We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food good price!”

Jahangir Balti & Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Jahangir, the award-winning tandoori restaurant set in the heart of St Andrews, where you will find the best of Indian cuisine combined with excellent service and a relaxed atmosphere.
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food good price!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have to say this restaurant is a great place In St Andrews! They give fine dining and prices are phenomenal. The food is exquisite and the waiters are very attentive! I love this place and will be coming more often!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    122
    32
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The biggest naan breads ever!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Delicious food, generous portions and helpful service. We have been to Jahangir two or three times now and it has been really good every time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Logo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“ok food but overpriced!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I'm a regular to St Andrews but this was my first time to this restaurant and it will also be my last. Food was ok but certainly not up to the standard of our local indian restaurant so I found it disappointing - lots and lots of sauce with limited meat; pakora poor; bhajis small; chapatis ok. All in all it was expensive and to me, did not represent good value for money. Staff were pleasant but sorry overpriced for distinctly average quality.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JML525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely evening out!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for the first time and we were not disappointed. The food was lovely, the staff friendly and there was a nice atmosphere. The food did take a while to arrive but it was worth the wait. We will definitely return when we visit st Andrews again.

Helpful?
Thank Bendysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice food but overpriced”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

St. Andrews is expensive (and we live in London!!!) This restaurant is no exception. The food was ok, the staff were very nice, but overall I thought we paid a lot in relation to my local Indian restaurant . Can't say I'd rush back at that price but the staff are worth five stars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenSpeedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jahangir Balti & Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

 
St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Jahangir Balti & Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing