We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting , beautiful home, really loved...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful setting , beautiful home, really loved our stay.”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

St Andrews is a great place to visit, beautiful historical buildings, beach and of course the golf course. Orchard Cottage is near enough to get to St Andrews with a short drive, also a couple of little villages nearby enough to walk. We had a 3year old with us who loved running around the Orchard area, playing ball. The facilities in the "cottage" are just fabulous, a lovely family friendly environment. The little extras on arrival, scones, jam and fresh eggs etc were greatly appreciated. Would definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lioneljb1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unrivalled Outstanding accommodation and hospitality - Orchard is unique”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Orchard Cottage provided us with outstanding accommodation, the photography understates the quality and beauty of this unique setting. We were so comfortable and Fiona and David are hosts who appreciate the values of "real hospitality". They were efficient from the time we booked and followed up with us prior to arrival and during our stay they could not have done more to ensure we were comfortable.

The orchard is beautiful and sitting on the patio is so tranquil. The proximity to St Andrews means you have the benefit of local shops, golf courses, pubs and restaurants combined with the soothing rural location.

The kitchen is fully equipped, all the utensils and great ovens, and we were the first to use the external barbecue.

If we were to compare Orchard Cottage to a hotel, the star rating would be five red stars, the exemplary hospitality is a lesson for the most luxurious hotels, and none can compete with the spectacular
location !!!

Don't think twice, if you find availability book Orchard Cottage.

Thanks Fiona and David for making our stay !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauramuir...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Girls weekend”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had an absolutely amazing time in St Andrews and would highly recommend the property to friends and family. Small touches of homemade scones and fresh laid eggs added to the cottage feel.

I would most definately visit the cottage again.

Laura

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dzy79
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best self catering cottage I've ever stayed in ”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A lot of effort has gone into converting this cottage into a luxury self catering holiday home. Beautifully decorated and set in a lovely location. Sitting on the patio enjoying the sunshine through the trees in the Orchard was just so relaxing.

Great location for access to St Andrews and many other activities.

The owners have gone to great efforts to add all those special touches that make such a difference over other self catering accommodation. Home made scones, freshly laid eggs from their farm, fresh bread, tablet and flowers.

Towels and toiletries are provided, plenty of crockery, glasses and all the other essential supplies. Bedrooms are nice. The bed in the smallest one is a bit on the small side but that's much only very minor criticism.

The attention to detail in the interior of the cottage is great, with its quality fixtures, up lighters in the long hallway and relaxing living space. I'd be happy with my own house looking like this!

I would stay here again without a doubt. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind words, this project was a very personal one, and it is so lovely to hear that all of the details were appreciated. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,
David and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GILLIAN K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Relaxation and luxury at the same time.”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The cottage is really fabulous, it is huge inside, finished to a high standard and really comfortable. The garden has apple trees and is massive, ideal to let kids run about or just sit and enjoy.
We were warmly welcomed by Fiona, she was wonderful. Its a really short drive from St Andrews town centre. I would recommend this cottage, it was great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Gillian,

Thanks for your lovely review! It's great to hear you had such a good stay, and we hope to be able to welcome you all back in the future.

All the best,
Fiona + David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartyGroh...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect country retreat in Fife”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Situated in a great countryside farming estate, Kincaple as an amazing renovation which is thoroughly welcoming and offers a lot of comforts for any party to enjoy.
The fittings and furniture inside are top of the range and make you really feel at home, which reflects the local area well.
With it's own orchard of various types of apple tree, there is a lot of space to explore and enjoy the fresh air, real happy place.

I'd recommend this stay for anyone, you wouldn't be disappointed whatever your stay is for, great location, great comfort and a £10 taxi ride from St Andrews (10 minutes).

Top hosting.

(As a new place, it can be difficult to find, but taking the turn off the main road at 'Fast & Fresh', the driveway can be found just ~100 metres up the road with a small sign on the right hand side)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy countryside retreat feel
Liked least: Slightly difficult for the taxi driver to find.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing