We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent B&B”
Review of Laurel Bank Hotel

Laurel Bank Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenrothes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Bank Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Glenrothes B&B and Inns
wiltshire
Level Contributor
422 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“excellent B&B”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

this was very clean and very comfortable.
a very warm welcome awaited us as did a very warm room. perfect in january!
the bathroom was spotless with nice towels and nice complimentary toiletries too. i could not complain about anything.
if you pushed me to be picky over anything at all, it would be the size of the bed. our room was huge (they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite) but the bed a mere standard double which was lost in the room and to be honest a bit too small for us also. however it was very comfortable and good quality sheets so it is just an observation not a complaint
breakfast was lovely too. there was a slight hitch with mine but it was sorted out straight away and i enjoyed it

would we stay here again? yes

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
15
20
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed one night to attend a function at the hotel. Room was spotless, staff friendly, lovely breakfast in the morning, excellent value for money.
The Laurel Bank is in a very convenient location; in the quiet village of Markinch, just outside the much larger town of Glenrothes, and is easily reached from the main arterial road which runs through Fife from the Forth Bridge to the Tay Bridge.
The hotel would make a good base for exploring the east of Fife, as the picturesque fishing villages of the East Neuk of Fife are an easy drive away, as is the famous golfing town of St Andrews. There are several other golf courses within easy reach.
There's also good beaches nearby, from Leven right around the coast to Tentsmuir, just north of St Andrews.
We will certainly stay at the Laurel Bank again.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a function planned during your stay, and if there is ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastFifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Cheap very accommodating hotel. Allowed me to check in early and check out late. The basics were all covered- my room was clean and fresh, the staff were warm and friendly and my breakfast was tasty and plenty of it. For the £45 pounds I paid this place was total bargain, i have paid twice as much and have gotten a lot less for my money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Monans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great accommodation with fantastic value for money, staff very polite. Would definately stay again and staff christmas party planned for the venue this year. Bedroom very clean with lovely shower and toileteries. Breakfast was served quickly even though quite a few guests were staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleanWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

1 night stay for our family as at a local wedding. pleasant friendly overall and made most welcome. room5 we had was clean modern, comfy beds and nice shower. lovely breakfast in the morning. would certainly stay again if in area. very good value for money

Room Tip: good base for local weddings at balbirnie or tourers in east fife
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherglen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

was there for my niece's wedding party, and we had a great time, the food was lovely, and reasonably priced, staff were very friendly, the room was very good and plenty of storage too, only down side was pillows were very thin and uncomfortable, but we will be returning in near future..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Overall not bad, could be cleaner. Down strair is nice so was the food but the room was a bit dirty. Wouldn't say it was 3 star. We also stayed in the greenside hotel in Leslie which is by far the worst place I have ever stayed (also 3star) and is roughly the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marckarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenrothes hotels
0.6 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Drummonds Hotel and Steakhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banner's House Hotel
Banner's House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Markinch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodend
Woodend
#1 of 1 in Glenrothes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Bank Hotel

Property: Laurel Bank Hotel
Address: 1 Balbirnie Street, Glenrothes KY7 6DB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Glenrothes
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Laurel Bank Hotel Glenrothes, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing