We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Xmas and found everything to be as expected. No complaints at all. staff friendly, good location, free onsite parking, free breakfast. How anyone can moan and complain about trivial things as broadband(free) being slow and no bacon is beyond me.Especially bearing in mind the rate for 2 people of 40 pounds a night, Perhaps they should stay in more expensive places then they could justify there moaning. Weve booked again for end of Feb. Its a good clean, friendly hotel for a very fair price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojorisin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us,Im pleased to see you had an enjoyable experience and enjoyed the free breakfast and Wifi.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Feb.
Regards
Dan Osborne
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    142
    78
    17
    7
See reviews for
90
99
26
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very comfortable and well appointed is the impression of the hotel as one enters. That and the friendly staff made this a very pleasant stay, Really, only the rather hard pillows spoilt the visit.

the breakfast area is very good but a bit squashy for wheelchairs.

Despite that, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheels5894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
Im pleased to see you had an enjoyable experience and have noted your comments regarding the pillows.
There is a choice of pillows and please next time you stay let us know on check in and we will ensure they are to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

well impressed with staying here. comfortable beds good helpful staff. Would recommend it to anyone, Breakfast was plentiful and filling, just don't have dinner its frozen food and not very good. would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I’m pleased to see you had a good time and enjoyable experience.
We will look at your comments regarding the food and see ways in which we can improve the service.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked here due to price, expected little, expected the travelodge experience. It was much better, lovely staff who couldn't be more helpful. Lovely clean room with a fab bathroom and adjustable temperature. The only little downside was that the scrambled eggs with breakfast (which was included in the price) was weird - didn't really taste like egg! Other than that it was a pleasure and £50 all in - couldn't beat it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oozeworthypayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I’m pleased to see you had an enjoyable experience, we pride ourselves on Guest experience here In Dunfermline and its always pleasing to hear we are getting it right.
Regarding the Scrambled egg I will pass on your comments to the kitchen team to look at.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past few years, and was back again on Saturday 23 Nov. It is always clean and functional, All you need for an overnight stay. The bed was comfy and the room nice and warm as well as tidy. This time I was given "complimentary broadband", thank goodness I did not have to pay for it as it was so slow I gave up on it altogether. Now this may not be the hotels fault, however I hope someone from the hotel reads this and if possible see if something can be done about it.. I had to leave early on the Sunday morning and had no time to complain to the reception

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarrum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Yarrum47,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Dunfermline and your previous review from November 2012.
I was pleased to read that you had a an enjoyable stay and I have passed your comments on to the team who were delighted to read what you have said.
You will be pleased to know that that we picked up on the slow speed of the internet and that we had someone from our provider has been out to replace a wireless box. We have recently had it upgraded and appreciate your feedback to ensure that we receive the smooth running of our WiFi.
Again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back should you be in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel seems modern and clean inside. It is a little basic but I wasn't after much more than that for a one night stay. The evening menu is limited but you have got a few options. Breakfast is well catered at the buffet. Room was sparse but comfortable, the WiFi was very slow too. No major complaints but nothing to shout about either. Plenty of car park space is available and supermarket over the road with petrol station was handy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I’m pleased to see overall you had a pleasant stay and will pass on your comments regarding the Wi-Fi to our service provider, as we have just recently had our wifi upgraded.
Also as you point out the 24 hour supermarket across the road comes in handy for a lot of our guests if they forget something.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend conference in the adjacent Carnegie centre.

The hotel is well located with good car parking and bus stops just a few yards away. It is set off the road so it is quiet enough.

We checked in and the receptionist seemed attentive and efficient. On reflection, having listened to her tell us about the evening meal and arranging to meet friends we thought we would have a pleasant time without having to go out again. The menu was limited but adequate. As our friends arrived and we ordered a pre-meal drink we were then informed that they did not do meals on weekend evenings so we would need to go somewhere else to eat. We took a car to a nearby retail park and had a nice meal but it was unfortunate we had not been informed correctly in the first place.

The room was standard and as I would expect from many visits from Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast is advertised as complimentary but the room prices are not cheap. The continental breakfast was perfectly fine but the quality of the cooked food was dismal. There was no bacon on offer. Sausages were low grade and tasteless and scrambled egg was also poor in quality and taste. On the second day, croissants were hard and not pleasant to eat at all.

The hotel is good but don't get excited about the possibility of a cooked breakfast you might enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
As you point out we serve an Evening menu service on a Monday to Thursday night and at the weekends we offer a Pizza menu,Im sorry this wasn’t communicated correctly to you on check in.
Regarding the free breakfast we offer the Holiday Inn Express Brand standard which unfortunately doesn’t include Bacon, The sausages and eggs are made fresh in the kitchen and I’m sorry you found them to be poor in quality and taste, We get all our food from a high quality national supplier and I have passed your comments back to them regarding this.
I’m pleased to see overall you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Address: Halbeath Road, Dunfermline KY11 8JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotels in Dunfermline don't come any better than the award winning Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Hotel Dunfermline
Holiday Inn Dunfermline
Dunfermline Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing