We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice friendly restaurant”

Jahangir Balti & Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 141 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Jahangir, the award-winning tandoori restaurant set in the heart of St Andrews, where you will find the best of Indian cuisine combined with excellent service and a relaxed atmosphere.
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice friendly restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We enjoyed a meal here last Thursday evening. Currently it's bring your own alcohol until new alcohol licence in place(I believe) so that will help your pocket! Tasty meal,lots of photos on display of previous visiting celebrities!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tobyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    119
    32
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
155 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've written at least several reviews on this place and year after year, nothing changes. Excellent food coupled with friendly and efficient service. Hubby had his usual favourite, the Mulligatawny soup, and I had the Vegetable Pakoras - both were excellent. We shared the Chef's Special Curry and the Pathan Gost, with an order of Pilau rice and the naan bread. I could come here and order the naan bread as a meal - crazy delicious. Papadams are complimentary with this incredible onion chutney/relish concoction - hard to describe but you'll love it. Takeaway orders were as many as sit down reservations and the place was jammed as usual on a Saturday night. Do yourself a favour and make a reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Close to the best meal I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The food was very good. The service was excellent. The menu offers a wide choice. The interior decoration - especially the fish - is good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threecolouredy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Extensive menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hadnt booked , but 4 of us had a really nice meal here after a days golf. Staff were welcoming and food very tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Brilliant night had by all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Was at the Jahangir 3 weeks ago with friends and family and wasn’t disappointed , we tend to eat here every time we visit St Andrews. The food is always delicious and very good sized portions & all the waiters were very good with the kids bringing their food first. A great dining experience was had by all.
I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone who likes good quality food, can’t wait to return on our next visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jahangir Balti & Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

 
St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Jahangir Balti & Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing