We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montague Guest House
Ranked #12 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best B&B in Town”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Have stayed in many establishments and would recommend Montague Guest House. My room was very spacious, with a large bathroom and the breakfast was the best I've ever had. Gillian and Andrew were very welcoming and helpful. The location is perfect with everything in walking distance. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
40
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stewartsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was our second visit and the hospitality and helpfulness keep on our list of favorite B&B's at home and abroad. We toured Scotland this time and found none better in terms or quality of service, food, accomodation and overall welcoming.
We will certainly recomend it to any traveler - golfer or non.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruille en Champagne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have stayed at Montague House many times over the last few years, and always look forward to our next visit. Andrew's breakfasts are delicious (particularly the smoked haddock and cheese omelette), and the rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Gillie is knowledgeable and informative about the local area, and always welcoming. We have stayed elsewhere in St Andrews, but nowhere else has come up to the high standard set by Montague House. Can't wait to return in September!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineH914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I recently visited St Andrews with my partner and had the fortune of stumbling accross this quality establishment. Only a stone's throw away from the world famous Old Course, this really is a place for all golfers and sighteers alike.

We were looked after as if we were part of the family, greeted with a warm reception upon our arrival and shown to our en suite room (decorated to a very high standard), our bottle of champagne whisked away for safe keeping in the fridge then given advice on where to dine in this sleep little seaside city. Gillian and Andrew's flawless hospitality should come as no surprise, both of whom have worked at the pinnacle of their profession for many, many years... and it's the first time I can say I've had my breakfast cooked by a Master Chef!

We shall return same time next year! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed for one night and that was enough to make a lasting impression, what a great guest house, warm welcome, clean room, great full Scottish breakfast served with a friendly smile, and a few minutes walk from the first tee of the Old course , what more do you need when visiting the home of golf. Would highly recommend and can't wait to visit again ......many thanks to Andrew & Gillie for their hospitality

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwoodward90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed for one night, in the single room (Room 7). Though at the top of the building, it was not too arduous to get there. The room was very fresh indeed, with a beautiful ensuite attached. The shower was great! If fault was to be found in the room, it was only that the material on the chair arms was well worn. Apart from that, it was almost perfect. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. Though I would always like things to be cheaper, £55.00 was pretty good value. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deauville-biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I ahve stayed in several guest houses in St Andrews over the last couple of months, and I have found that the Montague Guest House is by far the best.
Th value is superb, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the entire house is exceptionally clean and the breakfast is all you require for the entire day.
Thoroughly recommeded.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
307 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montague Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague Guest House

Property: Montague Guest House
Address: 21 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Montague Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montague Guest House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing