We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Hangover”
Review of Zest

Zest
Ranked #46 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Good vegetarian/vegan options and can cater for Gluten Free diets. We serve speciality coffee with 2 choices of espresso roast and fully trained Baristas. We are a local and independent training cafe. We help to support people facing barriers to employment or with additional needs by providing a friendly, inclusive workplace to learn and develop :)
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Year Hangover”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nipped in for lunch on the 2nd Jan for a winter warming bite to eat. Two of the three soup's advertised were available, which were warm & satisfactory.
Sandwiches & Panini's were also available from the self service fridge, limited in range probably because of the time of year?

There was something missing here, service was average, tables were slow in being cleared, menu was limited, and the overall feeel was of a New Year Hangover.

Lacking in 'Zest' I think is the best way to describe our visit, but giving the owners the benefit of the doubt I believe the New Year celebrations had caught up on this establishment....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSausageRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thankyou for your comments. Glad that you found your soup satisfying! Jan 2nd is always a difficult one for businesses in this area as there is no public transport at all. We have to run on a limited choice and staff as people simply cannot get in to work!! We make as much as possible in the morning however its a very busy day... we do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    39
    9
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not a great place for Lunch”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stopped off here because it looked busy and the counter looked interesting. Not a good experience as the two baked potatoes we had seemed very instant and only just warm, the salad a poor mix of something and the hot chocolate seemed very thin and instant. Coffee was reported by our group to be OK

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank howardeawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thankyou for your comments, we always use all feedback to improve our training on any issues raised.
Regarding your potatoes, it is usual for these to be served quickly as the staff listen to your order whilst you are at the till ordering and start making immediately. From your comments i have reviewed with everyone to ensure that they are not putting them on to bake too early, however after checking temperature records for that day they were 64C which whilst the recommended temp may be too cool for some people so have changed that. I have also retrained on making Hot Chocolate to make sure that everyone is making a consistent product. We use an excellent quality 40% cocoa content product and should never have tasted thin or watery... so i apologise if this was not made to usual standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Saturday lunchtime, 2 'ladies doing lunch' think, "we'll have a go here". I have been in nicer and better quality, cleaner and far fiendlier greasy spoon caff's than this. We decided on Soup & a Sandwich each and a soft drink. Rudely pointed at the fridge to get our drinks, the sandwiches were really nothing special and the soup was barely warm. The tables were dirty and uncleared, the door to the loo was smeared with something not-very-pleasant, the floor was filthy. I won't be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thankyou for your comments, although not constructive i am certain that they bear little resemblance to our cafe. Having taken your comments seriously I have investigated by talking to customers who were present on saturday lunch and all my staff members however it has proved difficult to match your picture with theirs. I also find it difficult to believe that the cafe was " dirtier than a greasy spoon" when i had been in not 3 hrs earlier to a clean tidy cafe which had been completely deep cleaned 2 days previously. You will see from other recent reviews that your experience is not typical or representative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy cafe with giant coffee”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Popped in for an early lunch with a friend. The cafe is lovely and warm, which is especially welcoming with cold temperatures outside. The regular size coffee was absolutely huge, very good value for money! I had the jacket potato with roasted vegetables and feta which was very tasty - the only constructive criticism I have would be for the topping to be more generous, and for it to be served hot. Our meal was served promptly by friendly staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreeSpirit246246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thankyou for your feedback, sorry to hear that you would have liked more toppings.. our team are always more than happy to help & if there is something to improve upon we will make every effort to do so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice stop for afternoon cuppa”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

stopped by with some of my elder family here today and will happily return for more coffee, tea and going by one of the party's scone, one of those or another cake from the selection. It is a nice warm relaxing place to stop and the staff are happy to help, clear and clean tables and make the stay comfortable. I don't mind paying up front either; if it was me I'd do the same.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaZest, Owner at Zest, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thankyou for your review! Feedback is so valuable to us for our improvement. If you liked the scones, then you will love what we are doing for St Andrews day on 30th November. We are going all out on the traditional Scottish Homebaking, with Traditional Homemade soups and our now famous Haggis Stovies!! We'd love to see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zest also viewed

St Andrews, Fife
St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Zest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing