We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Dunedin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunedin
Ranked #4 of 13 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here for a few days. Lovely hotel very well presented inside. Room was very nicely decorated. Everything provided that you would need. Great choice for breakfast.
Yvonne was very helpfull and informative.
Over all a great place and would stay there again.
John & Susan

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear John & Susan,

Many thanks for your extremely kind review of Dunedin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fife soon

Best regards

Yvonne & Les Duffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

my partner and i have just had 5 wonderful days at the dunedin we must say a massive thank you to yvonne and les for being the perfect hosts the hotel itself was a pleasure to stay in, it was bright emaculetly clean and the food was excellent not only did we recieve a warm welcome but they were very informative about the area and places to visit highly recommmended we look foreward to our next visit. jeff & liz 15th april 2011.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Jeff & Liz,

Many thanks for your kind review of Dunedin.

We're so glad you enjoyed your trip back to Kirkcaldy and are delighted to hear that you intend staying with us again when you return later this year.

Hope the new car is still living up to your expectations!

Best regards

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed at the Dunedin for one night on a whistle stop of Kirkcaldy, great house, very central location for all our needs, our room was extremely comfortable and cosy, and very well designed. Our breakfast was superb with a selection of cereals, fruit juice, and we opted for the cooked breakfast and as much tea, coffee and toast as you could wish for. We had breakfast at 8.15am (but L.J. prefers at 11.00am) which set us up nicely for our day ahead. Les and Yvonne were great hosts and welcomed us into their family home, Yvonne's directions are also spot on. THanks again Les & Yvonne for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Ton & Ros,

Many thanks for your kind review of Dunedin. Even with L. J’s late breakfast, we are extremely fortunate in receiving overwhelmingly positive reviews from our guests.

Living as you do in such close proximity to an airport runway, it is not surprising Ton’s hearing has been affected and we hope his forthcoming operation goes well! Once he recuperates we hope to see you both at Dunedin.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Best regards


Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from this fantastic BB. Its place is Kirkcaldy hidden gem with lovely welcoming entrance, superb interior design in the bedrooms a few wee treats like underfloor heating in the bathrooms absolute heaven, lovely bathrobes, even some biscuits and cappacino this place has it just right. The breakfast was amazing with soked salmon and scrambled eggs the largest crossiant I ever seen and very enjoyable. So thank you the hosts Yvonne & Les your place is a cut above the rest.

Room Tip: A room at the front overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggysue93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Peggysue93,

Thank you so much for you enthusiastic review of Dunedin. Knowing you were in the hospitality industry for some time makes your very kind review all the more special. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll visit us again soon.

Thanks again

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My room was very clean and warm. I felt at home as soon as I arrived.
All my needs were catered for including recommendations for evening resteraunts.
I would rococomend Dunedin to friends when staying in or around Kirkaldy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Martin H,

Many thanks for your review of Dunedin and many thanks for choosing to stay with us - your custom is appreciated.

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations.

We hope you passed your test at the end of the course you attended and that everything went "swimmingly"!

You are both welcome to Dunedin anytime and hope to see you both again soon.

Have a great festive period.

Regards

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at Dunedin House for one night in July 2011.

The owners, Yvonne and Les, are extremely friendly. Yvonne was very happy to spend some time with us, going through maps and advising us on some great places to visit. Les was the main man when it came to breakfast - he could talk anyone into trying the haggis :-)

The room we stayed in was clean, cosy and comfortable. It was only a short walk into the main part of Kirkcaldy. Would definitely stay here again - should we pass through Kirkcaldy again :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl_Sydney14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear Island_Girl174,

Thank you so much for your review.

We're so glad you enjoyed your short time with us in July and hope it has encouraged you to plan another trip to Scotland in order to catch up with all the things you didn't manage to see the first time around!

Here's hoping we'll see you in the not too distant future.

All the best!

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My mother and I stayed at the grand Dunedin House for one night during short break to explore the East Fife coast. And it more than met our expectations. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with excellent en suite facilities. We chose the smoked salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast which was delicious. Yvonne's local knowledge of places to eat, drink and to take in the fantastic views of the Firth of Forth really added to the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOLE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear SCOLE67,

Many thanks for you review of Dunedin.

We're so glad you and your mother enjoyed your visit to Fife and are delighted that you liked both your room and your breakfast.

Your custom is appreciated and we hope you return to vist us again soon.

Best regards


Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.4 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin

Property: Dunedin
Address: 25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for "boutique" style accommodation in the heart of Kirkcaldy? Stay at Dunedin! Excellent and regular transport links are just a short stroll away. Large, comfortable en-suite rooms with a modern contemporary feel. Off-street parking and free wi-fi access. Breakfast is simply superb and if you're tired of the "traditional" cooked breakfast try the fresh salmon, scrambled eggs and croissant - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing