We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garvock House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here while attending a friends wedding, all staff were very attentive and quality of the food at the wedding service and the following mornings breakfast was superb. Our room was comfortable and we did get a special rate as wedding guests. I understand the normal rate is £150+ per night and although nice hotel, I'm not sure I would pay that price to stay.
However having sampled the food its clear why the restaurant is always busy at night, it's open to non residents and I do have a few friends who dine here regularly and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review Peter, we appreciate you taking the time to post feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we'll have the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Garvock House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights here to celebrate a family wedding . The hotel is very nice with lovely rooms and surroundings but what makes the hotel so special is the fantastic food and the brilliant staff . The quality if the food was outstanding and all the staff were extremely friendly and professional . I would definately stay here again

Stayed: October 2013
Thank veronicalynch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review Veronica - glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Met some colleagues from work on a cold and wet evening. Had a lovely time. The service is attentive but unobtrusive and it's a great place to relax and settle. Personally I chose a rib eye steak with butter and tarragon sauce. Cooked to perfection and beautifully tender. So good, decided to only have a coffee after. Will I be back? Yes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review Matty - glad that you enjoyed your meal! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

After having our wedding at Garvock house hotel last year we decided to spend our first anniversary here as a family we all love Garvock and always go here for special occasions.

On arrival was great to see Lorna who we delt with all the time while arranging our wedding shes such a lovely friendly professional person. She then showed us to our room which had just been refurbished (rm26) which was stunning .

When going downstair for dinner we were given a complimentary glass of champagne which was a lovely touch. Once again we both enjoyed a delicious meal.

Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.

Thanks again for such a special wkend. Thank you again to all your lovely friendly staff .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

How lovely that you came back to Garvock to celebrate your anniversary! And glad that you liked the refurbishment in room 26.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Have had several meals at Garvock and have never been disappointed. Always made to feel welcome and the service is first rate as is the food. Beautiful dining rooms and setting superb. Would thoroughly recommend for a special night out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hello Sheila. Thank you for your lovely review - it's much appreciated. I hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a family of 10 gathering for an anniversary dinner.all our meals were delicious,fresh and tasty.Each course was served by very pleasant,attentive and courteous staff.We also thought the meal was well priced.Lovely relaxed dining room in a beautiful period building.
Looking forward to returning in May for a wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thistlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review, so glad that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again next May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for a weeding held at this Hotel, and what with the good weather it was a great weekend. The Hotel was wonderful and the staff very friendly and most helpful, our room was good and very comfortable.

some people think this Hotel is over priced. However, we booked well in advanced and got a very good deal. The food/breakfast was very good and again the staff very helpful, they went out of their way to help you.
We would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review - we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
2.4 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garvock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garvock House Hotel

Address: St. John's Drive, Dunfermline KY12 7TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: £94 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garvock House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a delightfully elevated position in the ancient capital of Dunfermline - Garvock House sits proudly in over 2 acres of gardens, a glorious testimony to its hey day as a stunning family house. Truly 'the country house hotel in town.' Family owned and run, Garvock House has been transformed into a delightful hotel retaining an authentic and rather special country house charm and informality: relaxing and elegant with classic interiors, very comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. And a passion for fresh produce which remains undimmed. Dunfermline hotels just don't come better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Garvock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garvock House Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing