We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastically friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastically friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My brother and I were lucky enough to pay a flying visit to John and Eilidh last week as we were interested in the history of the place and what they had managed to achieve there. We felt so welcome and John took time out of his day to show us round what is a very beautiful venue with incredible views of the surrounding field with the sea behind.

We wish you all the best in your endeavours and hope you go from strength to strength!!

All the best,

Gavin and Bruce

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GavyBarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    44
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
328
98
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dromore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

10 consecutive years @ Morton's of Pitmilly. Superb facilities-swimming pool, tennis,walks on the farm.Doocot self catering ideal for small numbers. Eilidh and staff are excellent, efficient & friendly.
Convenient to St Andrews for golf.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortonofPitmilly, Business Administrator at Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

It's always great to see guests returning year after year! We certainly appreciate such postive comments about our staff too. It's not just our job but also our pleasure to ensure everyone has a wonderful stay.

Looking forward to seeing you for 11 consecutive years and beyond.

John Carmichael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Driving down the quaint one lane country road we weren't sure what to expect - but what a jewel jumped out at us when we arrived. The in ground trampoline was a big hit with the grandchildren as well as the tennis courts,putt-putt course, indoor pool, sauna and steam room. We enjoyed fresh eggs from the chickens of Morton Pitmilly for breakfast. The staff was very helpful. Perfect location just outside of St. Andrews.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Doocot unit which was a nice unit for the four of us and was close to the laundry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our 1st stay and it certainlly won't be our last. It was great accommodation in the Beechwood finished to a very high standard. The peacefulness and views over the fields was lovely too. It was also very easy to drive to St Andrews and also to Anstruther for the famous fish n chips. We also had brilliant weather when we were they which was an added bonus. Our Grandson who is nearly 10 yrs old made friends with the children staying in the adjoining property which made his holiday better too. He as we did enjoyed the mini golf, swimming pool, tennis court and play area.
Great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldofnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortonofPitmilly, Business Administrator at Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks very much for your review. It's always great to see such positive feedback from new guests. Lovely to hear that your grandson made friends with the other children too. We are so pleased that your first time was a great one!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

John Carmichael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Located about 15 minutes from St Andrews, this is a lovely collection of converted farm buildings and new build apartments & cottages in a rural setting. Loads of nice walking around the fields (working crop fields), tennis, swimming and anything outdoorsy. Easy access to St Andrews.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at MoP for the third time and we enjoy it more each time. It is so relaxing and peaceful with so many activities for us all on the doorstep. The Beechwood was perfect and had everything we needed .We will certainly be back x x

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sheena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have been to Morton of Pitmilly loads of times over the years and have never been disappointed.The accommodation is of a very high standard and the facilities are fantastic.Used the new badminton court this year and survived to tell the tale.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
2.4 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
11.8 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort

Property: Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
Address: Kingsbarns, St Andrews KY16 8QF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning four and five star accommodation...and much more! Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is set in a stunning location just outside St Andrews, the home of golf, and a stone's throw from Kingsbarns Golf Links. It boasts fantastic sea views and is nestled close to the East Neuk of Fife's picturesque fishing villages. It is more than just award-winning four and five star accommodation - offering extensive leisure facilities and activities. Guests love the tranquil setting which combines space and privacy with first class accommodation, many returning for long or short stays throughout the year. Value for money, commitment to quality and exemplary customer service have led to our ongoing succes sover the years and a belief that we offer the most magical holiday experience in the area. Whether you are arranging a reunion, business workshop, golf trip, quiet weekend away, family gathering or an exclusive use venue for a wedding party, Morton of Pitmilly countryside resort is the perfect location to stay, play and relax. Discover the magic of Morton of Pitmilly for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morton Of Pitmilly Hotel St. Andrews
Morton Of Pitmilly Countryside Resort St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing