We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Backmarch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunfermline
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Backmarch House
Ranked #8 of 25 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at Backmarch House in August, and we were really pleased with the place. Our chief mistake was knowing the area - we needed to go into Edinburgh every day to visit with my cousin, and the Sunday train schedule prevented us from spending enough time with him. Also a bit price to cab/train to Edinburgh, so not necessarily the top choice for that. But the place itself was fabulous - great breakfast, free wifi (a rarity in our travels in the UK and Ireland), nice shower w/ good pressure and plenty warm. And it was incredibly quiet, which we really appreciate. Margaret was lovely. We will stay again if we become brave enough to drive in that side of the road! Definitely worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poodlebreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
23
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My wife and stayed here three nights, and her aunt and uncle stayed in a nearby room. We could not have been more impressed with the facilities, the meals, the hostess (Maggie), or the easy access to the place from the motorway. On more than one occasion Maggie went out of her way to help us, and was always in a cheerful mood. I really would give this B&B six stars if I could.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarySedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normanton west yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed at the Backmarch March 2009.
Its a Renovated Farm House & its Totally Beautiful.
We were in a Family Room,but we were given a Choice of another Room which had its own Seperate Lounge,this was a Stunning Room.
Our Family Room was truly Beautiful.Top Quality Furniture,Blissfully Comfortable Beds,Spotless & very Large Bathroom with an array of Cosmetics.
The Dining Area etc are the Best B&B weve ever Been in hands down.
The Owner Margaret is very welcoming,you feel like your visiting a Friend,and her Breakfast was Delicious.
The Backmarch is situated so you can easily get around Scotland to see the Sights.
I would say the Backmarch is Equal to any 5 star Hotels weve ever Stayed in,i cant recommend this B&B Enough,we will certainly be going again & again.
2 Very satisfied Yorkshire Lasses.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2009

A very good experience as this is one of the best B & B's i have ever stayed at. The cleanliness and beautiful rooms can beat some Hotels as well. The food is fresh and plentiful for breakfast and the owner is very obliging and helpful. The area is ideal for travelling to some beautiful Scottish countryside and Edinburgh is 20 minutes by car, train or bus. There is a park & ride facility which is ideal for travelling in any direction by bus. I will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingermumscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Excellent location close to bus and train links into Glasgow and Edinburgh, but far enough away from hustle and bustle. Have stayed here a few times and have recommended to many work colleagues. Great value for money with excellent extra's (internet availability! in a B&B thats great!!!) The owner is always friendly and accomodating offering good advice on places to eat and visit. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Beautiful gardens - helped ease away the stress from work!

Will continue to use and recommend!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Six of us stayed for 4 nights while attending a family gathering. We had travelled from Australia and arrived in need of a rest and hassle free directions etc. It was easy to find and we were extremely pleased with the coice we had made via internet. It lived up to all expectations, and more. The large loung room provided an ideal area for us to talk together making plans for the next days activities - seeking out where great grandparents had been born, lived, married and died. It was a special time for us and it was made so much better through Margaret's hospitality. During our trip we stayed at 26 B&Bs throughout UK and Ireland and this was certainly one of the best. Margaret could make a living from showing others how to run and quality B&B.
It was just ideal. We would recommend it without hestitation.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySpanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed here for a short weekend while visiting friends, and it was great. It was homely while still providing privacy, and the room was clean and well supplied. It's location is quiet but close to the main road and a short drive to Dunfermline town centre. Landlady was very helpful and welcoming while giving us our own space.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfermline
3.3 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
756 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.7 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Roods Bed & Breakfast
The Roods Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Inverkeithing
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backmarch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backmarch House

Property: Backmarch House
Address: 54A Norval Place | Rosyth, Dunfermline KY11 2RJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backmarch House B&B is a splendid Georgian period farmhouse renovated to a very high standard so we can offer quality Bed & Breakfast Accommodation.We are in Rosyth near Dunfermline, and just 15-20 over the bridge to Edinburgh, we are so central to travel to and from, yet Backmarch House is set within its own grounds and offers quality accommodation in a quiet setting.Our rooms are beautifully appointed and delightfully furnished for your comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backmarch House Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing