We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We returned here after 5 years absence. What can I say? Still the most welcoming holiday cottages in Fife. We holiday in the east coast of scotland every November for a week. We combine a weekend with our grandsons and spend the other days Christmas shopping and in the evenings we relax.

Our Grandsons loved the playpark and the swimming pool and the games hall and putting.

We loved seeing them happy and enjoying the peace and quiet relaxing with a glass of wine while watching a hired DVD.

Morton of pitmilly continue to improve their accommodation and offer more at every visit.

We love it and will be returning next November.

Room Tip: Choose the cottage that suits, they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchickUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
342
106
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We visited for one week from 25th October, staying at Swallow Cottage, our first trip back for many years. Without doubt even better than we remembered, the owners have planned the cottages and facilities perfectly. We loved the cosy, clean, well equiped cottage, immediately outside the door are miles of walks around the farm, superb facilities for families (which we did not use as a more mature couple). Very much appreciated being able to take our little dog. Picking up our papers, milk, rolls etc. from the Pantry in the morning was a treat and Pitmilly eggs are a class above - loved seeing the chickens too!

In the wider area is the absolutely stunning Kingsbarns beach, fishing ports of Crail, Pitenweem, and Anstruther an of course St Andrews.

We loved it all and will certainly return as soon as we can.

Charlie & Joan Charlton

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A group of 6 of us, all friends from school, stayed at Meadowside for the weekend to celebrate our 40th birthday year. It was an excellent choice!

The "cottage" was huge and very well appointed. The downstairs had a huge open plan kitchen, dining, living area with all the amenities you'd need. Floor to ceiling windows gave us an amazing view across fields to the sea and alongisde was a patio with table and chairs to sit and soak up the early autumn sunshine. The photos online really don't do it justice!

Upstairs were 3 bedrooms made up as twin rooms (they'll make them up as doubles if required). Each one had it's own ensuite so there were no bathroom queues!

There's plenty to do on site - small swimming pool, croquet, tennis, etc, etc - but we used our "cottage" as a great base to visit St Andrews and the surrounding area. There's plenty to see/do in close proximity if you have a car (or are happy to do some walking).

I'd recommend Morton of Pitmilly to anyone who wants top class accommodation, a relaxing break and the chance to explore St Andrews or the surrounding area.We were looking for somewhere to chill out and catch up and Morton of Pitmilly was the perfect choice. Like staying in a 5* hotel but self catering!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but if you're the first in your party to arrive you can bag the room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripNaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Clusaz
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just had 4 nights in Bramble Bank and had a great time...it really is spot on - the email service beforehand, the welcome and the excellent facilities too.
We also loved the indoor tennis and Eileen who does the spa treatments is amazing - dont forget to book her in advance though - highly recommended!
Would love to go back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLaClusaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our breaking Farriers Cottage it was a home from home ,everything we could need was in the cottage and spotless. My husband being slightly disabled made good use of the pool which was next door to the cottage.Our spaniel Ellie and I loved the set asides and we have to come back as we still have more walks to cover. It would be a great place to bring our grandchildren to as there are lots of facilities for children. Millys pantry was well used so cooking was kept to a minimum good selection of first class dishes.. Staff very friendly and helpfull
We will be back. Thanks for a most enjoyable break

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in Cart Arch Cottage for an October Break. We are addicted to MOP and can't stop going back. It really does get better and better and better. The cottages are really well equipped and clean and the facilities wonderful. Over the years seeing deer and hares from the swimming pool has been amazing. It is also a perfect base for exploring Fife but to be honest once you get in you don't want to get out again. Can't wait for our next visit. A huge thank you to all the MOP staff who work so hard to make it such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairngirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Old Dairy cottage in August and were delighted with the quality and cleanliness of the cottage. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the surroundings are just wonderful. We had a fantastic break and left feeling very relaxed and refreshed.
When we had the opportunity to go back again a few weeks later, we jumped at the chance. Unfortunately, a couple of days before our planned trip, we were unable to make it due to circumstances beyond our control. The staff were very accommodating and even managed to move the booking back a week to allow our daughters to make use of it instead. Wonderful customer service which guarantees that we will be back time and time again.
I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Andrews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,148 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
5.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
487 reviews
11.7 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

Property: Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Address: Kingsbarns, St Andrews KY16 8QF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning four and five star accommodation...and much more! Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is set in a stunning location just outside St Andrews, the home of golf, and a stone's throw from Kingsbarns Golf Links. It boasts fantastic sea views and is nestled close to the East Neuk of Fife's picturesque fishing villages. It is more than just award-winning four and five star accommodation - offering extensive leisure facilities and activities. Guests love the tranquil setting which combines space and privacy with first class accommodation, many returning for long or short stays throughout the year. Value for money, commitment to quality and exemplary customer service have led to our ongoing succes sover the years and a belief that we offer the most magical holiday experience in the area. Whether you are arranging a reunion, business workshop, golf trip, quiet weekend away, family gathering or an exclusive use venue for a wedding party, Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is the perfect location to stay, play and relax. Discover the magic of Morton of Pitmilly for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morton Of Pitmilly Hotel St. Andrews
Morton Of Pitmilly Countryside Resort St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing