We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garvock House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Earlston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lunch visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just back from a family lunch at this hotel. My son and his fiancé are getting married here next October so thought we'd check it out. Fabulous food, beautiful grounds and friendly helpful staff. Can't wait till next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you Christine. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we're looking forward to welcoming you back your son's wedding next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    38
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
106
51
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was my wife and I's second visit to this hotel and we were delighted with what we experienced especially as we took two friends with us. A lovely welcome and comfortable lounge to enjoy a drink before going through to the restaurant which has a wonderful atmosphere and very attentive staff. We had a varied selection of main meals including steak, fish ( expertly boned at the table by David), duck and veal. All extremely palatable followed by superb sweets. This establishment is a must if visiting the Dunfermline area but I recommend you book in advance.

Room Tip: We did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review and thanks for bringing your friends along too. We hope that we'll be able to welcome you all back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Absolutely beautiful country house hotel situated in Dunfermline, with beautiful gardens and lovely rooms.

We stayed for our first anniversary and there was a wedding going on. The hotel was busy and this did make waiting times for the bar quite long. But we ordered cocktails all night and they were so beautiful this made up for it!!

The evening receptionist seemed a little disinterested in us but the morning receptionist was absolutely charming and really put us in a good mood for the day. Breakfast was beautiful, and the breakfast waitress was great, she had an excellent manner and it really made us feel very welcomed.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we had outside reservations, but from what I hear the food is amazing.

The only criticism I have is that the walls in room 12 are very thin and we could hear the couple next door having an argument at 1am. Also, the doors down the hallway are very loud and bang. But this can't really be helped, and the other positives of the hotel outweighed the negatives impressively.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Not room 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithfulTestSubject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your visit went.

Our apologies about the noise from the adjoining room. I'll pass on your comments about the doors and we'll see if there is anything we can do to reduce the noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Went for a an amazing Lunch on Saturday the 3rd August, the food was fantastic from starters right through to sweets. Service was impeccable. The gardens are beautiful and surroundings. The only complaint would be getting the pond with the fish cleaned but on a whole it's amazing. I shall be back for a wedding in September I cannot wait.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hi Amanda. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - we're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you back again in September. The gardens should still be lovely then and we'll keep our fingers crossed for the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Garvock House Hotel for a friend's wedding. No doubt they will expand upon the hotel's rating as a wedding venue - I will stick to its performance as a hotel.

The hotel is clearly a premier venue in the area - it was noted as such by our taxi driver, who said that he and his friends always used it for special occasions.

The welcome/check-in at the hotel was polite and efficient, if not overly warm. No porter was offered to take our bags - some may wish to note this if they have rooms upstairs as we could not find any lift. Our room was comfortable but some way from 5-star - I would describe it as high-end Travel Inn. There was no airconditioning (excusable in Scotland, perhaps) and we were unfortunate, in that respect, to stay during one of the hottest days of the year - the room was quite stuffy because of this.

However, the hotel had a number of very good points. The staff were generally excellent, especially one charming hotel receptionist and the Portuguese bar/breakfast staff. The breakfast itself was terrific (offering Scottish classics as well as more international favourites like pancakes with bacon, and eggs benedict) and served in a beautiful room.

The grounds of the hotel are also very nice, and it was a pleasure to chip and putt on the hotel's front lawn, which had a number of practice golf holes for the purpose.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to friends visiting Dunfermline. It is not, however, without need of some improvements in order to make it into a 5, or even truly a 4, star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCW_CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to let us have your comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for letting us know about the areas where you think we can improve.

As you rightly point out, lack of air conditioning in Scotland is rarely a problem as we aren't usually lucky enough to have such hot weather.

I hope that we might have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Garvock House at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The best place we stayed in all of Scotland. We adored our stay and they treated our young son very well. The city itself is interesting, but it is a city and very different from near the highlands where we had just come from, so for us It was an oasis in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikStor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review and so glad that your enjoyed your stay. Hope that we can welcome you and your son back again if you return to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

From a warm welcome on arriving to first class service all night, the food was high quality and very good value for money. We had haggis bon bons in tempura batter, and, venison and stornaway black pudding salad for starters, followed by sirloin steaks. The choice on the menu is well varied, making it hard to select what to pick Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jackie75x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review Jackie. Hope we didn't make it too hard for you to select what to have for dinner - it is nice to have a choice!

Hope that we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garvock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garvock House Hotel

Property: Garvock House Hotel
Address: St. John's Drive | Transy, Dunfermline KY12 7TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garvock House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a delightfully elevated position in the ancient capital of Dunfermline - Garvock House sits proudly in over 2 acres of gardens, a glorious testimony to its hey day as a stunning family house. Truly 'the country house hotel in town.' Family owned and run, Garvock House has been transformed into a delightful hotel retaining an authentic and rather special country house charm and informality: relaxing and elegant with classic interiors, very comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. And a passion for fresh produce which remains undimmed. Dunfermline hotels just don't come better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Garvock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garvock House Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing