We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunnikier House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Reviewed 26 June 2011

So.....if you are a fan of the ubiquitous "lego" rooms all thesame design type "Travel Inn?" type hotel with rubber sausage breakfasts then do not stay here.

This is an old "Lairds' house set in what seems looks to have been the estate grounds in it's original days. Although now public ground the huge grassy area still gives you the impression you are living in the manor house. To the rear there is a golf course and woods so no concrete jungle outlook here.

As you enter the hotel you come into an entrance lobby withe real oak panelling old family portraits and a big fireplace which dominates the left hand side
The welcome is genuinely friendly and as the weekend went on the staff were so welcoming I did wonder what they put in the water. Every member of staff we saw was pleasant and smiley and really seemed to enjoy working there.

The rooms are quaint, decor a little dated but clean and comfortable and the squeaky floorboards are there to remind you you are not in a concrete monstrosity hotel. One of the reasons we chose the hotel is that it is dog friendly. This applies not only to the bedrooms but also the public areas and it was so nice to be able to enjoy the bar with the dogs by our side. There are also extensive wooded areas within the grounds for walking the dogs.

You can often judge a hotel by the breakfast and here you not only have the choice of the full Scottish breakfast but also alternatives such as the smoked haddock with egg off your choice. I chose scrambled egg and you could tell these were freshly cooked by a chef who knew is trade, Not cooked to rubber but just set and well up to the standard Escofier set for this not so simple dish.

Evening meals were of an equally high standard and we ate there twice out of the three night stay.

Finally, we were so impressed we have booked in for Christmas this year.

Room Tip: Phone and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveDites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

we went there on saturday night till sunday hotel was lovely, grounds were massive and well kept. we travelled with a baby of 1 yrs old so had a family room and it was gorgeous bed was so comfy and view was amazing could see the sea, all the grounds at the front, the food was amazing too we ate there on the sat night the steak pie was to die for and then i had lemon cheescake oh my god i felt like i had died and gone to heaven the nicest i have ever ever had, the one thing i diddnt like was the golf members were in the bar and drunk and fell into my child in the high chair. the staff was great diddnt have to wait for the bill or drinks, i wpould definatly recommend, GORGEOUS PLACE

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

stayed for three nights a few weeks ago.From when we arrived to when we left we were treated like returning guests, food excellent, great relaxing atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble, the grounds were spectacular, lovely walks each evening after dinner ..around the estate grounds, very special.The hotel is only let down by 1980's bedrooms, time for a referb me thinks !!! however this would not stop me returning or recommending .Thank u to Lyn and her team

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fizzengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

If you are looking for a hotel to host the wedding of your dreams then this is the hotel for you.My new husband and i were married there just a few weeks ago and are truly grateful to Lyn and ALL her amazing staff, for making our day one to remember for all the right reasons.The effort that was put in to making our day special was not only recognised by my husband and myself, the majority of our guests were also commenting on how brilliant the wedding was, but the reason it was so good was all down to Lyn's staff.They know their job and they do it excedingly well and they know how to work as a team,so if you want excellent food in a family friendly hotel full of romantic charm i thoroughly recommend this one!!
The Dunnikier House Hotel will forever hold a special place in our hearts, especially on the 30th of April each year.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsMorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed one night B&B at the Dunnikier in January 2011. The staff are very welcoming and were pleasent and helpful throughout. I had dinner and breakfast there, both were very good. Its a nice hotel and is only let down by the bedroom. Whilst it was very clean the decor was very dated, including the bathroom, and the TV was very limited. If a refrub of the rooms is due then this would make the Dunnikier a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerenceTibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

A strange place this. In parts it is excellent - the reception rooms, the food, the dining room and the general surroundings, but in other respects it is somewhat poor. The room we stayed in had clearly not been decorated for a very long time and it was a serious case of being in a time warp, right down to the dreadful peach bathroom suite and the somewhat stained and marked shag-pile carpet! We also had the misfortune of the attic room which has one window only and high level at that so you cannot see the lovely view! A fire alarm near to midnight with two kids asleep was also not very welcome, especially when it was a false alarm and the barman confirmed it went off regularly and had recently disrupted a wedding. Whether that was true or not I do not know, but if it is a regular event, then it should really be fixed - something we were told about the sensor being too near the boiler! Against that, as I say, the food was really outstanding and the breakfast very nice indeed. Staff were friendly enough although in the morning at checkout the morning staff seemed more concerned about conducting their own conversations than attending to customers trying to book out. A big downside for me was that I was not thanked for our custom - this is routine in most hotels.

Despite that, it suited our needs for one night only, and overall I think the general feel was probably just about positive - but it could be so much better and for that reason I would not recommend an overnight stay although I do commend the restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katmiccollou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Do you love a log fire on a brisk autumn evening? A warm welcoming fire awaits you in the reception lounge at Dunnikier house Hotel. The manager and staff are just as warm and welcoming too, lovely local lasses and lads. This Hotel was our third choice when we visited Kirkcaldy this weekend for the comedy festival. It will be our first, next time. We slept on beautifully clean and crisp white sheets under a warm duvet and enjoyed a beautifully cooked and presented Scottish breakfast. Now if only the owners would invest a little on the bedroom decor we could give it 10/10, as it is 8/10, the service is everything, thanks everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shewasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
1.9 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
205 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
24 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunnikier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunnikier House Hotel

Address: Dunnikier Park, Kirkcaldy KY1 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range: £60 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunnikier House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunnikier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunnikier Hotel Kirkcaldy
Dunnikier House Hotel Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing