We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your picky, need comfort and style than don't miss this one......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montague Guest House
Ranked #13 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If your picky, need comfort and style than don't miss this one......”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

1st my thanks goes to Gillie and Andrew for all the work they do to make this "spot" so inviting,
comfortable, delicious, luxurious (Scotish style) and quiet. The linens, table cloths, food and most importantly comfortable devine beds and linens. Great pillows, ultra clean throughout
and good storage space, spacious rooms (2 of them extra large) and a true St. Andrews feel.

Is it about golf, mostly, there is good safe storage for the clubs/bags etc away from the room,
which is nice, Andrew's food was the most delicious on the trip and we miss it. The lovely china
served in the mornings, the friendly people from all over the world and so interesting. It's all
good, it's higly referrable and you are absolutely in the Center of things. Everything is walkable.

You don't even need a car. You can arrange transportation to St. Andrews, Andrew can help
you with private and commercial drivers, they can also pick you up and deliver you to any course and back, just ask Andrews and Gillie.

So hope this is helpful, it's a small B & B, but all you need in this beautiful, quaint village.

Room Tip: Ask Andrew, there are 2 large spacious rooms. The front upper is huge and high ceiling and bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiiportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
38
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quaker Hill, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We were delighted by the friendly and informative hosts, Andrew and Gillie. Andrew made tasty breakfasts to order each morning. It was a perfect location for an easy walk to the golf courses or picking up the golf bus right in front of the house. Rooms were clean and comfy. Dining room and sitting room were well appointed with access to hot tea, coffee and biscuits all day. There were four of us and we would definitely stay here again in the future.
A very good value for such personalized service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed for a week with a friend whilst participating in a golf tournament at St Andrews. Was very impressed with the value.
1. Great location, which is incredibly convenient for golf at St Andrews (if you can get a parking space near the hotel just walk to the course each day - its a great way to start the day). Also close to all the shops, bars and restaurants.
2. Very friendly owners who can help out if you want golf organising
3. Good sized room (we each had a weeks worth of kit and it was plenty big enough), with exellent shower. Only slight negative was bed being a little soft but that's a matter of personal taste.
3. Very good breakfast, in a lovely dining room.
Overall would thoroughly recommend as a good base for golf in St Andrews.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoda19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed on Saturday 11th August with my fiancee. Arrived at around 4pm to a very warm welcome at the front door by the owner who greeted me by my name. He showed us to our room, advised where everything was located in the room and explained breakfast arrangements. The room was big, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was very modern with a large shower box. There was ample space to store all clothing for longer stays as well. The hot and cold breafast selection was fantastic, much better than can be expected from many large organisations. There was a selection of fruit and cereals and a choice of cooked breakfasts. Service was always with a smile and the cooked breakfasts were delivered without prompt moments after arriving at the table. The guest house also has a fantastic location. Minutes form the beach and minutes from the town centre. Great value for money and the breakfast was included in the price. Will stay here again in a heartbeat next year.

David

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night as in town for a wedding. Checked in just after 3 and was promptly greeted by our friendly host, shown the facilities and then up to our room. We stayed in room 6, right up at the top. Was a lovely clean and fresh room. The bed was huge and comfy. Bathroom was a little small but it served our needs and was lovely and clean. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, I had the scrambled egg and salmon and my boyfriend had the full breakfast. Both of us almost cleared our plates. A good range of fruit and cereals is also available. Overall a lovely place to stay and if we're back in st Andrews again I'd say we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We were greeted with warmth the minute we arrived. Gillian and Andrew went out of their way to make our stay first class. Andrew helped our group land a 12 o'clock tee time on the Old Course...a dream come true for our golfers! The rooms were quite comfortable, but small. The location was perfect as you could walk to everything. Wonderful breakfasts...even offered french toast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyhead57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

best breakfast and service that I seen in a long time.
you feel like you are one in the family. perfect place, only a wedge away for a the action and courses

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grodlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Andrews
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Andrews
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montague Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague Guest House

Property: Montague Guest House
Address: 21 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Montague Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montague Guest House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing