We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed.........................” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Earl David Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Earl David Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Wemyss
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closed.........................”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Closed.....................closed............................closed............................closed......................................closed..........................closed...........................closed............

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    9
See reviews for
10
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The whole building was dirty and smelly. You could not see through the window for the dirt. In the room, there were pistachio shells left behind the bedside table. (And that is when I stopped looking behind the furniture). The desk was sticky. The carpet had dodgy stains.The soap tray in the shower had not been cleaned for ages. On the way up to the room, there were rat/mouse droppings in the stairs. In the morning, the table mats and crockery were covered in old dust and there were crumbs from a previous meal still on the table. The landlady came to the table with a sweater covered in oily stains. From the outside, the place looked derelict to the extent we thought we had been the victim of a scam. I could go on.
DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL. I am contacting the health department so they can visit this place and close it down.
The landlord and landlady were pleasant but clearly in the wrong business.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms as far as I could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirkcaldy hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

While visiting family in the village, we decided to nip in for a quick pint. What greeted us inside can only be described as howling. The bar was poorly lit and the air smelled damp and stale. The floors were filthy and i felt instantly unclean as soon as we walked in. The landlord needs to sack the cleaner or actually hire one. To say that the whole inside of the place needs a total restoration is an understatement. We decided to brave it out in the subtle hope that the beer would be fine!
Oh my gosh, I've never been served a pint where even the flies buzzing around didn't go near the glass due to the "reek" being omitted from what can only be described as the single worst pint of beer, ever! It was so poor I couldn't muster more than one mouthful! I felt physically sick. It's safe to say we didn't hang around to enjoy the grotty surroundings or the lack of ambience for a minute longer! The two festering pints were left on the bar as we headed for the exits! I absolutely dread to think what the rooms are like. What a shame that a little village pub which has so much potential is ruined. We won't be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Having visited this hotel for a few drinks whilst visiting family i must say i was disgusted. This place is a disgrace i am very surprised it has not been shut down by environmental health and that was just the toilets and restaurant/bar area never mind the rooms i dread to think what they are like!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraTaylor28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Lovely, friendly hosts but sadly they are not in the right business. The building and room was not only dirty but literally falling apart in places. Our non-smoking room smelt of smoke and the door did not latch properly so we slept with a chair wedged against the back of the door. Could not see out of windows they were so grimy and bathroom had clearly been wiped down with a dirty rag. On exit noted fire-escape stairs blocked by debris. Was grateful to get away in one piece. Very sad

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank groenesteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I had booked this hotel for a family member to stay when visiting us, I had seen the room prior to booking and although it was in need of new decor and furniture it was at least clean. When we arrived to check in on Saturday it appeared that the room hadn't been cleaned since the day I had booked 2months previously!! The words disgusting and disgraceful are ones that I would use to describe what I saw, the room had not been hoovered or dusted, the sink had hairs from a previous occupants shave! The shower mat was grimy and dirty, the toilet was an absolute disgrace with faeces in the pan and hairs and a build up of yellow grime around the seat! The bed sheets hadn't even been changed, there was a clear imprint of where the previous occupant had slept and hairs on the sheet and pillow. I couldn't believe that any establishment would expect anyone to actually stay in such filth! I would advise anyone thinking of staying here to not even consider it!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a lovely relaxing time. No pressure. Great breakfast. Perfect hosts and a comfortable night's sleep what more could you want when passing through. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
4.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Merchant House
#1 of 1 in Dysart
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Elbow Room
The Elbow Room
#7 of 13 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Earl David Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earl David Hotel

Property: The Earl David Hotel
Address: Main Street | Coaltown of Wemyss, Kirkcaldy KY1 4NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Hotel Class:3 star — The Earl David Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Earl David Hotel Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing