We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Dunedin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunedin
Ranked #4 of 13 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was our first B&B and could only ask that any future B&B's can even come close in comparison. Great facility. Clean, comfortable, and a good breakfast. To top it off, the owners were very helpful with travelling tips and welcoming. Thank you. Would definitely recommend as a stop over. Thanks Les and Yvonne. (Bruce and Wendy - Nanaimo, BC Canada)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Bruce & Wendy,

Thank you so much for your kind review of Dunedin.

We hope we have set the bar high for the rest of you month long trip and thanks again for the pins!

Remember to bring your parking permit with you next time you visit Scotland - we ARE a civilised bunch here y'know:) and Wendy - you need to limit yourself on the internet or you'll have square eyes!!!

Hope to see you both again - you'll be made very welcome!

many thanks again

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Location: A great central location within walking distance of both the train and bus stations, the main shopping centre and the beach/esplanade.

Room: A clean, modern, light and airy room with lovely comfy beds. A bit of traffic noise (which I only mention as I'm used to none at home) as we were in a room at the front of the house, thanks to the high quality double glazed sash windows, nothing that would hinder a good night's sleep. En Suite was also very clean and modern and beautifully fitted.

Facilities: tea/coffee making facilities - Option of decaf was much appreciated. Bedding was lovely. Really nice hot powerful shower. Good size TV. BT open zone wifi, password available on request. Plenty of plug sockets. Good Seating. Lots of space for hanging clothes and storing bags/cases. A very small negative - the only one I can find with this B&B - is the lack of a toiletries shelf under the mirror in the bathroom. Had to put my make-up in the sink.

Breakfast: excellent food and service. Good selection of cereals, toast and choice of breakfasts. We had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and the continental breakfast (lovely seasonal fruit salad with a croissant), both of which were lovely. Breakfast room is bright and modern and overlooks the gorgeous garden.

Extras: didn't get to meet Les but Yvonne was absolutely lovely. Can't recommend this B&B enough. Will definitely Go back to this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frakin_toaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear frakin_toaster,

Many thanks for your extremely kind and comprehensive review of Dunedin, we really appreciate your attention to detail.

Our apologies for not having a shelf directly below the mirror in your en-suite and this is something we will consider as a matter of course - but in our defence (we hope!) there was a four tier freestanding glass shelving unit just behind the hand basin where we place cotton wool buds/pads, make-up wipes etc and where there was space for your toiletries.

We are delighted the rest of the house met with your full approval and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Where do we start from first meeting our lovely host (Yvonne) was easy to talk to and able to advise on all to do not only in the surrounding area, but for our furture travels, we lost time talking. The room was LARGE, warm, clean and comfrotable so it was easy to have a good nights sleep. Breakfast was easly adapted for a vegan diet, with Lactose free milk provided, fruit and filling to leave you full. It was a wounder we could walk our way out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterySomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear PotterySomerville,

Thank you so much for your recent review of Dunedin - we'rer so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and getting some lactose free milk for you is no problem whatsoever!

We hope you'll come back and visit us again

Best regards

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is an impressive period house lovingly furnished. The rooms were comfortable and kitted out with a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was particularly good-I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs but the full fry up also looked delicious. Our hosts were really helpful- letting us leave our bags in the foyer until our train time and even giving us a lift to a local department store! Fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poneh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Poneh S,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. This is all the more appreciated when we realise your own wedding is just a week or so away.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we're glad your friends wedding went so well.

Leaving your luggage with us was no trouble whatsoever and giving you a lift to the local department store is "all part of the service".

We hope to see you again if you came to Fife in the future and we hope your wedding celebrations go brilliantly well!

Best regards

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Helen, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Last minute find clean comfortable room with friendly owner . Would return when in the area

Room Tip: Ignore swimming pool and fitness review it has neither and can't remove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Caroline B,

Many thanks for your review, but there seems to be a degree of confusion with your review!

Although we are absolutely certain you stayed with us at Dunedin (there's not too many Floridians on motorbike vacations just dropping in!) your "room tip" is somewhat confusing as we don't offer a pool or fitness room facilities!

Ah well....maybe its just wishful thinking. Thank you for your other comments in any case and we hope you drop in again on your motorbike sometime - you would be most welcome

Best regards

Yvonne & Les Duffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here for a few days. Lovely hotel very well presented inside. Room was very nicely decorated. Everything provided that you would need. Great choice for breakfast.
Yvonne was very helpfull and informative.
Over all a great place and would stay there again.
John & Susan

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear John & Susan,

Many thanks for your extremely kind review of Dunedin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fife soon

Best regards

Yvonne & Les Duffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

my partner and i have just had 5 wonderful days at the dunedin we must say a massive thank you to yvonne and les for being the perfect hosts the hotel itself was a pleasure to stay in, it was bright emaculetly clean and the food was excellent not only did we recieve a warm welcome but they were very informative about the area and places to visit highly recommmended we look foreward to our next visit. jeff & liz 15th april 2011.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Jeff & Liz,

Many thanks for your kind review of Dunedin.

We're so glad you enjoyed your trip back to Kirkcaldy and are delighted to hear that you intend staying with us again when you return later this year.

Hope the new car is still living up to your expectations!

Best regards

Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
191 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin

Property: Dunedin
Address: 25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for "boutique" style accommodation in the heart of Kirkcaldy? Stay at Dunedin! Excellent and regular transport links are just a short stroll away. Large, comfortable en-suite rooms with a modern contemporary feel. Off-street parking and free wi-fi access. Breakfast is simply superb and if you're tired of the "traditional" cooked breakfast try the fresh salmon, scrambled eggs and croissant - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing