We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do we start”
Review of Dunedin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunedin
Ranked #5 of 13 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Where do we start from first meeting our lovely host (Yvonne) was easy to talk to and able to advise on all to do not only in the surrounding area, but for our furture travels, we lost time talking. The room was LARGE, warm, clean and comfrotable so it was easy to have a good nights sleep. Breakfast was easly adapted for a vegan diet, with Lactose free milk provided, fruit and filling to leave you full. It was a wounder we could walk our way out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotterySomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear PotterySomerville,

Thank you so much for your recent review of Dunedin - we'rer so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and getting some lactose free milk for you is no problem whatsoever!

We hope you'll come back and visit us again

Best regards

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is an impressive period house lovingly furnished. The rooms were comfortable and kitted out with a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was particularly good-I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs but the full fry up also looked delicious. Our hosts were really helpful- letting us leave our bags in the foyer until our train time and even giving us a lift to a local department store! Fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poneh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Poneh S,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. This is all the more appreciated when we realise your own wedding is just a week or so away.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we're glad your friends wedding went so well.

Leaving your luggage with us was no trouble whatsoever and giving you a lift to the local department store is "all part of the service".

We hope to see you again if you came to Fife in the future and we hope your wedding celebrations go brilliantly well!

Best regards

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Last minute find clean comfortable room with friendly owner . Would return when in the area

Room Tip: Ignore swimming pool and fitness review it has neither and can't remove
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Caroline B,

Many thanks for your review, but there seems to be a degree of confusion with your review!

Although we are absolutely certain you stayed with us at Dunedin (there's not too many Floridians on motorbike vacations just dropping in!) your "room tip" is somewhat confusing as we don't offer a pool or fitness room facilities!

Ah well....maybe its just wishful thinking. Thank you for your other comments in any case and we hope you drop in again on your motorbike sometime - you would be most welcome

Best regards

Yvonne & Les Duffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here for a few days. Lovely hotel very well presented inside. Room was very nicely decorated. Everything provided that you would need. Great choice for breakfast.
Yvonne was very helpfull and informative.
Over all a great place and would stay there again.
John & Susan

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear John & Susan,

Many thanks for your extremely kind review of Dunedin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fife soon

Best regards

Yvonne & Les Duffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

my partner and i have just had 5 wonderful days at the dunedin we must say a massive thank you to yvonne and les for being the perfect hosts the hotel itself was a pleasure to stay in, it was bright emaculetly clean and the food was excellent not only did we recieve a warm welcome but they were very informative about the area and places to visit highly recommmended we look foreward to our next visit. jeff & liz 15th april 2011.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Jeff & Liz,

Many thanks for your kind review of Dunedin.

We're so glad you enjoyed your trip back to Kirkcaldy and are delighted to hear that you intend staying with us again when you return later this year.

Hope the new car is still living up to your expectations!

Best regards

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed at the Dunedin for one night on a whistle stop of Kirkcaldy, great house, very central location for all our needs, our room was extremely comfortable and cosy, and very well designed. Our breakfast was superb with a selection of cereals, fruit juice, and we opted for the cooked breakfast and as much tea, coffee and toast as you could wish for. We had breakfast at 8.15am (but L.J. prefers at 11.00am) which set us up nicely for our day ahead. Les and Yvonne were great hosts and welcomed us into their family home, Yvonne's directions are also spot on. THanks again Les & Yvonne for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Ton & Ros,

Many thanks for your kind review of Dunedin. Even with L. J’s late breakfast, we are extremely fortunate in receiving overwhelmingly positive reviews from our guests.

Living as you do in such close proximity to an airport runway, it is not surprising Ton’s hearing has been affected and we hope his forthcoming operation goes well! Once he recuperates we hope to see you both at Dunedin.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Best regards


Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from this fantastic BB. Its place is Kirkcaldy hidden gem with lovely welcoming entrance, superb interior design in the bedrooms a few wee treats like underfloor heating in the bathrooms absolute heaven, lovely bathrobes, even some biscuits and cappacino this place has it just right. The breakfast was amazing with soked salmon and scrambled eggs the largest crossiant I ever seen and very enjoyable. So thank you the hosts Yvonne & Les your place is a cut above the rest.

Room Tip: A room at the front overlooking the street
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggysue93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Peggysue93,

Thank you so much for you enthusiastic review of Dunedin. Knowing you were in the hospitality industry for some time makes your very kind review all the more special. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll visit us again soon.

Thanks again

Yvonne & Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
266 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ahaven Bed & Breakfast
Ahaven Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin

Address: 25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Price Range: £58 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for "boutique" style accommodation in the heart of Kirkcaldy? Stay at Dunedin! Excellent and regular transport links are just a short stroll away. Large, comfortable en-suite rooms with a modern contemporary feel. Off-street parking and free wi-fi access. Breakfast is simply superb and if you're tired of the "traditional" cooked breakfast try the fresh salmon, scrambled eggs and croissant - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing