We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charactaristic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunnikier House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charactaristic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Its a lovely historical character hotel set just off road, which has a great big open space for the children to play in whilst we spent a relaxing evening dining with family, also sampling the great selection of teas & coffees.
Good choice of menu and delicious food on several occasions. :-)
Staff are polite and helpful.
There is also a golf course a few steps from the hotel building.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shazee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    37
    21
    31
    29
See reviews for
75
35
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

So.....if you are a fan of the ubiquitous "lego" rooms all thesame design type "Travel Inn?" type hotel with rubber sausage breakfasts then do not stay here.

This is an old "Lairds' house set in what seems looks to have been the estate grounds in it's original days. Although now public ground the huge grassy area still gives you the impression you are living in the manor house. To the rear there is a golf course and woods so no concrete jungle outlook here.

As you enter the hotel you come into an entrance lobby withe real oak panelling old family portraits and a big fireplace which dominates the left hand side
The welcome is genuinely friendly and as the weekend went on the staff were so welcoming I did wonder what they put in the water. Every member of staff we saw was pleasant and smiley and really seemed to enjoy working there.

The rooms are quaint, decor a little dated but clean and comfortable and the squeaky floorboards are there to remind you you are not in a concrete monstrosity hotel. One of the reasons we chose the hotel is that it is dog friendly. This applies not only to the bedrooms but also the public areas and it was so nice to be able to enjoy the bar with the dogs by our side. There are also extensive wooded areas within the grounds for walking the dogs.

You can often judge a hotel by the breakfast and here you not only have the choice of the full Scottish breakfast but also alternatives such as the smoked haddock with egg off your choice. I chose scrambled egg and you could tell these were freshly cooked by a chef who knew is trade, Not cooked to rubber but just set and well up to the standard Escofier set for this not so simple dish.

Evening meals were of an equally high standard and we ate there twice out of the three night stay.

Finally, we were so impressed we have booked in for Christmas this year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveydites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Great hotel only stayed 1 night wished we could have stayed longer really friendly staff warm welcome lovely big open fire. Rooms were a bit rough around the edges but fot the age of the building all fitted in ( although I would say the carpet could do with replacing and the flooring in the bathroom) the shower worked well bedding all clean tea making in the room. We stayed in for evening meal although they were very busy Lyn went out of her way to fit us in we were so glad she did and the food was amazing well worth the wait. The breakfast was good I had smoked haddock with poached eggs it was lovely, my husband could have done with a bit bigger breakfast he had the traditional Scottish breakfast but could eaten more if we go back to Scotland we will be sure to stay here again, in fact I'm trying to get my daughter to look at it fro her wedding its such a great setting an such a great old building.. Thaks for a great stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My daughter Abby and her new husband Stephen, held their wedding here. The day went without a hitch. This was because of Lynn and her amazing staff!!!! Nothing was too much for them. We all felt it was a very cosy and friendly hotel. Thank you so much Lynn for making our
stay one to remember!
Julie x

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed for one night when attending a wedding. On arrival we were allocated a room which on inspection was covered in what we believed to be dog hairs and to be frank smelt of dog too. My partner pointed this out to the receptionist who duly attended the room and although unconvinced it was dog hair (she thought it was human which im not sure was supposed to be a good thing or not). We were duly moved to a room on the top floor which was apparently one of their better ones and although it was cleaner and smelt much fresher it had wallpaper hanging from the ceiling. Shower was also fixed and of no good if you were over 5ft 8. Breakfast ok but not brilliant. In all poor value!!!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel if visiting Kirkcaldy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malkymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirkcaldy hotels

England
Level Contributor
222 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

As a Kirkcaldy person returning for a family party it is always nice to stay at places you didn't when you were young. I have eaten here before and some of my family have worked here but it was our first stay. It was ok > The decor in the room we were in really needs updating but it was ok the furniture was nice and the bed comfy. Breakfast was good although the sausage was a bit underdone for me. I like to see mine well cooked. We did not eat there in the evening. Thought it was good value for the money paid.
Being a Kirkcaly lad I guess I am a bit biased but you cannot beat the area where the hotel is situated. Anyone coming for a short break would love the Scottishness of it all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theliverpool2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Staff was so friendly, food was great and had an end of teh hall room that was very quiet. Also, the fact there was a local golf course right across teh parking lot was fantastic. It is a nice "muni" and a day we did not want to drive all over, we simply grabbed the clubs and played a round, right in teh backyard.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KurtMyrtleBeach_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
1.9 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
5.2 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunnikier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunnikier House Hotel

Property: Dunnikier House Hotel
Address: Dunnikier Park, Kirkcaldy KY1 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunnikier House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunnikier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunnikier Hotel Kirkcaldy
Dunnikier House Hotel Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing