We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfy hotel, lovely setting, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunnikier House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Bristol
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A comfy hotel, lovely setting, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here for the first time, in order to attend a family funeral. This is right by a park, and golf course, and handy for the Victoria Hospital and the Kirkcaldy Crematorium.
The hotel is a lovely old building, high ceilings, old features, big windows, fireplaces and beautiful wood panelling. My room was a single en-suite, with a really comfortable bed and a decent sized bath. The decor is not particularly modern or new, but it was cosy and clean.
The ground floor has a lot of charm, including an open fire in the reception area. The food in the bistro was great, just what I needed. Beautiful flavours and good quality ingredients. The breakfast likewise was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisCatBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    37
    21
    31
    29
See reviews for
75
35
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

As I'm a local, this review is of food, not accommodation. This is the fourth time I've had lunch here, and I can recommend the food. The menu offers an interesting choice, with a separate offer of daily specials. We chose to have two starters, and the food was beautifully presented and delicious - in fact the presentation was such a work of art that it was almost a pity to bite into the food! The food is in the medium price range for the area (e.g. most starters around £5.50, main courses from around £9.95), and it is worth the price. Service is friendly and efficient.
I was startled to see two dogs being led into the bar (although I did not see where they ended up - presumably some permitted area), but I believe that this is a dog-friendly hotel, perhaps a point to bear in mind.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife, her parents and me stayed at this hotel earlier in the year and as a result decided to return for a Christmas break and also to eat Christmas lunch there as part of the stay.

We arrived at check in time and were warmly greeted again and indeed recognised as returning customers, possibly because of our dogs as this is a pet friendly hotel.

We were in different rooms this time and we were allocated a large room at the rear of the building overlooking the car park and onto the golf course with our fellows a floor below. Both rooms were lovely, sizable and well appointed with large beds, tea and coffee making facilities and an ensuite bathroom.

Once again all the staff were smiley and friendly with many of them recognising as returning guests. The staff here really seem like a big happy family.

Breakfast each morning was cereals, fruit and yoghurt followed by a choice of full Scottish breakfast of your chice with teaa, coffee and toast. I had the full Scottish twice and the middle day I had smoked haddock and scrambled eggs which once again were all of a really high standard.

On Christmas day the lunch was served in an very organised and efficient way with the arrival of guests staggarred to make serving them as efficient as possible and all seemed to work well. After lunch we sat in front of the log fire in reception and watched while the staff did a superb job in getting through a busy day very well.

Our Chrisitmas meal was to a very high standard and well cooked and presented in a very nice, cheffy manners. Photos of a couple of desserts are included.

We spent a lot of time relaxing and people watching in reception with the log fire a very enjoyable focus for us over the few days and I really am impressed how genuinely friendly everyone is.

All in all a brilliant stay and we will be back again and I highly recommend a stay here for you

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveydites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, (UK)
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Damp, old and fusty - the carpet was positively oily with dirt (heavy pile, about 20 years old). It smelt of feet. I asked for another room and quickly realised they were probably all the same. The doors were the thin type with 2 sheets of laminate on a bare middle, so I could hear everyone else's conversations and televisions all night. The staff were very sweet and breakfast very nice. But I was glad to get into the fresh air. One night was enough

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirkcaldy hotels

leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Where to start?
At last an hotel that deserves the accolade 'a home away from home'.
From arrival through to deparure we were looked after, without fuss & without any prompting.
Maybe it's not everyones cup of tea, if you like generic boxes, with uniform, robotic, patterns, then perhaps you should stay with the chains/ lodges/ expresses/ etc.
But if it's roaring log fires, quirky rooms (ok they could do with a little tweak here & there), real pub/bar, not some themed add-on. Great food, helpful staff, fresh air, peace & quiet, even when they're having parties we slept soundly. (at least 5 events during our stay).
And no, I don't have shares in the Co.
Ps pets are welcome, & kids.
But if you're bringing the latter can you keep 'em on the leash. Metaphorically speaking.
It's too good to spoil, tell 'em Terry sent you.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuzzaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Its a lovely historical character hotel set just off road, which has a great big open space for the children to play in whilst we spent a relaxing evening dining with family, also sampling the great selection of teas & coffees.
Good choice of menu and delicious food on several occasions. :-)
Staff are polite and helpful.
There is also a golf course a few steps from the hotel building.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shazee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

So.....if you are a fan of the ubiquitous "lego" rooms all thesame design type "Travel Inn?" type hotel with rubber sausage breakfasts then do not stay here.

This is an old "Lairds' house set in what seems looks to have been the estate grounds in it's original days. Although now public ground the huge grassy area still gives you the impression you are living in the manor house. To the rear there is a golf course and woods so no concrete jungle outlook here.

As you enter the hotel you come into an entrance lobby withe real oak panelling old family portraits and a big fireplace which dominates the left hand side
The welcome is genuinely friendly and as the weekend went on the staff were so welcoming I did wonder what they put in the water. Every member of staff we saw was pleasant and smiley and really seemed to enjoy working there.

The rooms are quaint, decor a little dated but clean and comfortable and the squeaky floorboards are there to remind you you are not in a concrete monstrosity hotel. One of the reasons we chose the hotel is that it is dog friendly. This applies not only to the bedrooms but also the public areas and it was so nice to be able to enjoy the bar with the dogs by our side. There are also extensive wooded areas within the grounds for walking the dogs.

You can often judge a hotel by the breakfast and here you not only have the choice of the full Scottish breakfast but also alternatives such as the smoked haddock with egg off your choice. I chose scrambled egg and you could tell these were freshly cooked by a chef who knew is trade, Not cooked to rubber but just set and well up to the standard Escofier set for this not so simple dish.

Evening meals were of an equally high standard and we ate there twice out of the three night stay.

Finally, we were so impressed we have booked in for Christmas this year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveydites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
1.9 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
5.2 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunnikier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunnikier House Hotel

Property: Dunnikier House Hotel
Address: Dunnikier Park, Kirkcaldy KY1 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunnikier House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunnikier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunnikier Hotel Kirkcaldy
Dunnikier House Hotel Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing