We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend when visiting Knockhill Racing Circuit. The hotel is lovely and clean. The staff were nice and the location was good with a large Asda straight across the road and a retail park 5 minute drive away with various places to eat, bowling and cinema. Free wifi and breakfast was a great added bonus, would definitely staff here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlfieMoon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear AlfieMoon12,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Dunfermline.
It was great reading your comments and I have passed these on to staff who were happy that you had an enjoyable stay and hope that you had a good time at Knockhill.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having stopped 2 nights previously at a Premier Inn a few miles away we booked a last minute extra night here.
We should have guessed when we arrived things were not going to go great when we exited the lift on the first floor and our room door was directly opposite.
Unlike other hotels where the lift is located away from the rooms (often in a separate lobby) here it is in the main corridor.
I appreciate that it is not possible to control other persons, however it is possible to better soundproof a room.
Facing a five hour drive home the following day I was in real need of a good nights sleep and went to bed at approx ten.
Sadly as guests returned throughout the night, often in groups, they said their farewells as they got out of the lift, right outside our room. This went on until approx three, and then started again at approx seven as they started their departure.
Having my wife and children with me, the first thing my eldest said as we got up was "That was the worst night's sleep ever". This was a view echoed by us all.
The hotel looked like it was purpose built, which if it was, this is a true travesty. If need be it would be possible to fit a second door within the room that would all but cut out all noise from the corridors, or alternatively invest in a better quality main door.
Heading down for breakfast the layout was confusing with the plates nowhere near the food, the cutlery nowhere near either,and no metal teaspoons??
The selection of hot food was also poor.

Room Tip: avoid anything close to a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogeebare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Dunfermline.

I was disappointed to read that your stay was not to the standard you expected from us. At Holiday Inn Express we want all our guests to have a good nights sleep and from previous reviews you can see that on most occasions we achieve this. You did not state what time you realised that the room you were given was not to expectations and if you notified a member of the front office team that you felt that you would not receive a good night sleep we would have been more than happy to find you an alternative room if available. All our rooms have been soundproofed as per building regulations and our doors are of the highest quality for fire safety, though some noise can filter through. Our Night Team patrol the corridors every hour, and more if need requires, and actively respond to any guests who contact them during the night to any disturbances by other patrons of the hotel. The bedroom floors are allocated quiet zones and hope that our guests show consideration to others in keeping the noise down.

I have passed your comments about the layout of the breakfast area to our Food and Beverage manager. At the Holiday Inn Express we do a Free Breakfast of continental style items such as toast, croissants, cereals and yoghurts plus many more with a Hot Option of Sausage, Scrambled Eggs and Beans.

Again I am very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay and if you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at danosborne@hiexpressdunfermline.co.uk .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I think what impressed me most about this hotel is the cleanliness and the comfort of the beds. Every night I was there I had a good night's sleep.
There is also a comfortable bar area with a full menu served during the week.
I would recommend rooms away from the lift and facing the back of the hotel as these would tend to be quiter.
The rate also includes a free breakfast so you will be quids in. Also if you have forgotten anything there is a big Asda opposite

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank mollyobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Mollyobr,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Dunfermline.
It was wonderful to read your review and the staff were delighted that you had a comfortable stay when I passed them your comments.
Our lounge is open 7 days a week and we do serve an evening menu Monday - Thursday evenings with a Curry and Pizza Menu over the weekends, but the 24hour Asda across the road is indeed a bonus.
It was good to read that you took advantage of the free breakfast to get you ready for the day.
Again thank you for you comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends as it's a halfway point between our homes. The location is great for us. As are the facilities around the hotel. Handy Harvester for dinner only a 5 minute walk away and cinema just round the corner. Hotel is clean and a typical HI express however the staff were really helpful and friendly. Only real negative is the free wifi. It's somewhat erratic and very slow. If that's what removing a charge has done they would be as well improving it and charging for it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I’m pleased to see you had a nice time and found our staff helpful and friendly, We pride ourselves on customer service here in Dunfermline and its always pleasing to hear were getting it right.
Regarding the free wifi, I will contact our providers, We have just recently had the whole system upgraded and wasn’t aware of any issues on the days you stayed.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Regards
Dan Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice quiet hotel. The staff were friendly and the rooms were nice and clean as they usually are with this chain of hotels. There is a harvester a few minutes walk down the road and a retail park opposite with an asda so everything is handy.

We would return here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Tony and Kay,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Dunfermline.
I was pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay and I have passed your comments on to the staff who were delighted at your kind words.
There is a Harvesters a few minutes walk down the road from the hotel and we, ourselves offer a bar menu Monday-Thursday with Pizza and Curries at the weekend. The Retail Park and the 24 hour Asda is always very convenient.
Again thank for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

we only stayed one night but it was first class and the free breakfast was spot on. very good room we got what we paid for and a good nights sleep . the hotel is out off town so a car is needed . good parking at the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
Im so pleased to see you had a nice time and enjoyed the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Was a great hotel, can't really complain about anything, you get what you pay for, clean, tidy, basic, great breakfast, we used for two nights and only 15mins for Knockhill circuit, which is why we were there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IXI633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danosborne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.
Im pleased to see you had a nice time and will pass on your kind comments to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Dunfermline
Travelodge Dunfermline
#7 of 12 in Dunfermline
251 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline

Address: Halbeath Road, Dunfermline KY11 8JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: £41 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotels in Dunfermline don't come any better than the award winning Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Hotel Dunfermline
Holiday Inn Dunfermline
Dunfermline Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing