We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding and Overnight Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garvock House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding and Overnight Stay!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I with 3 young children attended a family wedding here on the 14.07.2012. From the moment we stepped in to the hotel we were looked after! Nothing was too much and we even got our room at 11 in the morning as the wedding started at 12.30.. which was great for us with kiddies! The wedding was fantastic and seemed to run really smoothly! The rooms are perfect and the family room was spacious. Breakfast in the morning is lovely. All in all we loved every minute of Garvock house! The staff make the experience along with the grounds and facilites! 10/10 for us! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxnmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    40
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
110
55
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Myself and my fellow aqua ladies had our summer night special dinner on the 22 June 2012 at Garvock and as usual had a great night with great food and drink. The staff were very attentive and looked after us like royalty. We will be back again for our Christmas night out and would have no hesitation to recommend it to all our friends

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zaza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We didn't stay here but went there for my Grandparents joint 90th birthday lunch. About 18 of us of varying ages ate lunch in a private dining room which allowed us to enjoy ourselves in a relaxed setting. Food was tasty wuth very generous portions. The staff were very attentive and tuned in to the relaxed pace of the celebration. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTN1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

From the very begining in the planning stage right thru to the wedding day the staff at the Garvock were amazing nothing was to much trouble and always available to answer all the questions we had The whole day and evening went like a dream from the bacon rolls and bubbly when getting ready to the meal at the reception to the stovies and fish and chips in the evening was lovely The guests were full of praise for the food We stayed the night in a large comfortable room with a lovely bathroom and the following morning we has a well cooked and large breakfast I would like to thank all the staff at the Garvock for all there hard work for making my daughters wedding day go without hitch and a day to remember

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyscotDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We attended a family wedding here last week in the glorious Scottish sunshine.

On arrival, we were directed to our rooms (we deliberately arrived before most of the wedding party) and were very pleasantly surprised by how spacious they were. Spotless rooms and gleamingly clean toilets left a good impression, as did a couple of bottles of water.

The wedding reception started with champagne in one of the large lounges, but as the weather was so good, most folk headed into the grounds. Lots of seating provided, and plenty of space to spread out. Bar was a bit small, and the staff a bit swamped by folk looking to get served, so a slight queue built up; nothing too bad. Prices were fine - not cheap, but as expected.

The wedding meal was nothing short of spectacular. The food was, unusually for these type of events, piping hot and really tasty. Soup, chicken with haggis followed by cheesecake really hit the spot with everyone.

Reception itself was well organised too - the evening buffet was a little out of the ordinary, but great. Fish n chips in a cone, mini pies with potatoes and beans, rolls and sausage and rolls and bacon. Shame most of the guests were still bagged from dinner.

After a good nights sleep, the only disappointing part of the weekend was breakfast. The cold buffet itself was excellent again, but the serving of hot breakfasts was nothing short of chaotic. Folk were served on a random basis, and some folk at our table had finished 30 minutes before others even saw their hot food. Not sure why this was such a problem and the staff, while friendly enough, were less than helpful, just saying it'd be ready soon.

Overall though, a highly recommended hotel for either a reception or just an evening meal.
Don't think we can guarantee weather will be as good, though.

Room Tip: All the reports of the rooms were excellent - whole party had a great nights sleep, although possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBhoy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We came to the Garvock House Hotel for a Sunday lunch on the recommendation from a friend and we were NOT disappointed.
The welcome into the hotel was warm and friendly. Our 'waiter' had a good sense of humour ... when I asked if the smoked haddock was dyed, I was told that he sincerely hoped so because it was not alive! (Hee hee ...I do like a pun and the fish, when served, was superb, by the way!) This spontaneous 'off the cuff' remark had us all laughing.

The lunch menu was a mouth-watering choice of good Scottish fare .. nothing 'fancy' (as I recalll) ... and the food was so+so tasty.

I shall return ...... sometime soon, I hope, and I'll fight you for a table.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnyRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently spent two nights in this hotel at our friends daughters wedding,The wedding itself was fantastic,well organised and the staff ensured everything ran smoothly for the couple and guests.We have since already spent another overnight stay there due to the experience of our first stay and have booked yet another stay for our wedding anniversary in June.
I can't say enough good things about this hotel but i'll try anyway. The food is first class,i have had something different to eat on all occasions and it is food heaven.All the staff are very friendly and nothing is a problem for them.The rooms are excellent and hotel is in a nice setting.
I would confidently recommend this hotel to anybody and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: front rooms favourable on second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfermline
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
0.8 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
129 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garvock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garvock House Hotel

Property: Garvock House Hotel
Address: St. John's Drive | Transy, Dunfermline KY12 7TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garvock House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a delightfully elevated position in the ancient capital of Dunfermline - Garvock House sits proudly in over 2 acres of gardens, a glorious testimony to its hey day as a stunning family house. Truly 'the country house hotel in town.' Family owned and run, Garvock House has been transformed into a delightful hotel retaining an authentic and rather special country house charm and informality: relaxing and elegant with classic interiors, very comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. And a passion for fresh produce which remains undimmed. Dunfermline hotels just don't come better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Garvock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garvock House Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing