We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gilvenbank Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking made online for a get away with my partner.

Found the hotel easy enough (using my sat-nav I may add) so dont listen to most of the other reviews about ending up in a estate as we were no where near one.

Welcome was warm and the room was clean. Matress wasnt the comfiest but made do for the night.

Restaurant was fully booked by the time we checked in but the girls behind reception and in the restaurant accommodated us without any fuss.

Quite a tasty meal aswell!!

Bit of a restless night what with the function going on but to be expected with a wedding destination.

Overall was a pleasant stay.

Would definitely reccomend!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phannan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    36
    17
    14
    9
See reviews for
31
36
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anerdeenshire
Level Contributor
251 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Unlike previous reviews we had no difficulty finding the hotel. Brown tourist signs fairly clear. Hotel rooms were surprisingly spacious and well decorated. One of ours had French Windows which was great on a hot day. Very clean and helpful staff - much better than others of similar prices. Walls are thin and you can hear people going along the corridor. There was a wedding on and unfortunately our room was directly above the band- but it's a chance you take at this time of year. We would definitely return if in this area again and recommend it as a budget hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Finding the hotel is an issue due to very few signs and it the sat nav putting us into an estate. The hotel itself is nice enough but rather basic. Our door made a noise like a bomb going off when closing but the bed was comfortable. Food and service in the restaurant was very good despite it being very busy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyfroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I must admit, I was not looking forward to staying, only because after I made the booking my plans changed and I could have done with staying in Dundee and the booking could not be cancelled.
That said once I arrived my view changed, the welcome was warm, the room clean and large. The only let down was noisy floorboards.

Food was excellent and service was good.
Don't trust your SatNav, it tries to take you onto the nearby housing estate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spent three nights here on a business trip and first off I have to say all the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The receptionist even oferred to drop a postcard in the post box for me on her way home, now that's service.
The rooms were a little tired but nothing a coat of point, a bit of grout and some new sealant wouldn't fix and not enough to stop me staying there again if I was in the area. TV reception in the room was very poor with the majority of channels having a signal too weak for the programme to be shown. Perhaps signal boosters or a Satellite dish should be considered? However as I think has been mentioned before sound certainly travels between rooms. Be it the TV in the next room, the folks in the corridor or the lady next door snoring during the night. I was greatful for the ear plugs I always carry just in case. This was compounded by the thin curtains which didn't block out the carpark lights.

I dined in the hotel both nights and the Ribeye steak on the first night was excellent. However as a party of four on the second night it was a little hit and miss. My starter of fish cakes was let down badly by the excessive amount of oily dressing on the leaves beneath the fish cakes. Another in the party had the sizzled prawns, which turned out to be prawns bathing in a deep dish of sizzling oil, not the best prawn dish ever eaten. However my main of ham, eggs and chips was once again excellent. Breakfast on both days was very good with reasonable choices, the excellent full Scottish was however let down by a cheap sausage that appeared to have been deep fried?
To sum up, there are much worse places to stay and I will stay there again if I'm in the area but it's a shame the food and the rooms are not to the same standard as the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in December. Finding the hotel was not easy! No signs to indicate where it was, after driving around for over half an hour, we finally saw the hotel from another road and managed to get there in the end and this was with help of satnav! We parked up and got our bags out of the car, there appeared to be plenty of parking space. The receptionist was quite to the point, no pleasantries to be had, not even a smile, booked in and told where are room was, no offer of assistance or a "have a nice stay" even. The room was of good size, as was the bathroom. The bed was quite uncomfortable, mattress very thin and felt like it was on top of a solid base, no give a all. Linens and towels clean and smelt fresh. As we were in Glenrothes for a party, I had checked on the hotel website to see if they had hair dryer, iron, ironing board etc. The website said these facilities were in room, however, only the hair dryer was in the room. An ironing board and iron did appear outside someone else's door and then seemed to travel up and down the hallway. There were tea and coffee facilities in room and toiletries and shower caps in the bathroom. The shower was useless! Hot, cold, then nothing at all, the shower is in the bath, anyone with mobility problems could struggle with this. We met with our group of friends, a majority of them staying also at this hotel, in the bar. The bar area seemed quite odd, tables and chairs at one end of a large room, but there seemed to be either a party or regular meals being taken at the other end of the room. You have to walk past all the diners to exit the bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara9567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I celebrated nye here with friends and family and I was slightly disappointed. It was around 54 quid for dinner and music.
We didn't get a welcoming drink and that was strange. .. not even one glass of cheap wine included, it would have been nice for a cheer at midnight.
Anyway. The worst thing was surely the food.
It was supposed to be served at 7:30 but they actually started at 8. As a starter I had haggis with potato, micro portion but nice. My husband had zechuan duck (not sure about the spelling. ..) and that was awful to say the least. Duck was overcooked and had the texture of a piece of liver. .. clearly cooked, frozen and re heated. Goodness grace it was dire. Then steak. I had lamb and the man beef. Consistance of concrete. You had to chew it for an hour before swallowing. Roasted potato still cold in the middle. Boiled vegetables. .. gosh, cannot describe them.
Dessert. I had cranachan, a Scottish thing supposedly made of whipped cream, whisky, oatmeal and raspberries. Mine was just fruit and whipped cream. I added the whisky myself. Husband had cheese board and that was a nice selection. .. with no chutney to be seen, unfortunately. Oh, my friend had chicken Balmoral. On the bone. It was actually served on the bone.
Music was ok... but surely it wasn't worth the money. I would have preferred a ceilidh band, but that's a very personal opinion.
Surely, not going back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenrothes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilvenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilvenbank Hotel

Property: The Gilvenbank Hotel
Address: Huntsmans Road, Glenrothes KY7 6RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gilvenbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gilvenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilvenbank Hotel Glenrothes
The Gilvenbank Hotel Glenrothes, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing