We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinnettles Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Vardon House(St Andrews)
View Hotel
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hazelbank Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
533
48
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
533
48
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolbramble bankputting greenthe cottagesindoor tennis courtfrozen mealstable tennisnature trailplay parkgames roomfresh eggsfirst classsauna and steam roomgreat facilitiesself cateringhigh standardfamily holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just returned from the best 1st family holiday ever! We stayed in The Doocot Apartment which was a perfect size for us. Our baby is 8 months old. The swimming pool was perfect for his first swim, he totally loved the water. It was great because the pool never gets over busy either!

Our apartment had one bedroom with a sofa bed in the living area. We live in Edinburgh City Centre and it was lovely to wake up without the sound of cars and buses going by the flat, all we heard were birds or nothing (except our baby!)

The apartment was equipped with everything you could possibly need, although some things do need replaced, for example; oven gloves and the high chair was dirty when we received it, there is also a charge for this, which we weren't told about. We queried the charge and it was removed instantly which we appreciated.

Be aware though that the cots that they provide have to be made up from scratch, we were surprised at this, as most places tend to use modern travel cots.

We ordered eggs, papers and rolls most mornings, it would be good if they provided bacon as well for the odd bacon roll! We found a fab farmers shop close by, think the name was Balgove Larder.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and were always about if we had any questions.

Next time we visit we will make more use of the activity centre, hard to do so with a small baby to entertain!!

Would definitely recommend visiting here, I feel that more families should know of its existence, alot of our friends had never heard of it. Hidden Gem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghCouple_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortonofPitmilly, Front Office Manager at Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that your first family holiday was such a positive one. We take pride in trying to make every guest’s stay here a wonderful and memorable experience.

You will also be pleased to know that we have recently taken delivery of some brand new modern travel cots.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

John Carmichael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have now stayed at most properties in the courtyard over the past few years. On this occasion we stayed at the Mill Loft which is more spacious and has better views from the dining room/lounge. MOP has become our favorite short break, its ideal for young families, we have two young children and we see our self's returning every year. We love it our 3 1/2 year old calls MOP "the holiday home" it ticks all the boxes, we have not come across anywhere with all MOP has to offer but quiet and peaceful at the same time. This is high praise from my opinion of the world being to big to visit the same place on holiday more than once.

Room Tip: this isn't in my best interest for booking the cottage i want but the Doocot and Old Dairy are the best one bed room cottages. the other are good but these two have a bit more space and have a better layout.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOB0757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed in the Doocot this June, just the 2 of us, first time without our family. Lovely and relaxing and accommodation very spacious. Staff very welcoming as always, and we were lucky with the weather. Was a great base for doing parts of the Fife coastal path (Kingsbarns to St Andrews), and Elie. Enjoyed Jannetta's ice cream, available on site. Used the pool, sauna and steam room a few times, and had the place to ourselves! Rolls and paper delivered daily made for a lazy breakfast before heading out. Had planned on using the gym at night but we were so relaxed, chose instead to sit out on patios in the sun with wine and kindles. Fab. Definitely would return - had thought we may have outgrown the resort (have been about 10 times before, as large group taking over 3 houses, or family of 4 over past 15 years) but were pleasantly surprised that it adapts with you, and you can make each stay whatever you want it to be. Yes there are less expensive properties around but you do get what you pay for, and that's quality, and a guarantee that you will enjoy your stay, and plan a return! Ten out of ten to Eilidh and staff

Room Tip: Farriers cottage is good for flexibility and has 2 patio areas at both sides, and has views of swimming pool. Cart arch also good. Old dairy and Doocot good if just the 2 of you. Not tried the brand new steadiness yet, but did have a tour and they look fab
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When my Daughter and now Son in Law decided they wanted to be married in St Andrews I set about trying to find accommodation for the immediate family to stay as I did not want to be stuck in a hotel room for 3 nights having to call room service every time we wanted a cup of tea. A colleague from work mentioned Pitmilly and as soon as I looked at The Steading online it looked exactly what I was looking for. We travelled up to St Andrews from Edinburgh approximately 18months prior to the Wedding and fell in love with everything.....I provisionally booked all 16 Bedrooms there and then. We were in touch with Catherine several times prior to the event and found her so organised. I asked if she could arrange for milk to be delivered into all of the apartments for our guests....not a problem. We arrived on the Friday for the Wedding on the Saturday and everybody just fell in love with the whole site. When the hairdresser and make up girl arrived in the morning the huge space in the living area worked well allowing them to pamper myself, Daughter and three Bridesmaids. The large American style fridge and Wine cooler was well used and as our weather was just fabulous we were able to have breakfast on the terrace. There were 34 of us in total in the group including a couple and baby from Denmark and I received so many Thank you cards following the event ......all I did was book it. Wonderful Accommodation, Wonderful Facilities, Wonderful Staff. Only thing is it is quite difficult to find and no signpost from the Crail road.....easy one you know how.. I wish we could do it all over again....maybe for the 1st Anniversary....LOL

Room Tip: The Steading Block works well for a Wedding party or large Family event as if you book it all out you do not have any neighbours to consider and can move from apartment to apartment very freely. This block is a U shape facing the sea and gets morning sun which was lovely. We didn't use any sporting facilities.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just come back from a stay at Morton of Pitmilly. Our whole group of 12 fell in love with the place. All the staff we met were welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was perfect - comfortable, spacious, all the mod cons, free wifi etc Great for larger groups to get together. We used the pool, putting green, indoor tennis and got out of a few walks around the gorgeous grounds and nature trails. The resort was fully booked during our stay, yet it was tranquil, peaceful and relaxing with loads of things to do. We are in the midst of planning our next trip back already!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73Penelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews