We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one was a hit with us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“This one was a hit with us”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We find that you cannot always rely on Best Western, they vary greatly. However, this one was a hit with us. The room we had was in the new extension and although not particularly large it was big enough and very comfortable and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities, also there is a lift to the second floor. The only downside to this room was that it was above a gym exercise room and we could hear loud music and sergeant major like instructions early in the mornings and until 9- 9.30pm each day. This did not bother us unduly, but it would do if you wanted a lie in or an early night. We stayed for two nights and the breakfast and evening meal was good on both days. The staff were all most courteous and helpful, and the hotel is in a lovely setting. Should we be in the area again we would most likely stay here again but would ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the leisure/ gym area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    180
    57
    24
    10
See reviews for
118
209
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed there for a week, and enjoyed the whole experience. It's a nice old Manor house that was converted to a Hotel! The staff was Excellent and went out of the way to make your stay comfortable! The rooms are spacious and I loved the view from my room of the back yard!! They have a great dinning room and Bar Tender, He was very friendly and helpful. If you get a chance to use there pool and spa I highly recommend it!! I will Definitely go again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very pleasant hotel with very friendly staff. The added bonus for us was that they are pet friendly, albeit with a daily charge, however, this did not detract from the overall experience. We did not use the Spa facilities but we did have a look around, perhaps next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I cam here in November for my Brother's Wedding. We arrived early and checked in around 1.30pm which was great. The room we had was awesome, Huuuuuuuuuuge isn't the word, even though we had a child staying with us (which was free).

The bed was massive and could have had 4 people in there it was so spacious. Bathroom and shower were great. We were in the new part of the hotel and couldn't fault anything with the room except it did get a bit cold during the night but nothing too bad.

The Wedding was great, food was homely and tasty, drinks were very reasonable.

Breakfast was also great for the 2 nights. Up early, lots of choice and left full and ready for the day.

All in all, had a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Towny036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We obviously came in to the hotel by an odd route as it didn't seem well signed, however on returning from a day out and coming in another way there were lots of road signs.

An easy check-in on arrival, and very pleasant and helpful staff throughout. We asked for a change of duvet as ours was feather - to which I have an allergy - and a replacement was easily found and brought to the room for us.

The full breakfast was very, very, nicely done. The pool was a decent size, unlike some places we've been and the steam room and sauna were also larger then normal.

The hotel was clean and well maintained throughout and I'd have no hesitation in staying again (especially if I had another good deal as this one was!)

Room Tip: Go for room 214, at the end of a corridor and so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for two nights due to a nearby wedding.
Check-in was basic with no explanation of facilities or additional services.
Had dinner on the first night and the food was excellent, service was good and the staff were very friendly. The lounge area could be made more appealing as the lighting and furniture made it seem quite cold however the restaurant area was very nice.
The room itself was the older style, big and spacious. The downside was the single glazed sash windows which did let out a lot of the heat. Housekeeping could do a better job of dusting as it was noticeable in certain areas. The room above had creaking floorboards which did disturb sleeping time, but it is an old building!
No time to use the pool/leisure facilities or eat breakfast so I cannot comment.

Room Tip: Maybe try the newer part of the hotel-less chance of creaking floorboards?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKeenEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
2.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
9.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
828 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
195 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel

Property: Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Address: Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
#3 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is located on the outskirts of Glenrothes in central Fife. Whether your stay in Fife is for business or pleasure the Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is the ideal home from home for your stay.Our tranquil setting in immaculate landscaped gardens combines modern facilities with "olde world" charm and we pride ourselves on value for money and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay. Our Leisure Club - The Fountain Spa - is now Open. Our aim is to provide a complete Health & Leisure experience for our guests. Whether your aim is social, fitness, health related or simply relaxation we provide a service that will accommodate your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgeddie Hotel Glenrothes
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel Glenrothes, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing