We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Port Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont St Andrews(St Andrews)
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardgowan Hotel(St Andrews)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$560
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
102
53
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
53
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge dressing areahalf baguettehuge ensuitedecent roomwhilst visiting our daughtersoup of the daycentral locationlovely choicegood sizecentral st andrewssized roomafter midnightspent one night heretea and coffee facilitiesset us up for the dayeasy walking distanceplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Recently had a work night out at the West Port. Great new menu with loads of choice even for a fussy eater like me! Pulled pork to die for. What made it even better were the lovely staff. Nothing was too much trouble, even dealing with our lot! Over all great night would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Many thanks Chelle for taking the time to give us a cracking review. I am so glad that the team helped to make your night a good one - hope we see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here with family for a wedding and was very impressed. Rooms are very well appointed including ironing board and iron which in many hotels you have to borrow. Very big and comfortable bed and lots of comp toiletries in the bathroom. Staff are extremely helpful ~Andy deserves a special mention for his welcome and ongoing attention during our stay.

Lovely garden terrace with wet weather awning and nice selection of food. Unfortunately I couldn't manage lunch because our breakfast was so big.
Bar is lively but civilised in the evening. One of the wedding guests told us Prince William spilled a pint of cider over his daughter in here which gives it an element of gentle celebrity/notoriety I suppose.

Also excellent value for money A real find!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumelarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Many thanks for giving us such a splendid review. It does mean a lot that our guests enjoy their stay with us and it is great to hear that your whole visit went so well. If you are ever in these parts again you know who to call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had eaten at the West Port before and always enjoyed it but this was the first time we had stayed. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable but the main thing about the whole experience was the very friendly and cheery staff. Everyone we met was so much fun and seemed truly to care what the guests thought. I highly recommend the West Port to parents who are dropping their sons and daughters off at University as a great place to stay right in the heart of St Andrews.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, We pride ourselves on customer care and are fortunate enough to have a whole staff team that cares! i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others!

We look forward to a return visit!

Many Thanks

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had to stay overnight at the West Port in St Andrews to allow me to meet up with a client at Aberdeen airport. The accomodation is 1st class. I was also very lucky to be entertained in-house by a lovely singer/guitarist by the name of Amy Rayner! It made the stay even more rewarding. Would recommend this 3 star hotel to anyone requiring a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Check out their web site!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hello,

Im so glad you enjoyed your stay here at West Port! We cater for a number of different customers and try to make everyone's stay memorable! Amy is fantastic and plays every second Wednesday from 8pm :)

We hope to see you again!

Many Thanks

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Read the reviews and looked good. Booking over the phone was easy and friendly - got the room we requested based on other reviews (3). All too easy we thought, something will let it down. But no, friendly and helpful service from the time we arrived to the time they served my 2nd cafe standard double espresso during the (rate included) breakfast. Only downside was the noise of the gulls at 5am. Nothing was too much effort and I'm sure if I'd mentioned the gulls then a hit man would have been dispatched or a rifle supplied. Seriously though, friendly service, cooked to order breakfasts and a large, fresh smelling room. Plus breakfast is served 7-11 and theres only 4 bedrooms - now that's customer service. We will be back.

Room Tip: Only minor downside was noise of the gulls outside. Not sure if that's standard for St Andrews or time of the year was worse. That said it was refreshing to begin the day at 5 rather than lie into 9.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelscot127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, Manager at West Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular your breaky! The gulls are a nuisance but come with the territory unfortunately however we have recently put up an artificial owl to scare them off so hopefully, should you return, you'll enjoy an uninterrupted sleep! :)

Thanks Again for your review

Rory Drummond
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews