We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Stravithie Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stravithie Castle
Ranked #28 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I rented the barn which is In the grounds,it is clean modern also very quiet with great views of the woodland,next door to the barn is other old out buildings,which are home to two lovely ferrel cats,after a couple of days of leaving ham out for them we had them coming to the back door to be fed,they knew the sound of the fridge opening,st Andrews is a five minute drive,we will rent this property again .all you need for a perfect week is plenty of ham for the two cats,we saw foxes,rabbits,bats,the odd kestrel it. Is a lovely let,you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfgod71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We (myself and three friends) only spent one night at Stravithie, but it was absolutely fantastic. David and Renata were so lovely and went out of their way to make sure that we made the most of our stay. I would definately return (this time with a car!!), and recommend staying here to anyone. The countryside around is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
331 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent two nights at Stravithie recently and just adored the castle. Renata and David were charming and helpful hosts and the accommodation took our breath away from the moment we entered the building. The short-term rentals are down below but spacious with high ceilings (very high) and lovely French doors to the lawn area and gardens beyond. There are small patio tables and chairs for each unit outside overlooking a stream and the neighbouring fields and forest. The rooms themselves are wonderfully, tastefully furnished with a mixture of old and new and the bed was fantastically huge and comfortable. Breakfast foods are provided to you in your little kitchen, which has everything you need and the table is beautifully set with china and glassware. Breakfast is continental and includes meats and cheeses as well as cereals and breads, yogurt, fruit, etc. We could have stayed a week! (and perhaps one day will....). Everything was exquisite and charming - wonderful pictures on the walls - but remember this is an old place! The floors creak and are crooked here and there. Appreciate the antiquity! On getting there: David advised me that there was no car rental in St. Andrews, that the nearest was Dundee, so we did not bother with a car. We trained to the closest train stop, Leuchars and from there it is an easy bus ride into the village, with many #99 buses available. From the town, take an X60 or X58 (check the schedule; it confused us the first time) to the estate and tell the driver that you want off just before Dunino school, at the big gates on the right. The walk up the driveway is gorgeous, under a canopy of old trees. Because we left so early in the morning upon departure, we cabbed it to the station and it only took 15 minutes or so - easy. I can't wait to go back. (Be aware that Stravithie does not take credit cards.)

Room Tip: Longer-term stays are available in the "turret" part of the restored castle, four- room ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greve, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

On our way back from Inverness to Edinburgh, we stopped for one night at this castle.
I had read somewhere that Prince Charles and Camila had stayed her, but that is NOT true. The lady of the manor was very surprised when I told her what I had read on the internet.
The owners are very friendly. Yes, the floors are old but the stains are patina. How can you expect spotless floors in a OLD kitchen. If you want spotless - go to the Hilton or somewhere like that.
For breakfast there were: yogurts, fresh fruits, marmalades, butters, small round crackers (knækbrød), soft slices of brown bread and soft slices of whitebread. There were small packages with cereals, a tray with slices of two types of cheese and slices of ham and salami. There were a jug of milk and a jug of juice. And of course powdered coffee and tea.
I cannot see how anybody can complain of that.
We couldn't eat it all, so we made a couple of sandwiches which we ate later on, on our continued trip to Edinburgh.
Yes, it had a little bit of the smell which old buildings have. If your house was as old, it would have the same smell. It is all part of the charm.
As we travelled 2x2 Adults, we had the cellar to ourselves. It was very peacefull, and the view was stunning. We would have loved to stay for one more night, but it was not in our itinerary.
If I were to travel in that part of Scotland again, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frick, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our stay in Stravithie was great! We didn't have a room - it was more a big apartment. We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful castle. My son loved his big room with own TV ;)
We stayed in different castles in scotland but this is one of the best. I can totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyaneAiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This beautiful old castle is in a wonderful, peaceful natural setting just a few minutes drive from St. Andrews. Our room had been converted into an apartment in the 1950's and had a wonderful, vintage bath and two bedrooms with comfortable beds, antiques, and high ceilings. In the kitchen, the table was set for breakfast and we were provided with juices, butter, jam, breads, milk cereal etc. each day. David Charmers the host was quite friendly and we greatly enjoyed talking to time and walking a bit around the estate. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Everything was clean and the towels and bedding were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Staying in an old castle may not be everyone's cup of tea, but we thoroughly enjoyed every moment at this unique property. David, the owner, is a wealth of information about the castle so make certain you get into a conversation and see the public rooms. Certainly not a "typical" B&B, it has a separate entrance for the rooms. We stayed in the cellar in the old kitchen which was delightfully large and had a door which opened into the garden overlooking a stream. We saw a room upstairs which had a full sitting room and amazing views over the countryside. The ensuites are nothing special but the experience is what you're there for. You can go for walks throughout the area as it is on many acres. HIGHLY recommended if you enjoy a different sort of experience!
Definitely a delightful experience with a delightful host!

Room Tip: We LOVED the old kitchen in the cellar with original flooring from the 1600's....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papillon2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Andrews
6.0 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
10.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
474 reviews
7.4 mi away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#3 of 73 in St Andrews
97 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stravithie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stravithie Castle

Property: Stravithie Castle
Address: Stravithie, St Andrews KY16 8LT, Scotland (Formerly Stravithie Country Estate)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stravithie Bed and Breakfast Accommodation Type: Bed and Breakfast. 3 comfortable double/twin bedrooms with bathrooms. Continental breakfast. WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stravithie Castle St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing