We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria Hotel(Kirkcaldy)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirk Inn(Kirkcaldy)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elbow Room(Kirkcaldy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
72
13
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyvonne and lesunderfloor heating in the bathroomtasty breakfastwithin walking distancehigh streetfree wificomfortable bedbedding
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

One of the worst B&Bs I have stayed in. I was given a twin room which was fine, but there wasn't an ensuite and in order to go to the bathroom during the night I had to take my room key with me - ridiculous for a single woman on her own. The bathroom was of a very low standard - the tap was coming away from the sink and the shower only trickled out. According to the landlady I had adjusted the showerhead. This was untrue, and even when she had readjusted it the water still only seeped out of one side. Not good enough to have a decent shower in. Breakfast was a cold affair both in terms of atmosphere and the bacon, and the toast was like eating cardboard. Luckily it was only myself and my parents there because I would not have liked to share a table with a complete stranger. Loud banging woke me up at night - I don't know if it was other people coming into the establishment but whatever it was it was loud.

The only plus point was the information that the landlady gave us about Kirkcaldy. She is obviously proud of her town and gave us tips on getting out and about.

Definitely not worth the amount they are charging, unfortunately it was the only B&B that had vacancies at the time - I wonder why!

Room Tip: Don't accept the room without an ensuite - see general review for reasons why.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spookiepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Spookiepixie,
It would appear that we have disappointed you during your stay at Dunedin and if that is the case we apologise, but would like to respond to several comments:
When your father booked the rooms he was informed that one room had en-suite facilities and the other room (yours) had a private shower room. If you feel the lack of en-suite facilities was “ridiculous for a single woman on her own” you should have taken this up with your father who booked the room for you.
Your “bathroom” was in fact a private shower room just one step away from your bedroom door for your exclusive use. When you mentioned the shower didn’t work properly we immediately investigated and within seconds had the shower operating perfectly. We dispute the water “still only seeped out of one side”.
If your bacon was cold we can only apologise but did you mention this at breakfast? No. You were also offered fresh tea/coffee/toast on several occasions throughout breakfast but did you mention your “cardboard” toast at any time? No. This obviously did not spoil your appetite.
With reference to the “loud banging”: We only had you and your parents stay with us that evening (as your review pointed out) so we are at a loss as to exactly what it was you heard – particularly when we didn’t hear it.
We are very lucky at Dunedin to receive overwhelmingly positive reviews with many guests returning to stay with us on several occasions. We always try to make guests feel valued, appreciated and welcome, and accept constructive criticism in the spirit in which it is given – to improve what we offer our guests.
It is unfortunate that on rare occasions some guests seem unwilling to give us the opportunity to rectify any legitimate complaints at the time, preferring instead to voice their opinion on various forums where everyone can read it. Your review illustrates perfectly that you really can’t please all of the people all of the time – but we will keep on trying!
Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

A fantastic find. Dunedin is definitely the best B&B we have stayed in anywhere. We were warmly greeted and then shown to an immaculate room. The decor was contemporary, but still felt warm and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. The food was beautifully cooked and very tastefully presented. Yvonne was an attentive and very interesting hostess. We will certainly return on our next visit to Kirkcaldy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Dear Moi61,

Many thanks for your very kind words.

It is always encouraging when guests take the time and trouble to write a review and we always try to respond to every one whenever possible.

Your custom is appreciated and we hope your son enjoyed his time in Fife.

Hopefully we will see you both again soon

Best wishes

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was our last stay during our round trip through Scotland. We really enjoyed the hospitality of Yvonne&Les. As somebody mentioned earlier, Yvonne is like a travel agency, she knows every single sight, bar, restaurant etc. within a radius of 100 km (at least). Breakfast has been delicious and we especially liked the neat and modern design of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Dear anglaser,

Thank you so much for your review of Dunedin. We enjoyed having you both and look forward to you coming back to Scotland and staying with us again.
Regards

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Location and quality are two words that stand out in my mind when I think of Dunedin B&B in Kirkcaldy, Scotland. And I am not sure in what order. My wife and I stayed there for two nights in May and could not have been happier. We were able to visit the shoreline north of Kirkcaldy (up to St. Andrews) on our day of arrival (and Yvonne and Les, our hosts, provided great guidance and recommendations; including dining tips). On the following day we took the 30 minute train ride into Edinburgh (the Kirkcaldy station is a short 5 minute walk from Dunedin and the train station in Edinburgh is right in the heart of the city). We were driving through the UK and I wanted to stay away from taking the car into the city so the quick and inexpensive train trip was perfect. The off street free parking offered by Dunedin was where we left the car until our departure. So we had convenience. But then there is the quality (of the B&B and also the friendliness of the hosts). The common areas and rooms are spotless and the bed was one of the most comfortable of our trip (we had been on the road for three weeks when we arrived at Dunedin). All furnishings are directed toward the comfort of the guest and the bath area was modern (with enough room that taking a shower felt like you could stretch out, bend over, and not bump your head on anything). It was a great way to begin or end a day. The food was just as the web site presented. It was high quality and ample (as much as you want). After three weeks of “eating our way” through the UK we still were able to over indulge (we could not help ourselves). And Yvonne and Les were the perfect hostess and host. Welcoming and knowledgeable they immediately made us feel at home and provided just the right touch of information (without overload) so that we could make informed decisions regarding our daily agenda. Without a doubt I was glad that I found Kirkcaldy and a B&B of the standards that the Dunedin so very well exemplifies. Our thanks to Yvonne and Les!

Room Tip: Just ask. Les and Yvonne are wonderful.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Dear Brooklyn45,
Well....what can we say!!!
Thank you for choosing to stay at Dunedin in the first instance and thanks again for such a comprehensive (and glowing) review.
We are so glad you enjoyed the room/bed/shower/breakfast etc and if our tips on where to go and what to see helped you make the most of your limited time in the Kingdom of Fife, we have done our job!
Without a doubt, the best thing about being in the hospitality industry is the wonderful people we get to meet ...and if we're really lucky we meet them again when they come back and stay with us once more - we hope that will be the case with yourselves!
Many thanks again.

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

From the moment we arrived, a bit bedraggled, at Dunedin's doorstep after a long, fruitless search for a night’s lodging, we felt like welcome guests. During our three weeks traveling around Scotland, Les was the first host to help us upstairs with our bags and the room he showed us to was light, spacious and its minimalist décor very soothing. As other reviewers have mentioned, Yvonne could write an insider’s guide to the region. She recommended a nearby pub/restaurant — Lloyds — for dinner and it was so perfect and reasonably priced that we returned there a second night. Based on her suggestions of sites to see in nearby towns, our one night at Dunedin turned into two and could easily have become three if we didn’t have to catch our flight home. Culross, Dumferline and Aberdour are towns that tourists often overlook in their rush to St. Andrews and are well worth a detour. It would be helpful, however, if cash was not the only payment option. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Mainewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear Mainewriter,
Thank you so much for your review of Dunedin - your kind comments are greatly appreciated as is your comments on the less well documented areas and attractions that Fife has to offer visitors and we are delighted if we managed to make your visit to Scotland that little bit more special.
We totally agree that it is useful for guests to have a variety of payment methods available to them - that is why Dunedin have offered guests the option to pay by credit/debit card for several years now and state this clearly on our website. Unfortunately we encountered a problem with our terminal during your stay and were reluctant to use it because of this - our apologies!
You mentioned during your stay with us that you visit Scotland regularly and have a real affinity with our "Wee Country" and so we hope we'll see you at Dunedin again in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews