We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morton of Pitmilly - luxury in Fife” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands
2 reviews
“Morton of Pitmilly - luxury in Fife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have just come home from a long weekend in one of the new houses in The Steading. What a wonderful place to stay . Great views ..loads of space ...huge bedrooms and a wonderful lounge area where you have uninterrupted views of the sea. Highly recommended ...will be booking another weekend soon as it went far too quickly .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nora312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    44
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
328
98
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

stayed for 4 nights midweek. haven't been there since 1993 but standards still high. felt cottage, the old diary, although well appointed, lacked " home comforts" enjoyed swimming pool and sauna and if you picked the right time you had the facilities to your self. cooked meals were excellent, especially the garlic chicken. only real criticism was the charge made for the electricity £30 for a 4 night stay and considering we were away from the cottage for a lot of the time on two of these days rather overpriced.

a&mt

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disgruntled746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our stay was really relaxing and the accommodation was first class, clean modern and had everything you need. It's just 7 miles from St Andrews so perfect to enjoy a break in St Andrews but have the luxury of a cottage instead of a hotel room. We had our dog and 23 month old so hotels aren't really ideal.
The play park was great for our son and the swimming pool was perfect. We enjoyed some of the frozen meals and can easily say they were delicious!
We would recommend Mortons to anyone looking for a relaxing and luxurious break away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had a lovely time with 3 of us mums and 5 kids in the Granary at Morton of Pitmilly. The house was very well equiped and clean. The kids enjoyed the pool, games room, football pitches and play area. Due to the glorious weather we spent most of our time outdoors enjoying the great weather in St Andrews. Having stayed at Morton several times before I am still impressed with the constant upkeep of the houses and the changes that are made to update it. I would recommend this holiday complex to anyone with young families or without! It is so quite and peaceful and the staff are so friendly. My only negative would be the electricity bill at the end. Fortunately we had turned off a lot of the storage heaters in preparation and the staff were very good at explaining this to us when we enquired. Looking forward to staying at the new complex being built next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Paid £450 for the Granary,sleeps ten.Very spacious and place in excellent order.Nice touch having bathrobes for the short trip to the swimming.Kids loved the pool,sauna and steam room and thats what makes the place so good.The young girl who seems to run the place was very helpful,showing us round, ordering papers and rolls and getting skysports on for the footie.Equipment is top notch and the place is very clean,we went into St Andrews for a meal and a taxi back was £18.All in all a great break,only downside id say was electricity is added to the bill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazmanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

had a delightful 4 night stay in The Old Dairy at Morton of Pitmilly. Our first visit but we'll be back especially as we had the place to ourselves so had uninterrupted use of the excellent facilities inc. the sauna/steam room and pool (didnt quite push myself to use the gym or the indoor tennis but they looked great!). Accommodation is fantastic, worth having the separate kitchen of The Old Dairy, and well equipped with some 'mod cons' e.g. ipod dock and home cinema etc. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Third visit (now done winter, spring and summer!). Excellent value 3 nights from 3 January. Great to be swimming and in the steam room when the storms were on outside! Even more surreal when we played on the new indoor tennis court in gale force winds and couldnt hear each other speak due to the vibration noices! - hugely enjoyable though. The wifi and other important developments keep it progressive and it is great to see investment in facilities like MoP in such challenging times.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watson1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
2.4 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
11.8 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

Property: Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Address: Kingsbarns, St Andrews KY16 8QF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning four and five star accommodation...and much more! Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is set in a stunning location just outside St Andrews, the home of golf, and a stone's throw from Kingsbarns Golf Links. It boasts fantastic sea views and is nestled close to the East Neuk of Fife's picturesque fishing villages. It is more than just award-winning four and five star accommodation - offering extensive leisure facilities and activities. Guests love the tranquil setting which combines space and privacy with first class accommodation, many returning for long or short stays throughout the year. Value for money, commitment to quality and exemplary customer service have led to our ongoing succes sover the years and a belief that we offer the most magical holiday experience in the area. Whether you are arranging a reunion, business workshop, golf trip, quiet weekend away, family gathering or an exclusive use venue for a wedding party, Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is the perfect location to stay, play and relax. Discover the magic of Morton of Pitmilly for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morton Of Pitmilly Hotel St. Andrews
Morton Of Pitmilly Countryside Resort St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing