We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”
Review of The Glass House - CLOSED

The Glass House
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a quaint, petite Italian/ Scottish style restaurant located on North Street in St. Andrews. Right across the road from the famous St Salvadors Quad and Chapel we house a 40 cover restaurant that serves delicious Pasta dishes and the infamous Hand Stretched Pizza's (we are the only restaurant in St. Andrews that does this!). We also offer a bi-daily special that normally includes Seafood that we source locally, but we renowned for our Seafood Linguine. This smoked paprika white wine dish drives the locals and tourists mad with its fresh taste and excellent value for money. This venue is an ideal location for couples, families, tourists and students as we deliver an unrivalled service that shapes itself to your specific requests.
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The food and service were very good even when they were really busy and the young Australian waiter was very helpfull

Thank BobandBeth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMcCallum75, General Manager at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Bob and Beth,

Thank you very much for your great review. Our Ozzy waiters have been quite the hit with the customers and I'll make sure to pass on your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Laura McCallum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a great experience here - our party of ten was very impressed with the service, the food and the atmosphere. We were seated at the large downstairs table which was more spacious than the upstairs tables I have sat at once or twice before. The waiting staff are really excellent, very friendly and engaging and the food was great. We all had either pastas or meats so can't speak for the pizza, but the dishes we tried were very tasty. We were warned that there might be a wait of around thirty minutes for our food but the service was much faster than that with everything arriving together in fifteen minutes or less. Overall, very impressed and will hope to come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1992oscar1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMcCallum75, General Manager at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's great to hear you've enjoyed all aspects of your dining experience. As much as we are a smaller scale restaurant, we do enjoy being able to cater for larger tables looking to celebrate an occasion. I do believe that giving you the downstairs area not only creates the vision of extra space but it also gives you the feeling of having the restaurant to yourself. I will no doubt pass on every comment to the kitchen and floor team alike.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Many thanks,

Laura McCallum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

For £6.95 for the lunch menu you can't really complain.

BUT.

If you are going to try and present yourself as a classy place and charge £17.95 for a main in the evening, there is no excuse for using regular rice for a risotto and leaving it undercooked and using the same rice to stuff a "beef tomato" which was really a large everyday value tomato.

Hummus and guacamole are strange bedfellows on garlic bread and it was hard to see the connection to Scotland and France as a result.

The Australian staff are hoping to go Austria and work in a bar on the ski slopes.

We walked just under 6k and saw someone who looked like Arsène Wenger and a lot of body warmers out in the street.

Wouldn't rush back here and probably try a few other places in the area first. Tables are a bit cramped and there was a funny looking lady in turquoise sat near us,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RaRasputin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Best steaks in St Andrews. Phoned late Saturday afternoon on the off chance of getting a table. Managed to get in at five to take advantage of the great value early evening menu. As usual we were greeted by very friendly staff who always seem genuinely pleased to see you. The service was excellent, the food as usual was great and it never ceases to amaze me how they are able to provide such a choice of high quality food at reasonable prices. Salmon starter was excellent followed by delicious steaks cooked to perfection.
Cannot rate this Restaurant highly enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank valerie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMcCallum75, General Manager at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Valerie,

Thank you very much again for a fantastic review. It's great to hear back from you after every visit, and by the sounds of it, we never disappoint! It really is a pleasure to hear from you and I have no doubt we'll see you again soon.

Many thanks,

Laura McCallum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Visited for lunch today, disappointing to say the least. Very irritating waiter and the food was awful. Lentil soup to start was ok but the garlic chicken pizza was awful. Very dry and tasteless!

I will not be returning in a hurry. A shame as in the past The Glass House as always been good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cal205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMcCallum75, Manager at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi there. Thank you very much for your review. All feedback, whether good or bad, is very important to us, and we do very much appreciate it. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us yesterday. The garlic chicken pizza has been a great success on this menu and has proven very popular, so I can only apologise that it was not to your taste. As the manager in charge yesterday, it was never brought to my knowledge that a customer was not enjoying their meal. Had you mentioned it, I could have resolved the matter for you and replaced it with something more to your liking. I am also surprised to hear that you did not appreciate the service. Customer service, we believe, is as key to a dining experience as the food. We pride ourselves on being as helpful and efficient as we can, without being intrusive, so apologies if we did not get it right this time.

We do take all comments very seriously and I will address all the issues raised. Thank you for your review and hopefully you will return again. so we can prove to you that the Glass House is still the same place you remember from before.

Many thanks,

Laura McCallum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glass House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing