We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably one of the best Holiday Inn Express' I've visited.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best Holiday Inn Express' I've visited.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A short overnight stay here at the end if April and I was very impressed.

The hotel itself is only a few minutes drive from the town centre and is situated of the main road so is very quiet whilst there is plenty of parking available at the front of the building.

Inside a friendly welcome was offered at reception and I was checked in quickly and without fuss. When checking in I was advised that all loyalty club members receive a 10% discount at the bar and I was also offered a copy of the menu for the restaurant which is next door.

My room was on the first floor and facing the rear. The hotel has been refurbished recently and has the new Holiday Inn Express design with darker wood and modern bathroom. I found the room to comfortable whilst it was very clean throughout.

A good nights sleep was had and there were no disturbances during the night whilst in the morning the standard Express breakfast is available in the small Great Room next to reception with the usual choices available. As the hotel is one of the smaller Holiday Inn Expresses out there it is the first time in a while that breakfast hasn't been a bit of a rabble whilst the area was again clean and tidy.

Overall a very good stay and definitely one of the best Holiday Inn Expresses I have stayed at. The only issue I experienced was that the free wifi was very poor at times, other than this the stay was perfect and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Chris M

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review about your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I was over the moon when I read your review title!

I am pleased to read you were recognised as an IHG Reward Club member. We do appreciate the loyalty of our reward members, hence the 10% off of the bar just for our members. All hotels will offer different in house benefits as well as the standard benefits available.

I am happy you had a good night’s sleep and found our hotel to be clean & tidy. I apologise that you had some problems with the free Wi-Fi. We did have some connections issues for a couple of days which has now been rectified.

We hope to welcome back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    103
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
92
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Great little Hotel, good location, just had a refit, very nice rooms, very good sleep quality .

The staff are wonderful, and really make a massive effort to make you feel at home, I rate them as full on 5 star .....perhaps this why I would stay again in a heartbeat !!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank onthebuses1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear onthebuses1969

Thank you very much for your 5 star review about you stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am delighted to read your comments regarding the team members! I am very proud of the team at Glenrothes and will share your comments with them.

Our refurbished bedrooms give the hotel a lift and do look great. I am pleased that the new rooms have not overshadowed the great people that make the hotel though.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed for one night with our 5 month old baby. When we arrived the room was set up with a sofa bed not a cot (we'd booked through a 3rd party and the request had not been passed through). Before we had even gotten to the room the reception staff had arranged for the room to be re-configured, and it was done in a couple of mins.

They were also very helpful with directions, and generally very friendly and polite.

We weren't expecting breakfast, but we were pleasantly suprised when it was included (not to mention the free wifi)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear m_mckenna76

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am pleased you enjoyed our free Express Start breakfast. All Holiday Inn Express hotels offer free breakfast and free Wi-Fi as standard now.

Please do not hesitate to contact hotels direct to make bookings and we can ensure requests are met where possible, it is good to see the receptionist got the cot set up in the room quickly for you though.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Everything was great the room was just what we required great value for money would come back…Staff excellent..Friendly, warm and welcoming staff, clean and very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast.. Amazing views, fantastic food, friendly staff. What more do you need

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirleyehjhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Shirleyehjhannah

Thank you very much for the fantastic review regarding your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am thrilled to read your comments regarding the team here at Glenrothes. We take great pride in looking after all of our guests during their time in our hotel; it is always great to read comments about the service the team provide.

I am pleased you enjoyed the free Express Start Breakfast and you experienced our usual high standards regarding cleanliness.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,239 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The long awaited refurb has started with part of the hotel now sporting the refurbed rooms. New carpets, curtains, decor, furnishings and lighting. However have kept the old doors, sanitary ware, towels, TV, hairdryer and possibly bed - and it shows. That's a real shame and seems a little short sighted in the context of this being a major refurb programme.

Of course it is much better than it was but probably less than an extra £1000 per room on the programme could have produced a room comparable with those seen in some of the new build HIE out there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear sleep007

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes and also for rating us 4 stars.

As you have mentioned our refurbishment is well under way now and it is very exciting! We have replaced all hairdryers and beds in the rooms; they are the same style but newer models.

We have kept sanitary fittings such as tissue boxes as these are replaced sporadically when damaged or broken. We have also kept all existing doors and TV's as they are in good working order.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

I will certainly pass your comments onto the appropriate person within the company.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Cheap and cheerful really sums it up! We were there for a wedding and it was nice enough to stay in, considering we were at another hotel for the actual wedding. So for a couple of nights sleep, can't really complain!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimmo2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mimmo2210

Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very reasonably priced room for the night with a very good free breakfast. My family of 5 and i had an overnight and decided to stay here for its location and price. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was really nice. Cereals(kellogs), fresh fruit, yoghurts, scrambled egg, sausage and beans. Croissants, nutella, jams and toast, I was full up. Would definetly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BABYBLAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear BABYBLAIR

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
7.5 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Address: Leslie Road | Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY7 5PS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the town of Glenrothes, within easy reach of Edinburgh, Perth and historic St Andrews the Express by Holiday Inn Glenrothes is the ideal choice for guests looking for a hotel in the heart of Fife. The hotel is 20 miles from the Forth Bridge via the A911 and the M90, giving easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the South.The hotel has just undergone renovations and provides a modern and fresh communal area for guests. This includes a lounge area where we welcome guests to our hotel bar and to watch our widescreen tv featuring Sky Sports.We are a small hotel with a friendly, family feel perfect for business, sole and family travellers. For any more information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenrothes
Holiday Inn Glenrothes
Glenrothes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing