We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Carron Cottage
Ranked #23 of 77 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our daughter was at University in St Andrews between 2006 and 2010. When we first arrived we did not know how busy a place St Andrews was and, as we had not booked anywhere, Cupar was the nearest place we could find accommodation. As we knew we'd be backwards and forwards several time a year we looked on the internet and found Little Carron Cottage and when we stayed for the first time we knew we had found an absolute gem. We have not considered staying anywhere else since.

Linda and Jim are so welcoming and accommodating. Nothing is too much trouble. It has been a great pleasure knowing them for this past 8 years. We have just returned from Little Carron Cottage after celebrating our daughter's wedding in St Andrews and we were treated to the same first-rate accommodation that we experienced during Philippa's time at University.
We always stay in the Swilcan Suite because of the great flexibility it offers. The Eden suite is next to the Swilcan with a connecting door which can be used for family groups. Both suites are absolutely lovely - spotlessly clean, really comfortable and surrounded by beautiful gardens.
There is access to a private patio from the Eden Suite, where we sat and enjoyed the birdlife, squirrel and surroundings. My son stayed in the Kiness Room and it really is as good as it looks on the photos. Breakfasts at Little Carron are simply delicious. There is just so much choice. All tastes and appetites are catered for. We can definitely recommend the cooked breakfasts. They certainly set you up for the day.

Apart from the superb accommodation, I was particularly looking forward to walking along Lade Braes into the centre of St Andrews. It's a really pleasant and quiet walk if you have the time. Takes about 20-30 minutes depending on your speed but it's like stepping out into the countryside surrounded by birdsong and the sound of the burn and the wind in the trees.
Thank you so much Linda and Jim for making our times in St Andrews, and our very happy celebration just recently, so wonderful! You haven't seen the last of us!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaAllison, Owner at Little Carron Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your great review. We've enjoyed having you to stay over the years and were delighted when all the family returned recently for Philippa & Vin's wedding. What a lovely day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely B and B. Linda and Jim are perfect hosts and the accommodation was first class, spacious, very clean and what a comfortable bed!! We thoroughly enjoyed our cooked breakfasts, great choice and cooked. to order We would recommend Little Carron to anyone and hope to return soon, but will stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Swilcan Suite which was really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsheEllon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaAllison, Owner at Little Carron Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed meeting you and hope you will be able to return in the future. Enjoy your family celebration later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having read all previous reviews we have to totally agree with them all.
This really is the best of the best guest houses we have ever stayed in.
Very welcoming hosts, wonderful clean, quiet accommmodation. Very comfy bed and excellent delicious breakfast. Perfect off street parking, lovely outside area and garden. There's a lovely walk along the river into St Andrews. Unfortunately our visit was cut short as we had a problem at home so had to leave early. We really hope to return and complete our stay a.s.a.p. Only problem is as this is such a little gem the more people find out about it the less likely is they will have availability for us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1mapfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaAllison, Owner at Little Carron Cottage, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your great comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a shame you had to return home a day early. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denby Dale
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was a lovely stop over place to stay, just outside St Andrews centre. A friendly welcome, the room was very large with windows to the front and back gardens, private parking. A lovely large bathroom, double sinks, toilet, bath with shower over. Extra large comfortable bed. All very clean 5* accommodation and service. Generous first class breakfast, would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Excellent large rooms and private parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for 2 glorious nights whilst having a first taste of golf at St Andrews. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay, lovely couple, very accommodating, Jimmy even allowed my friend his golf clubs so he didn't have to hire them (no improvement in handicap though!!). The rooms and breakfast ( local produce) were the perfect start to the day and reception room was a great place to hang out prior to going out. We are planning to return very soon which indicates how good the cottage is.
John, Willie, Mattie & Simon

Room Tip: Stay at the rear as view of garden is exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in. Warm and welcoming hosts, Linda and Jim, not only provide two beautiful suites but also provide helpful area and golf information. The pictures online do not do justice to the charm and spaciousness of the house, rooms, and garden. The bed in our suite was very comfortable. Breakfast was scrumptious and served in a beautiful room.

Room Tip: There are two suites available, each has its advantages. The "Swilcan" has a kitchenette w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_and_Pam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 on a cycling trip of Fife, this is the best B&B we've ever stayed in so comfortable and spacious, especially appreciated the French windows to the garden as the temp was 25-30c . The breakfasts were superb best porridge of the trip, bread and fresh fruit from nearby farm. Lot's of local info given and we didn't want to leave!.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fort0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#7 of 77 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 77 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.8 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Carron Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Carron Cottage

Property: Little Carron Cottage
Address: Little Carron Cottage Little Carron Gardens, St Andrews KY16 8QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Carron Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Little Carron Cottage St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing