We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel is ok, shame about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
1 review
“hotel is ok, shame about the staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel's is basic but nice, when we arrived at the hotel we bought tickets for an event that was on in the night club, the staff kept our tickets for us, when we arrived we were refused entry and advised this was due to not having tickets! After our stay in at this hotel I noticed 50.00 had been debited out of my bank, when I phoned to check why this was I was told it was due to us smoking in the room which was certainly not the case, I tried to take this further but the staff were very unhelpful, in the end I paid more than double for my stay than what I should have, will Def not be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager35, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Marie s

Thank you for your review and I apologise that you were not satisfied with the experience you had with us. We would like to address some of the concerns you had with us.

We can confirm that entry to the nightclub would not have been an issue with or without a ticket on any event night. We do however have a 1.15am curfew and no admittance to the nightclub is permitted after this time for hotel guests or otherwise – this may have been the reason for you being turned away at the door and would not have been due to not having a ticket.

In regards to the additional charges that have been taken from your account. Card details are provided on all bookings for damages, smoking and for other security reasons so that we can be covered in any of these instances. All rooms are checked on departure and any evidence found of smoking would incur charges and in this case we would not refund the money taken.

We are sorry to hear that you will not be back to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    57
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
20
80
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for a night following teh OH's cousins 18th, where he was lucky enough to be given a surprise Party in the reataurant down below (part of the same company)

Room was massive for a double, with decent bathroom including jacuzzi bath. Shower screen leaked badly but otherwise no complaints.

I wasnt fussed, but the hotel should make it plainly clear that the rooms are in the same building as both the italian restaurant, and also a huge club so the noise carries on booming until the wee small hours. DO NOT stay here unless you Ok with the noise. I saw at least one familly demanding thier money back at breakfast (which was very good i must say) due complteley to noise issues.

Otherwise, staff were excellent, restaurant was pretty poor for an italian (see seperate review) but for the price (cheapest room in the city) was better than average noise notwithstanding

Room Tip: The smaller the room number the further away from the noise you will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed there last night great centre location rooms warm clean great city centre hotel next to nightclub[free entry if staying guest fri/sat] and Italian restaurant[20% of food for staying guests] staff very friendly helpful great cooked breakfast in morning.

Room Tip: hotel is situated on a one way street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager35, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
craig m

Thank you very much for your feedback, we endeavor to ensure our customers receive the best customer service at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Please contact us direct and quote that you have received a trip advisor response.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

we went for a girls night out, got a really good deal going on the Sunday rooms were clean and basic beds very comfy and central for everything. Went down for breakfast in the morning self service lots of choice had a great wee night

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Margarita P,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we endeavor to ensure our customers receive the best customer service at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Please contact us direct and quote that you have received a trip advisor response.
Kind regards,

Amy Greenhill
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a very early start to a coach holiday so decided to stay the night near bus station. Found this place on line very reasonably priced, because we had to be away by 5.30 didn't think we would get breakfast that early. We were wrong continental breakfast was laid out in the dinning room for us.Very thoughtful and much appreciated. The room we had was clean warm and well appointed had a good nights sleep in a comfy bed. Have seen a few complaints about noise but we heard nothing in our room. Good value for money and would gladly go back,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank oldertravellerFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
oldtravellerFife,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we endeavor to ensure our customers receive the best customer service at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Please contact us direct and quote that you have received a trip advisor response.
Kind regards,

Amy Greenhill
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I never right reviews as I think folk just like to complain. Just had to say about this hotel what a nightmare had to leave next morning as didn't have a wink of sleep. The noise from nightclub is unbelievable. Thump thump thump till after 3 in the morning then screaming outside from young girls. Thought people were exaggerating but l know it is just a nightmare. I'm 57 and ended up trying to sleep in the bath with earplugs in still really noisy. The staff are very friendly place is really clean but you need a nights sleep. We had no bother getting our money back although we were told we should have asked for a quite room ( did they think we wanted anything else). Sorry had to write this but I'm now home and shattered.

Room Tip: Couldn't give you one .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Janice S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us grow as a business, learning from the people that use our services.

We apologise your room was affected by nightclub noise, as with all our booking sites we do not shurk away the fact that hotel is affected by Harlem next door. We do our upmost to cater for everyone’s requests and appreciate that they nightclub is not for everyone. We also check with guests where we can if they are planning to be out late, unfortunately the day you stayed with us we had a full hotel and most of the other rooms had already checked in.

We appreciate your kind comments in regards to the staff and cleanliness within the hotel, our team work had to maintain high level of service and cleanliness throughout. We appreciate the lack of sleep has put you off staying with us however if you are ever in the area again we would love to have you back with us and if you contact us direct we will ensure you have a room away from the club noise.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunfermline hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

when i first arrived at this hotel i was left waiting for over 10 mins to find out my room wouldnt be ready for 2pm so i had to leave it till later on in the evening due to other things on. after checking in later on in the evening we went to our room to find a large family room with 3 single beds which was fine but a double bed would of been better, one bed the mattress was on it last legs as the springs felt like it had no spring in it and very noisey when moving on the bed. the window had 2 latches which one was hanging off and the bracket to stop opening the window to far was broken to. 2 bear wires was showing from a switch for the radiator thermostat was exposed and not even taped up but was sorted after i told them about it. but the worst of the worst was the noise in the room from the night club and the people outside. even with the window closed the noise was bumping and you could tell what songs was being played. it does say the was a nightclub next door but nothing about the noise in a family room. all 3 off use didnt get to sleep till after 3 when the club shut. only plus thing i can say about this hotel is the breakfast was good. i wouldnt go back if they paid me to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms at 29 Bruce Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms at 29 Bruce Street

Property: Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Address: 29 Bruce Street, Dunfermline KY12 7AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms at 29 Bruce Street 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street is a boutique 17 bedroom hotel and entertainment complex. The Hotel offers affordable luxury and first class entertainment situated in the city centre of Dunfermline. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, satellite tv, dvd players and high speed internet access. With adjoining nightclub and authentic Italian restaurant we believe we offer something to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rooms at 29 Bruce Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Hotel Dunfermline
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing