We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed while on a course”
Review of Dunedin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunedin
Ranked #5 of 13 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My room was very clean and warm. I felt at home as soon as I arrived.
All my needs were catered for including recommendations for evening resteraunts.
I would rococomend Dunedin to friends when staying in or around Kirkaldy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Martin H,

Many thanks for your review of Dunedin and many thanks for choosing to stay with us - your custom is appreciated.

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations.

We hope you passed your test at the end of the course you attended and that everything went "swimmingly"!

You are both welcome to Dunedin anytime and hope to see you both again soon.

Have a great festive period.

Regards

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at Dunedin House for one night in July 2011.

The owners, Yvonne and Les, are extremely friendly. Yvonne was very happy to spend some time with us, going through maps and advising us on some great places to visit. Les was the main man when it came to breakfast - he could talk anyone into trying the haggis :-)

The room we stayed in was clean, cosy and comfortable. It was only a short walk into the main part of Kirkcaldy. Would definitely stay here again - should we pass through Kirkcaldy again :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandgirl_Sydney14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Island_Girl174,

Thank you so much for your review.

We're so glad you enjoyed your short time with us in July and hope it has encouraged you to plan another trip to Scotland in order to catch up with all the things you didn't manage to see the first time around!

Here's hoping we'll see you in the not too distant future.

All the best!

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My mother and I stayed at the grand Dunedin House for one night during short break to explore the East Fife coast. And it more than met our expectations. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with excellent en suite facilities. We chose the smoked salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast which was delicious. Yvonne's local knowledge of places to eat, drink and to take in the fantastic views of the Firth of Forth really added to the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCOLE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Dear SCOLE67,

Many thanks for you review of Dunedin.

We're so glad you and your mother enjoyed your visit to Fife and are delighted that you liked both your room and your breakfast.

Your custom is appreciated and we hope you return to vist us again soon.

Best regards


Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Kirkcaldy really pleasently surprised us, the ride along the cycle path from Inverkeithing was brilliant. You are right up by the sea, traffic free, good surface, great scenery all the way along to Burntisland. I am sure it would make as good a walk as it did a ride. There is a waterfall between Aberdour and Burntisland. Leaving Kirkcaldy we went to Ravenscraig castle (and Park). Another brilliant find just a mile or two from the B&B.

The B&B itself very good, clean, efficient and friendly. Just a short walk to the town, maybe 5 minutes, there we had a good meal and beers at the Wetherspoon's.

Only two things stopped me marking this as excellent, when it says they have bike storage I was thinking of something more than just behind a locked gate, although it was a very strong gate, secondly I would have liked the heating to have been on when we arrived and in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear doing-the-coast,

Many thanks for reviewing the hidden gems of Fife in general and Dunedin specifically.

We’re so glad you found us “good, clean, efficient and friendly” and that you managed to find a suitable place to have an enjoyable meal.

We say on our website that “storage of golf clubs or bicycles can be arranged if required” Your tandem bicycle was securely locked behind a heavy side gate with a seven foot high stone wall surrounding it. We are sorry if you felt this was a misrepresentation in some way but we are confident we supplied exactly what we offered - and your bicycle was safe and secure the following morning.

We always try as best we can to accommodate any requests and if you had stated that you were chilly from your bike ride we would have happily turned up the heating.

We hope you enjoy completing the rest of your bicycle tour of the UK coastline and hope you will both visit Fife again soon

Best regards

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We apologize for being delinquent in reporting our very pleasurable stay at the Dunedin B & B in Kirkcaldy. The location is ideal for those wanting to be within easy walking distance of the downtown restaurants as well as the train station and bus station with easy access to Edinburgh. Our room was spacious as was the bathroom. We were surprised to find that the bathroom floor was heated. Breakfast was excellent. Everything was well appointed, Look no further, this is the place to stay in Kirkcaldy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear dnwilliams,

Many thanks for your kind review of Dunedin and there’s no need to apologise – You’ve taken the time and trouble to actually give us a review and we really appreciate it!

Your comments are very generous and we’re glad you liked the underfloor heating in your en-suite. We find it a little touch of luxury that everyone really enjoys – particularly if the weather has been a little inclement.

We’re so glad we helped make your stay that little bit special and hope you might just find your way back to see us again sometime soon.

Take care

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here 22-23rd Sep 11; well situated with secure parking. We received a warm welcome and our room was clean, practical and well appointed, The house itself is fabulous, as are the gardens. The breakfast is superb; with Yvonne taking pride is delivering quality grilled sausages as part of the Scottish brekkie.

My only observation is the experience could be further improved with gentle music in the communial areas (e.g. hall, dining room) to add atmosphere; and personally I would have preferred it a couple of degrees warmer. However, these are minor points in the scheme of an otherwise trouble free experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Kish777,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Dunedin. We hope your visit to Kirkcaldy exceeded your expectations and that your visit to the yoga practitioner was the wonderful experience you hoped it would be.

We are glad you liked the house and - as you saw when you arrived, the garden is a bit of a “work in progress” at the moment (but we’re getting there!).

Your suggestions for improvement are gratefully received and indeed, we previously tried playing music in the communal areas but this was met with a fairly lacklustre reaction from several regular guests with a one even saying they felt they were walking around Asda’s!!

You mentioned you were just back from a holiday in Egypt and we hope this may have been the reason you felt chilly. We like to think we get the temperature at Dunedin just right most of the time and what feels cool to one person will feel too hot for another, but we are sorry it didn’t meet your full approval and will keep an eye on this in the future.

Thank you for your suggestions. Valid comments such as yours help us improve our guests experience and we hope to see you and your wife again soon.

Best wishes


Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Dunedin we found to be a lovely, comfortable bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in we couldn't fault: clean, comfortable and contemporary. It met all our requirements to aid a comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent, beautifully presented and plenty of it, it more than set you up for the day. Both Les and Yvonne gave us a warm welcome and were happy to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. What Yvonne doesn't know about the local area isn't worth knowing - many thanks for your advise on places to eat and especially the information about the Fife coastal walks,we enjoyed every minute even if my feet were tired !!! Once again many thanks for everything, hope to see you again when we are in the area. If Paul has his way that will be sometime soon to complete more of the coastal walks !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear andrea k,

Many thanks for your kind review of Dunedin - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it's great news to hear you intend coming back to explore the wonderful attractions in the Kingdom of Fife.

Sorry to hear about your sore feet - the Fife Coastal Path will do that to you every time, but it's worth it! We hear this problem can be overcome by stopping off at some of the many hostelries en-route to sit in front of a log fire and sample some of their liquid refreshments - and the foods not bad either!!!

We look forward to welcoming you to Dunedin again soon.

All the best!

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
266 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ahaven Bed & Breakfast
Ahaven Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin

Address: 25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Price Range: £58 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for "boutique" style accommodation in the heart of Kirkcaldy? Stay at Dunedin! Excellent and regular transport links are just a short stroll away. Large, comfortable en-suite rooms with a modern contemporary feel. Off-street parking and free wi-fi access. Breakfast is simply superb and if you're tired of the "traditional" cooked breakfast try the fresh salmon, scrambled eggs and croissant - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing