We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

An average Holiday Inn Express. Clean and comfotable. Beds rather soft. TV have few channels and are not yet flat screens! Wi-Fi free , but only for a four hour session. Breakfast better than standard Holiday Inn Express. If you need a room for one night or so, good, longer might be a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sas600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I’m glad to see overall you had a pleasant stay.
Regarding the TVs we hope to have them changed shortly to the flat screen type and also the WIFI is free for the whole duration of your stay, the tickets have also been changed from 4 hours to 24 and you can pick these up from reception.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    142
    78
    17
    7
See reviews for
90
99
26
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We've actually stayed here a few times as it's very conveniently located and the price represents good value if you're just wanting a stopover.

The staff are helpful - check-in efficient.

The rooms are pretty basic but that's what you expect from HI Express. They're clean and large enough. Bed comfy enough - we slept well.

Breakfast is still a let-down even when you know what to expect. You're pretty much stuck with sausage, toast and scrambled egg if you want something hot, or there's cereal. I notice a lot of people complain about the breakfast quality. Just a wee bit more effort here and the hotel would get so much better reviews.

Wouldn't rule it out but might go to the Premier Inn down the road next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
Im glad to see overall you had a pleasant stay with us.Regarding the breakfast we value all feedback both positive and negative and will discuss this at our next team meeting.The free breakfast does include Sauasages,Baked beans,Scrambled egg,Croissants,Chox au pain,Yoghurts,Friut,and preserves and this is a standard for Holiday Inn Express.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Comfortable rooms with free wifi but the layout of the free breakfast is chaotic. There is no room to line up, no easy way to get food and beverage without bumping into people. Its outside Edinburgh but a short trip. They cater to tours so there are crowds. The restaurant area is more like a cafeteria than a restaurant, but the staff was trying hard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoloVictoriaBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear LoloVictoriaBCCanada,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Dunfermline. We appreciate all feedback and I was sorry to hear that your experience during breakfast was a bit chaotic. During the season we do cater for tour groups from around the world. I will pass your comments on to our Food and beverage team to see what solutions we can do to improve the service in the future in the event of having a tour in.
As you mentioned we are a great hub for getting to Edinburgh and I do sincerely hope that in the event you are visiting Dunfermline that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I used to think that HI Express were a class above the rest when it came to budget hotels. My husband and I booked into this hotel a couple of weeks ago in order to attend a wedding nearby and whilst it was ideally located, we couldn't help feeling slightly disappointed in our experience. Having paid £90 for a standard room, I was annoyed to learn that our standard room was actually a twin room and when I brought this to the attention of the staff they sympathised but said they had no doubles to move us to, therefore we were stuck with it. Rooms were very clean but small and reminded me of travelodge/premier inn, just double the price! Breakfast was included of course, but I did not find it very appealing. I don't recall ever having written a poor review on here but I feel it merits it. I would not recommend booking a room here at this rate and would certainly look at other options. Another problem for me with the IHG is that the booking system is based in the US and this can be quite frustrating when they do not have any knowledge of the area. As I write this I have convinced myself that I will not be using HI Express hotels in future. There are too many competitors and not just chain hotels, offering better deals out there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurabride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
It’s always good for us to receive feedback both positive and negative.
I have checked your booking and it was a standard room which was booked which can either be a Double or Twin as stated in the room description.
Unfortunately on the day of your arrival we were fully booked and unable to move you to a double.
I have noted your comments regarding price and we will look at these and on the night of your stay we were priced competiveley against the other hotels you have mentioned.
We do hope to welcome you back soon to Holiday Inn Express.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel i.e. the staff are fairly good but it's not value for money. The rooms are basic as are the meals. The hotel chain could do a lot more for guests and should reduce the rates as they are a bit over the top. It was quiet but low budget as compared to what they charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline following your recent stay with us.
Im pleased to see you found the staff helpful.
Regarding the pricing we review this daily and will look at the points you have raised.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Unfortunately this holiday inn express isn't up to the standards I've experienced elsewhere in the chain. Poor service on check-in, then told I was blocked from charging anything to my room from an ill tempered barman. Turns out this was because the person checking me in never asked if I'd like the option to charge anything to my room. Time consuming, annoying & paying £85 for the privilege. I'd only stay again if nowhere else available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your with us.
I’m extremely concerned to read your comments regarding the service and attitude of our staff and will investigate this straight away.
It’s certainly not something we have encountered before.
If you would like to contact me directly on danosborne@hiexpressdunfermline.co.uk with more information this would be helpful.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed as a family for one night on our way up to Inverness from Yorkshire. The accommodation was ok but, as we find with many 'family rooms' they are very small and only really good for one night's stay. The breakfast was buffet style and pretty basic really. In a nutshell this hotel is functional and serves a purpose when travelling a long distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Address: Halbeath Road, Dunfermline KY11 8JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotels in Dunfermline don't come any better than the award winning Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Hotel Dunfermline
Holiday Inn Dunfermline
Dunfermline Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing