We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

stayed here in a twin room with my daughter while attending a family wedding we were very inpressed and can not find anything negative to say.Good clean room, friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast was above average for a buffet it was a bit busy but we always found a seat.would definatly stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosassenach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I’m pleased to see you and your daughter had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    139
    78
    17
    7
See reviews for
89
97
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for one night while at a gig in Dunfermline, rooms were nice,clean & modern. staff were nice & the complimentary breakfast was really good. Would stay again if visiting Dunfermline.Taxi into town was only about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.Im glad to see you had a nice time.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed with my daughters in September. Room was very clean, good size and great shower room. Room needs a flat screen TV to bring it totally up to date.
Breakfast is good but could be improved. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Handy for people without a car, as if your only staying a night or two pub and food (Harvester) available 5-10 minutes walk.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I’m pleased to see you had an enjoyable and comfortable experience.
We are in the process of looking at changing the TVs and this should happen shortly.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel was easy to find and the staff very welcoming. Room was comfortable, although the shower basin flooded because the drain trap had not been cleaned recently and was full of hair! This was presented to reception who were apologetic. The breakfast was surprisingly good, and as it was included in the room cost, very welcome! Well done Dunfermline, will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Go for a family room, much bigger!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.Im pleased to see overall you had an enjoyable experience.
I have passed on your comments regarding the shower to our maintenance team and can only apologise for the inconvenience this caused you.
We do hope you come back to visit us again the next time you’re in the area.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

An average Holiday Inn Express. Clean and comfotable. Beds rather soft. TV have few channels and are not yet flat screens! Wi-Fi free , but only for a four hour session. Breakfast better than standard Holiday Inn Express. If you need a room for one night or so, good, longer might be a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sas600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I’m glad to see overall you had a pleasant stay.
Regarding the TVs we hope to have them changed shortly to the flat screen type and also the WIFI is free for the whole duration of your stay, the tickets have also been changed from 4 hours to 24 and you can pick these up from reception.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We've actually stayed here a few times as it's very conveniently located and the price represents good value if you're just wanting a stopover.

The staff are helpful - check-in efficient.

The rooms are pretty basic but that's what you expect from HI Express. They're clean and large enough. Bed comfy enough - we slept well.

Breakfast is still a let-down even when you know what to expect. You're pretty much stuck with sausage, toast and scrambled egg if you want something hot, or there's cereal. I notice a lot of people complain about the breakfast quality. Just a wee bit more effort here and the hotel would get so much better reviews.

Wouldn't rule it out but might go to the Premier Inn down the road next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
Im glad to see overall you had a pleasant stay with us.Regarding the breakfast we value all feedback both positive and negative and will discuss this at our next team meeting.The free breakfast does include Sauasages,Baked beans,Scrambled egg,Croissants,Chox au pain,Yoghurts,Friut,and preserves and this is a standard for Holiday Inn Express.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Comfortable rooms with free wifi but the layout of the free breakfast is chaotic. There is no room to line up, no easy way to get food and beverage without bumping into people. Its outside Edinburgh but a short trip. They cater to tours so there are crowds. The restaurant area is more like a cafeteria than a restaurant, but the staff was trying hard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoloVictoriaBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear LoloVictoriaBCCanada,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Dunfermline. We appreciate all feedback and I was sorry to hear that your experience during breakfast was a bit chaotic. During the season we do cater for tour groups from around the world. I will pass your comments on to our Food and beverage team to see what solutions we can do to improve the service in the future in the event of having a tour in.
As you mentioned we are a great hub for getting to Edinburgh and I do sincerely hope that in the event you are visiting Dunfermline that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.6 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Address: Halbeath Road, Dunfermline KY11 8JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotels in Dunfermline don't come any better than the award winning Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Hotel Dunfermline
Holiday Inn Dunfermline
Dunfermline Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing