We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Was very late at night when me and my colleague walked into the Ashgrove to book a room being in Scotland on business all week and staying in a variety of hotels. Was impressed by how clean and tidy the place was, the room was a good size with very cleanly washroom facilities. We had a very good nights sleep and was presented with an extremely large full Scottish breakfast in the morning. The owner was very friendly and also humorous. Recommended if you are in the area. Will certainly be staying again same time next year. Great Stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith011, Owner at Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Sam, Thank you for your very kind remarks it is much appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to you staying with us in the future. Kind Regards Keith Christie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    11
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
17
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was staying there with work so i didnt book the room, i arrived around 18:30 hrs and was told that i was the only on staying there that night, i was then asked what time i would like breakfast i said is 07:15 okay as i wanted to be on the job for around 8am, i was told that was to early so i said okay what about 07:45 that was also too early i was then asked that as i was the only one staying there would i mind not having a full breakfast as it wasnt worth him getting up to cook for one person, he said he would leave me cereal and fruit juice in a flask, which he did.
He then asked for cash payment there and then which i paid and i got £2 knocked off the origional price of £42 for not having a cooked breakfast.
I would say that the Ashgrove B&B is not a very good advertisement for Scotland and the Scottish tourist board.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were sent to this B & B having tried 2 others in the town which were full. Keith, the owner, was friendly and welcoming, he put us in the family room on the ground floor. Although it was cramped (2 bunk beds and 2 singles) the decor was cheerful and there was a large en suite. Keith asked for a cash payment, upfront, no receipt....unusual in my experience. The shower door had dropped, the washbasin plug was ineffective, the TV was stuck on channel 19 until we discovered that the batteries in the remote were in the wrong way round. The mattresses were the most lumpy and uncomfortable I have ever come across in a B & B and the towels smelled of cigarette smoke.
After a dreadful night's sleep (this room is also directly on a main road) we arrived for breakfast at 8.00. No-one was there so my husband rang the enquiries bell, unfortunately Keith was still in bed! He insisted that he'd told me breakfast was not before 8.30... he hadn't said this. When we returned for breakfast at 8.30 Keith accused me of lying and when my husband suggested that he put up a notice giving breakfast times Keith accused him of "kicking off". We shut up, let him blame everyone but himself, ate our breakfast (which was good) and left. Keith charges as much as places which give much better quality accommodation, in all our travels we have never been to such a disastrous place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hilary24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith011, Owner at Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I feel I have to correct you I was not in my bed as I had just finishing having my shower as for accusing you of lying that was also incorrect. As I do with all guests on arrival I ask what they want for breakfast and what time they wish it at. You did not ask for breakfast at 8 am if you had I would of been happy to serve you with it at that time. I do though object to somebody telling what I should do and should not do as your husband was saying to me in a very loud voice, asking is always better than telling! Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

wll where do we start,the host when we got there gave us his do.s and demands as i had no money on me and was going to pay on card that didnt happen so got a lecture which didnt need after 300 mile drive so had to make sure had it for breakfest great start was not offered any fruit juice first morning and had to ask for pot of tea twice we stayed in room 3 very dark the bed had a plastic under sheet on which caused a lot of sweating breakfast fine kirkcaldy a ghost town at night and we stayed there all weekend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith011, Owner at Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Mr Burnton, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay at my bed and breakfast. I wish you had said at the time so it would have given me a chance to rectify any issues you had, like the mattress protector on your bed it is there for a reason but it could have been removed if you had asked. If I was on one of your coaches and unhappy with something I would have said to you face to face to give the chance to rectify it. As for do's and don't I quite sure you would have them as well with people on your coach. As for making a demands, on the time you made your booking I informed you method of payment either credit card or cash and that full payment was required on arrival at that point you said you would pay by cash on arrival. I don't make demands on my guests I only ask if they would pay and if you ask somebody for something in my book that isn't demanding. Regards Keith Christie at Ashgrove Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed with 2 friends, and all 3 of us left very happy. Keith gave us a great welcome, and is a great host. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Superb breakfast and happy with the rooms. We'll be returning next time we visit Kirkcaldy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

lovely place to stay very quiet. central for town. keith the owner was most welcoming and funny. would have given it 5 * but thought rooms could have been updated with the decor. good value for money

Room Tip: room 2 very small and no loo room 3 or the family room the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flippertyjibbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed for 4 nights at this B and B, it was great. Keith is a wonderful host, lots of fun, good stories & conversation. The food was very good, traditional Scottish breakfast & omelette in particular.....although I'm not sure about haggis for breakfast. Clean, neat, good service. Everything about it was just what I needed. Good central location, access to bus station, park nearby. Lovely, thanks so much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
263 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
524 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast
Address: 213 Nicol Street, Kirkcaldy KY1 1PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashgrove Bed&Breakfast is a family run 3 star Visit Scotland listed bed and breakfast. We are central located to all amenities and travel 5 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashgrove Bed & Breakfast Kirkcaldy, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing