We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Lunch”
Review of The Glass House - CLOSED

The Glass House
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a quaint, petite Italian/ Scottish style restaurant located on North Street in St. Andrews. Right across the road from the famous St Salvadors Quad and Chapel we house a 40 cover restaurant that serves delicious Pasta dishes and the infamous Hand Stretched Pizza's (we are the only restaurant in St. Andrews that does this!). We also offer a bi-daily special that normally includes Seafood that we source locally, but we renowned for our Seafood Linguine. This smoked paprika white wine dish drives the locals and tourists mad with its fresh taste and excellent value for money. This venue is an ideal location for couples, families, tourists and students as we deliver an unrivalled service that shapes itself to your specific requests.
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Value Lunch”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Whilst visiting St Andrews for the day we popped into this restaurant for the fixed price lunch menu. (Currently 2 courses for £6.95) Luckily we had booked as we would not have got a seat otherwise. Looks like its a very popular place. The bacon and lentil soup served with home made bread was delicious as were the Pizza and Risotto main courses that we had. It is a very cosy place and perhaps that may be my only negative point as felt there were too many tables cramped into a small place. The staff are great and all of them are extremely helpful and very friendly but professional. Will go back next time we are visiting St Andrews again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    177
    63
    22
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oldham UK
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had Sunday lunch set meal, Kathy did not want the soup so an alternative was quickly offered.
The beef was just top class and tasty, imaginative vegetable selection with tasty roast potatoes.sticky toffee pudding to finish was delightful.
We have had the lunch time menu on previous visit and they are all great value
Staff are excellent and very attentive to you needs. Especially the young Polish waitress we had sieving us

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at The Glass House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks you for your kind review! Our Sunday roast has become really popular and we are very happy to receive this good feedback. I'm glad to hear that you are so pleased with out staff. We take great pride in trying to give the best service!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Scott Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited on a busy Saturday evening. Despite that the service was attentive and prompt. The food was very good and there is a good selection of wine by the glass if like us you wanted some white and red but did not want two bottles. Good cosy atmosphere. The Glass House is popular so book in advance as I have previously found it full even on an evening early in the week.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickJB0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMcCallum75, General Manager at The Glass House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Nick,

Thank you very much for your kind review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. I am glad you appreciated the choice of wines we have to offer, it's great to be able to allow the choice without making you feel like you must have to buy a bottle. Our great cosy nature and popularity of the restaurant does mean that booking in advance can/sometimes is essential. After all, we wouldn't want to turn you away!

See you again,

Laura McCallum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The food and service were very good even when they were really busy and the young Australian waiter was very helpfull

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobandBeth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMcCallum75, General Manager at The Glass House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Bob and Beth,

Thank you very much for your great review. Our Ozzy waiters have been quite the hit with the customers and I'll make sure to pass on your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Laura McCallum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a great experience here - our party of ten was very impressed with the service, the food and the atmosphere. We were seated at the large downstairs table which was more spacious than the upstairs tables I have sat at once or twice before. The waiting staff are really excellent, very friendly and engaging and the food was great. We all had either pastas or meats so can't speak for the pizza, but the dishes we tried were very tasty. We were warned that there might be a wait of around thirty minutes for our food but the service was much faster than that with everything arriving together in fifteen minutes or less. Overall, very impressed and will hope to come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1992oscar1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMcCallum75, General Manager at The Glass House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's great to hear you've enjoyed all aspects of your dining experience. As much as we are a smaller scale restaurant, we do enjoy being able to cater for larger tables looking to celebrate an occasion. I do believe that giving you the downstairs area not only creates the vision of extra space but it also gives you the feeling of having the restaurant to yourself. I will no doubt pass on every comment to the kitchen and floor team alike.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Many thanks,

Laura McCallum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glass House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing