouldnt go back if they paid me to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    57
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
20
80
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came to Dunfermline for a night out and this hotel was perfect! Lovely and helpful staff, the room was clean and amazing, the view was decent as it was the front room, heard no noise from the nightclub but the odd drunks outside but what do you expect between Thursday-Saturday night? The breakfast in the morning was fantastic! Plus the price was cheap and we got more than expected!

Me & my boyfriend will definitely come back to this hotel, we loved every minute of it :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we endeavor to ensure our customers receive the best customer service at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Please contact us direct and quote that you have received a trip advisor response.
Kind regards,

Amy Greenhill
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight last Saturday, and was pleasantly surprised. I bought the voucher though KGB Deals as my husband had something to do in Lochgelly. The hotel didn't look much from the website but once inside we were welcomed from the word go. The hotel manager is very friendly and helpful. It is quite modern inside and the rooms have everything you need and bonus - the bed was very comfortable too. Our voucher entitled us to dinner which was a smaller menu than the actual menu in Alberto's Kitchen downstairs, we had no problem selecting from the smaller menu but will definitely go back to eat here and chose from the main menu. There is a nightclub attached to the hotel which opens from 9pm until 3am, we did go in for a drink and it was pleasant (not our scene anymore!!) We weren't disturbed at all with noise from the nightclub even when it was emptying. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 116 and didn't here any noise from the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we endeavor to ensure our customers receive the best customer service at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Please contact us direct and quote that you have received a trip advisor response.
Kind regards,

Amy Greenhill
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spending a night to visit family and attend a concert. Was pleasantly surprised when entered the room as it was spacious. On first inspection it looked clean however the bathroom floor and edges were quite dusty/dirty. There was no heating in the room and it was cold. Called reception and a young man came up to try and fix it. He couldn't so he said that it would be fixed when we were out. Came back later and the heating still wasn't fixed!
Had read reports about noise from the disco but did not think that it would be too bad. I was wrong. The music started at midnight. I felt as though I was actually in the disco. We put on the TV to try to drown out the music, but it just made things worse. My partner eventually fell asleep, as he can sleep through anything, unfortunately I was awake until the disco ended at 3.00 am. The breakfast was ok, didn't have any glasses for the juice, waited quite some time for it to arrive. This hotel is not suitable for people unless you go to the nightclub and party till 3.00 otherwise you will not get any sleep until then. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all feedback very seriously whether good or constructive. We appreciate that there is noise in some of the hotel rooms from the nightclub attached however, this is advertised on all booking sites and we are happy to offer quieter rooms to guests that request these.

We will look into the issue regarding the heating, certainly when this was looked at during your stay it was thought the problem was rectified.

We are sorry to hear that you have decided not stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunfermline hotels

Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Booked Rooms at 29 Bruce Street last minute as we had a night out in Dunfermline. £45 for a double room with breakfast included. Great price. The hotel was lovely. The staff were excellent, really friendly and courteous and couldn't do enough for us. On arrival I asked if it would be possible to have an ice bucket as I had taken some fizz for the room. No problem at all and it arrived within half an hour of me checking in. Breakfast was fantastic, fast service and the member of staff who served us was lovely. The location of the hotel is ideal with easy access to the bars and restaurants in Dunfermline. The only down side to our room was that it was absolutely ROASTING. We couldn't turn the radiator down and we didn't have a window that opened. We did, however, have an air conditioning unit which we didn't keep on through the night as it was too noisy. We heard a slight noise from the nightclub next door but nothing to keep us awake. Overall a pleasant stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom that has a window that opens as the rooms are very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we endeavor to ensure our customers receive the best customer service at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Please contact us direct and quote that you have received a trip advisor response.
Kind regards,

Amy Greenhill
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked a last minute stay here for something a bit different for the weekend. We got a great deal for last minute £35 for twin with cooked breakfast.

Lobby and hallways alongwith the actual rooms are all recently refurbished to a modern standard, facilities in the rooms are basic, but everything is nice and tidy and clean. didnt hear much noise at all.
You get free entry into the nightclub next door, and a discount in the italian restaurant downstairs.

There are a few private parking spaces free of charge at the back,

all good, would go back easily

Room Tip: arrive early to get the parking spaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIBEEJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we endeavor to ensure our customers receive the best customer service at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Please contact us direct and quote that you have received a trip advisor response.
Kind regards,

Amy Greenhill
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Was staying at this hotel over the weekend whilst on a business trip, I was in Room 111, which was one of the best rooms that the hotel offered.

The room was very spacious and has all the requirements including phone, haird dryer, shower/bath facilitys, television and plenty of clothing space, I also requested extra towels and pillow whice they were happy to provide.

I also asked for the use of an iron and if possible could I have a wake up call, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and made my stay even the more plesent.

I also used the restaurant (Alberto Kitchen) which was also in the same building, this restaurant was fantastic and I had eaten there on both nights.

The bed was very comfortable and accese to the hotel/rooms was easy, there was parking to the rear of the hotel and there is also a nightclub adjacent to the hotel, I was worried about noise but I slept all night with no interruption.

Definitly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieT765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we endeavor to ensure our customers receive the best customer service at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Please contact us direct and quote that you have received a trip advisor response.
Kind regards,

Amy Greenhill
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms at 29 Bruce Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms at 29 Bruce Street

Property: Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Address: 29 Bruce Street, Dunfermline KY12 7AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms at 29 Bruce Street 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street is a boutique 17 bedroom hotel and entertainment complex. The Hotel offers affordable luxury and first class entertainment situated in the city centre of Dunfermline. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, satellite tv, dvd players and high speed internet access. With adjoining nightclub and authentic Italian restaurant we believe we offer something to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rooms at 29 Bruce Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Hotel Dunfermline
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing