We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunnikier House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit - great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed overnight last week end for a surprise birthday party held in the golf club, right next door.
Agree with other reviewers that hotel is a little tired and could do with a wee facelift, but this was more than made up for by the staff and the food - both were excellent. Sitting toasting in front of the fire was wonderful and created a very homely and restful atmosphere.
Would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    37
    21
    31
    29
See reviews for
75
35
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Quite an experience! The hotel is stuck in a 80's time warp. It excels in that classic British style of mismatched loud wallpapers and sticky, swirly carpets. It is very tatty. The smell of bar food cooking is quite overwhelming at times. What was probably an impressive house it its day has been carved up in to a bizarre selection of rooms, some of which are very pokey. There is WiFi but the signal is intermittent. Likewise the TV signal. The redeeming features are very friendly, helpful staff and quick service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 247Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirkcaldy hotels

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We have visited Dunnikier House Hotel quite a few times over the last few weeks due to hospital visits to see my dad. Our first visit was for a MUCH needed glass of wine and some food [lovely nachos] whilst sitting in front of the lovely fire on the gorgeous and comfy couches at reception. The staff were very efficient, professional and nice without being too over the top, they did their job very very well. We then visited for high tea one sunday 5 adults and 4 children, the food was fabulous and really good value for money. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very comfortable as I do tend to get a bit nervous if the children are being a bit picky about their food but we were all really well looked after. We'll all be back when dad is back to full health...his treat!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and had a Casio evening on the 4/5 April and its pretty bad. Room just a disgrace, old, mould in the bathroom, holes in Bathroom lino, Carpet that really has seen better days and hair in bath that lets just say was not mine! the Buffet on the Casio night was about as bad as it could be I am pretty sure that Asda or Iceland do some good business with this hotel.

However staff friendly but resigned to it all I am sure, but at least they charge the knid of money they should for standards they offer.

The thing that really but me off this place is the rubbsih and fags ends all around the front of the building afterall if you cant keep this area clean what does it say about the parts you cant see?

I have stayed on business and holidays in 100s of hotels in the last 25 years and this one has just made my bottom 5 which I can tell you takes some doing!!

Room Tip: Use a another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 316PaulM316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We visited the resturant for a family meal 6 adults & 2 children the staff were freindly and efficient. The meal was very good and good value just over £100 including drinks. We will be staying here in November for a weding but will be back before then to enjoy a meal again

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Davie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We held the funeral tea for my Mum there. The staff were very helpful, allowing us to come in the day before to put photos up in the room & wrapping up the leftover sandwiches for us so we could take them on to the next venue.
The selection of food was good & we were very pleased with how it went.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJMacEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business in December and I must say the drive up is very impressive. Once you get into the hotel the traditional decor in the reception is warm and welcoming. The rooms however do need a degree of modernisation. The stay in the hotel was fine and the food was fair. I wasn't massively impressed with the tea and coffee tray though as my complimentary biscuits were open and 2 of them were missing. Not a big deal but just makes you wonder if the room was actually clean or not.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
1.9 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
5.2 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunnikier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunnikier House Hotel

Property: Dunnikier House Hotel
Address: Dunnikier Park, Kirkcaldy KY1 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunnikier House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunnikier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunnikier Hotel Kirkcaldy
Dunnikier House Hotel Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing