We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely friendly place to be.”
Review of Dunedin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunedin
Ranked #4 of 13 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely friendly place to be.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Yvonne & Les made us so welcome we stayed an extra night, they are well situated with great local knowledge about trains and how to catch them gave us so much confidence, as we live in NZ in the country, where there are no trains it was fantastic. The rooms are big and beautiful as is the breakfast. There is a local pub in walking distance which is also welcoming so you can get a good cheap meal at night and a restaurant in the next block. A truly great place to stay, we loved it.
Sandra McKenzie New Zealand

Room Tip: Anyone will do, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666Peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear 666Peg,
Many thanks for your review of Dunedin.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our advice helpful.
We are fortunate in receiving overwhelmingly positive reviews on TripAdvisor and this always helps us gauge what we're doing right and what we're doing wrong.
We hope you'll visit us again when you return to Scotland.
Best regards
Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This guest house deserves the best review. The minute you get in the front door you know you are somewhere that will not disappoint. Lovely clean room & super breakfast. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear JenniferP,
Thank you so much for your positive review of Dunedin.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you return again soon.
Best regards
Les & Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and a colleague stayed here on Monday night and we were very pleasantly surprised as to how beautiful the house was. Our rooms were comfortably furnished and very large and the bathrooms were clean and we loved the underfloor heating. We were made very welcome by the owners and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were delicious. As good as any 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous561951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Anonymous561951,
Thak you so much for your very kind review of Dunedin. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast lived up to your expectation. You're right about the underfloor heating - it's a luxury when you're not used to it - but a necessity when you are!
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Best regards
Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The room and the rest of the B&B were excellent. I had stayed a few years before with my wife but was alone this timebut I was still treated with a lovely welcome. Breakkfast was brilliant, everything you could ask for. I asked about local restaurants and was given an Indian restauarant which proved to be as good as recommended. I was visiting my sister who lived nearby but the owners recommended places to visit that even she had not been to - will definetly revisit

Room Tip: all rooms quiet despite a busy road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank den54wort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear den54wort,
Thank you so much for your review and we're delighted you feel you were treated like family - that is our intention. We'll do our best to live up to your review when we see you next.
Best regards
Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My sister and I loved this B&B. The house, grounds and our rooms were perfect. We were treated like family - the owners were friendly, helpful and treated us to a full hot Scottish breakfast in an elegant setting. We loved the fact it had parking in the front yard, not on the street. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a twin bed room and we had a lovely one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Faith F,
Many thanks or your review of Dunedin and we're so glad you intend visiting us again!
We may not have Sarasota's sunshine but like to think we make up for it in other ways
Haste ye back!
Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Got a lovely welcome on arrival at Dunedin by the owner, shown to the room and given some info then left to our own devices.

The room was lovely with a view of the garden, well decorated with lovely furniture and linens. The room a twin came with a separate bathroom, a robe was supplied (or a modesty cloak as my boyfriend referred to it) to pop on to nip next door, lovely touch and the robe was really comfy not one of those white towelling scratchy thing you often get in a good hotel.

The bed was very comfy with proper pillows that were sturdy, I hate a feather pillow. The duvet was just the right tog too we were not too hot or cold.

The breakfast is ordered the day before. We went for cooked which was scrambled egg, bacon and sausage
Other things were fruit or scrambled egg and smoked salmon, all looked good
The dining room is a mixing affair which was good for a chat with new people.

The only problem we had was the shower wasn't as good as I'd expect, really would be better with an electric power shower in there.

Over all I'd recommend here. It's not too far from the station so would work if you were wanting a cheaper alternative to a stay in Edinburgh

There is also on site parking which sometimes you don't get with a b&b

May be back same time next year

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Jill M,
Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate when guests take the time to give us feedback and all comments are always considered.
We're glad you liked your room and your breakfast, and hope to welcome you back to Dunedin again soon
Best regards
Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
381 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Dunedin in June, as he was on business in the area, and I had chosen to come along.
I was surprised to hear that the house was built in 1865 as the interior would never reflect its age. It has been beautifully maintained. Our room was in the front of the house, and despite the busy road traffic, we did not have issues with street noise keeping us awake. There was a lot of ruckus from seagulls, but there's not much one can do about that!
Parking is in a front private lot located right outside the B&B.
Our room was large and the bed was comfortable. There was a large armoire that had plenty of room to store our clothes. The bathroom was quite roomy and included a 3 tiered stand to hold our toiletries.
The shower was large with great water pressure and hot water.
Terry guest robes were included for our convenience. Towels were changed daily.
Unfortunately, there were no washcloths included. There was body soap, but no shampoo (I've learned to bring my own.)
The room had a complimentary hospitality tray which included a kettle, tea and coffee, and packaged cookies, as well as a large bottle of water.
There was a flat screen television, although we never turned it on, and a hairdryer included.
The B&B has wi-fi throughout, but my husband and I both had issues with the wi-fi in the room. We could access the wi-fi in the hall and downstairs, but not in the room with our computers, or our phones. Yvonne and Les were kind enough to let us use the dining room for access, as my husband was on business and needed to have access.

We could pick our own time for breakfast which was served in a large room with a lovely view overlooking a walled backyard. We chose porridge (which Les cooked perfectly), toast and fruit salad, which was always beautifully presented. Yogurt and cereals were available as well. There was a cooked breakfast option as well, which other guests chose, and it certainly looked quite substantial. Even though we opted against this, we certainly did not leave hungry.
Yvonne was great at advising points of interest as well as recommending dining establishments.
The Dunedin is only a three block walk to the Kirkcaldy train station, which is staffed during the day and is a major hub for travel.

The Dunedin charged an extra fee if paying by credit card to offset the charge made by those companies.

I would highly recommend this establishment in Kirkcaldy if you are looking for a comfortable, well maintained B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear geismom,
Many thanks for your review of Dunedin. You have stayed at dunedin on a couple of occassions now and it is clear you and your husband are seasoned travellers therefore your excelent review is all the more appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit to Dunedin
Best regards
Yvonne & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.4 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
Lothrie Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin

Property: Dunedin
Address: 25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for "boutique" style accommodation in the heart of Kirkcaldy? Stay at Dunedin! Excellent and regular transport links are just a short stroll away. Large, comfortable en-suite rooms with a modern contemporary feel. Off-street parking and free wi-fi access. Breakfast is simply superb and if you're tired of the "traditional" cooked breakfast try the fresh salmon, scrambled eggs and croissant - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing