We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Spa Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived late Sunday afternoon when raining and decided to try the complimentary Spa. Spent a relaxing 2 hours in the pool, sauna and steam room.
Room 233 was very clean and tidy, though the bed was two singles put together to make a large double. Just a little uncomfortable during the night if you were to roll that way.
Not the best view from the window, but only really in the room to sleep so didnt bother us.
Loads of parking, internet in room was very good, and the facilities in the hotel were great. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan_Glw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We popped down for an overnight stay and were so impressed as to the standards of service and attentiveness from the staff at the balgeddie. We were welcomed with a lovely surprise of an upgrade.
The room was amazing - massive bed, incredibly clean and comfy. All the mod cons were provided.
Food was top notch, we really enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. The waiting staff just could not do enough to help us!
We will definitely be back to visit! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was my third stay at the Balgeddie and for the first time I was disapointed. First the good points, nice location, good views to the rear, comfortable rooms, excellent quality bed, friendly service and everything else you would expect from a good hotel.
However on this trip I had two issues. Firstly the bath in my room looked filthy but on closer inspection it had obviously been re-surfaced at some point and this had now seriously degraded and looked terrible. However it was clean and I was only there for one night. The room, 204, was in the older part of the hotel and generally I think would benfit from a refurbishment as there was also chips in the surface of the sink and the carpet looke a little grubby.
The second issue concerned the food. Now I have always found the food here to be excellent and again on this occaision my Kullen skink soup and Cheeseburger with fries were both top quality. However the meals presented to two of my colleagues were somewhat less than I would have expected. One had the special, Shepherds Pie, which honestly looked more like a thick soup on the plate than anything else. Another had the Steak Pie and this was chunks of meet in a very weak looking sauce topped by a piece of puff pastry more cafe standard than restaurant. I was quite embarressed having recommended the hotel for our evening meal. My other colleague though had an excellent Chicken Salad and all three of them were very pleased with the standard of their starters. So overall it was a bit hit and miss quality wise as far as the evening meals were concerned. The breakfasts on the other hand were of a consitantly higher standard.

Room Tip: Avoid 204 if you like a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of March 2014 for our Wedding Anniversary and had the most wonderfully relaxing time. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which made the weekend even more special. The food was great and the staff were fantastic and very helpful. They just couldn't do enough for us to make our weekend special. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were bumped into an attic room after booking "deluxe" rooms, this was cited as an upgrade (!). After complaining, we wound up in a small cold room off a cold corridor over the health spa. Towel rail not working, extractor not working, central heating not switched on. Given an electric heater. Daughter was also to be moved to be adjacent to us again, but wound up down the corridor. Charged on arrival for our room despite having prepaid (but this was sorted very quickly). Manager unaccepting that any of this was an issue until he had confirmed "all the facts", kept interrupting and quoting the "heat recovery system" as the reason the heating and ventilation etc was the way it was. We have used this place before for ourselves and friends, but never again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent small hotel with great pool and steam/sauna area. Pleasant staff and excellent bar and restaurant Great location if you would like to explore this part of the world. Quiet. Rooms are a little dated but clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank chriswM9176ZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
2.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
1.9 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Gilvenbank Hotel
The Gilvenbank Hotel
#8 of 9 in Glenrothes
131 reviews
9.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel

Address: Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range: £48 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is located on the outskirts of Glenrothes in central Fife. Whether your stay in Fife is for business or pleasure the Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is the ideal home from home for your stay.Our tranquil setting in immaculate landscaped gardens combines modern facilities with "olde world" charm and we pride ourselves on value for money and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay. Our Leisure Club - The Fountain Spa - is now Open. Our aim is to provide a complete Health & Leisure experience for our guests. Whether your aim is social, fitness, health related or simply relaxation we provide a service that will accommodate your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgeddie Hotel Glenrothes
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel Glenrothes, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing