We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and pleasant, but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet and pleasant, but could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Two nights 8 & 9 September 2013 in room 246, upstairs and nearly furthest from the road looking out over the car park at the front. It was quiet and pleasant decor, with locked door to adjacent room, so could be combined with another room if required.

With twin beds one is against the bathroom wall with a small bedside cabinet between the beds, so limited space between beds. However the other bed has good amount of room between it and desk / window area, so there could be a better layout, but they are fixed in relation to combined bed head. (see photographs)

There's plenty of space for cases etc with a stand and shelf, also tea / coffee facilities.
Wi-fi is available free, but you have to get user name and password printout from reception and it will only work with one device, we did manage to get a second one as we both needed to work on separate laptops.

Neither the wash basin nor the shower could provide reliable hot water no matter how long you waited, it was cold or tepid at the best regardless of time of day. You could wait until it was tepid, get in shower and next moment it would be cold. This was reported to reception on departure, it may or may not affect other rooms.

Breakfast is included with a reasonable range on offer, although cooked items on both days were limited to just sausage, beans and scrambled egg, certainly less than any other HIE I have stayed in in UK or abroad.

Be wary of the supplied address and postcode by satnav / GPS, it took me and apparently may others to a school a couple of miles away ! In fact the hotel location is more Leslie than Glenrothes, and not quite as obvious as most hotels as it's by the roundabout but at a lower level and set back. Keep your eyes peeled for The Fettykil Fox too, the restaurant / pub next door, you may spot that first. It's convenient and we had good meals there both nights, with good friendly service.

Room Tip: Upstairs and away from the stairs, towards back of car park, but facing out to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuartholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Fuartholl

Thank you for your review of us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding the water temperature.
The maintenance manager looked into this issue straight away and it is now resolved. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I am disappointed to read that your expectations were not met regarding the free Express Start Breakfast. There are standards in place for this; some items are required while others are optional.
Please feel free to send me an e-mail with suggestions on how we can improve our breakfast from experiences you have encountered at other HI Express hotels and in turn we will be able to improve ours. lynsay@hiexpressglenrothes.co.uk

Some guests have experienced problems with the Sat Nav or TomToms they are using. Our postcode does seem to cause problems with newer models for some reason. One of the reception team is always on hand to give directions via the telephone or we can e-mail directions prior to arrival.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    103
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
92
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The room was great. The service was terrific, I messed up and lost my keycard and they were very kind. Internet cost extra (but was very fast), but breakfast was included and was good! Comfy bed and good room. There are stairs, rather than a lift, but not too many! Plenty of parking and I would really recommend it as a great stayover place with good sleep quality!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear sandyosullivan

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am very pleased you experienced our usual high standards and enjoyed the free Express Start Breakfast. As mentioned we did charge for our Wi-Fi, we now offer free Wi-Fi to all of our guests.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My friend and I came up to Glenrothes for a Tae kwon do tournament and found this a great place to stay. The room was clean and functional, the beds super comfortable, and the staff really friendly. Buffet breakfast was fine, and the pub next door excellent for an evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Mark H

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am delighted you had a comfortable nights sleep in our hotel, the comfort of our beds is mentioned quite often.

Our team does their best to make our guest's feel welcome during their stay; it is always great to read comments about the friendliness of the team.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently took a party of 24 to this hotel for four nights. For a so called budget hotel the experience was very good indeed. The staff were friendly the bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was called a continental breakfast but a hot meal was provided as well. Fruit by the reception was always replenished and water and juices were also available 24 hours.

Room Tip: Only two floors so no lift. If you have trouble climbing stairs make sure you reserve a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Raglan

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a lovely review for us!

We do receive good comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of team members on a regular basis. I am pleased your stay with us was no different. I am also delighted you enjoyed the free Express Start Breakfast


Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Its exactly what it should be, clean, tidy, staff were a credit, breakfast is great. Would recommend its quieter than some of bigger HI Expresses but that was good point and next to a great pub! Staff went beyond duty to help..would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fee1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear fee1989

Thank you for such a fantastic review!

I am delighted to read your comments regarding the service your received when you stayed with us. Our reception team does their best to make our guest's feel welcome during their stay; it is always great to read comments about the service the team provide.

I will pass your comments onto all team members regarding the service and the cleanliness.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we travelled down for the knockhill British touring cars weekend. Easy to get too and great parking. Friendly receptionist when we arrived and when we checked out. Clean rooms as always, shower gel and proper hand soap in the bathroom instead of some rubbish little bar of soap. Comfy bed and decent sized t.v. Breakfast was basic but ideal for us both. Will be sure to stay here again if we are down again. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K20SPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear K20SPK

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a good time at the Knockhill British touring cars weekend.

I do receive positive comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of team members on a regular basis. I am pleased your stay with us was no different.

I am pleased the free Express Start breakfast was to your liking and hope it got you off to a good start for your days ahead.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here on August the 9th 2013 was ideally for what we required, which was 1 nights stay!

The Breakfast was fine exactly enough to tide you over for the morning

The rooms are very clean & have exactly whats required for your stay!

Car Park very spacious so ideal if you like to look after your car!

Negative Points:

You need to pay for WI-FI this day & age should be free everywhere!!!!
The hotel bar is very expensive £6 for a Vodka & Lemonade!!!!

Room Tip: If participating in Alcohol drop into the Fettykill Fox or head into Leslie
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A9XSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear A9XSJ

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased to read the free Express Start Breakfast and the bedrooms were up to our usual standards.

At the time of your stay we did charge for Wi-Fi but we agree with you and many other guests that Wi-Fi should be free. We now offer free Wi-Fi to all of our guests.

We do charge £6.00 for a Vodka, the Smirnoff minitures we sell in our bar are double measures and we do not charge any extra for a mixer. I think these prices compete with the majority of bars and pubs in the area.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
7.5 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Address: Leslie Road | Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY7 5PS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the town of Glenrothes, within easy reach of Edinburgh, Perth and historic St Andrews the Express by Holiday Inn Glenrothes is the ideal choice for guests looking for a hotel in the heart of Fife. The hotel is 20 miles from the Forth Bridge via the A911 and the M90, giving easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the South.The hotel has just undergone renovations and provides a modern and fresh communal area for guests. This includes a lounge area where we welcome guests to our hotel bar and to watch our widescreen tv featuring Sky Sports.We are a small hotel with a friendly, family feel perfect for business, sole and family travellers. For any more information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenrothes
Holiday Inn Glenrothes
Glenrothes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing