We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Atmosphere”

Playfair's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$44
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Playfair's is one of the oldest established restaurants in St Andrews and continues to offer great value for high end casual dining in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. All our food is freshly prepared with ingredients from local independent businesses wherever possible. Our dishes are created in house by our experienced chefs led by Head Chef Duncan McLachlan. Duncan's skills were refined at Gleneagles before he joined Playfair's last year, and we now have three highly trained Gleneagles chefs. To complement the food there is a tempting wine list with great choices offered at reasonable prices. We also serve a wide selection of beers including more unusual choices such as a St Andrews Ale and our very own Playfair's Ale Our day menu is available from12 noon in the restaurant and bar and offers dishes for a casual meal such as Bookmaker Sandwiches and Highlander Steak Burgers as well as homemade soup and fresh salads. Alongside this, the brand new lunch menu, served until 6pm in the restaurant, offers a choice of delicious dishes for a fixed price of £12.95 for two courses and £14.95 for three. The A La Carte menu, served from 6pm, has a range of dishes from prime steaks served with chunky hand cut chips and local mussels in a spiced tomato sauce to more exotic daily specials which celebrate the best in seasonal produce. Children can enjoy their own exciting menu, also prepared from fresh ingredients, in both Playfair's restaurant and bar. Join us in Playfair's and enjoy good food as it should be.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local Atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

First food in Scotland - fish and chips, of course. Ate in the bar area. Service was efficient and friendly. Even though the fish and fries needed draining a bit more, they were good. Presentation was unique.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnybrook8809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    227
    44
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Level Contributor
155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We are having friends come to visit and having looked down the trip advisor top 10 we found this restaurant there but we did not know it so we gave it a try last Saturday. One only problem is parking as double yellow lines in front .
We were met and shown to our table. Service was good. The menu had some unusual choices . The food was good . The wine was slightly pricey but quite acceptable . Overall good experience with a sensible price . We will go again .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
242 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Another good St Andrews restaurant”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

St Andrews has so many good restaurants and this is one of them. It seems that restauranteurs in St Andrews have really figured out how to cater to a clientele that is an assortment of discerning Scots, international golfers and international parents of St Andrews students. This restaurant is in that group. The food is simple but well prepared, staff are knowledgeable and helpful and wine list is good. I'd add this restaurant to the list worth visiting if you're in St Andrews

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank InLondonAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stumbled upon this small intimate restaurant, but found the service, choices and atmosphere to be just perfect for a nice lunch while in St. Andrews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Some mistakes but the service made up for it”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I went there with my family to celebrate my graduation. It was the first night of the new menu which possibly counted towards the mistakes that happened over the course of the meal. Of the 5 starters we ordered, mine (the scallops) was 15 minutes late due to a 'mix up' in the kitchen. When it finally arrived, it was cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious! Our mains were okay, the steaks weren't fully cooked to order but we were all satisfied. When it came to desserts, my mum ordered the souffle which if I'm honest, I would avoid. Not only was it very late in coming out - possibly the chefs second attempt - it wasn't cooked properly and didn't look at all appetizing.

However!!

The staff were absolutely fantastic. We (a table of 5) would all come back to the restaurant as the waitresses handling the table went above and beyond to rectify the errors, as well as congratulating me on my graduation on arrival. Due to the mistakes they reduced the bill, which we hadn't asked them to do.They managed to stay composed with the delays and smiley throughout the evening.

Overall, the meal left a little to be desired (I would recommend not going on the first night of a new menu as there seemed to be some kinks to sort out in the kitchen) but the staff in this restaurant are definitely 5 star!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinoshoaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Sorry to hear of the few mistakes that occurred during your meal with us. Firstly thank you for your honest feedback. We have looked at the issues that you have mentioned and rectified them. I'm glad to hear that the service team took good care of you and your family, I have passed your comments to them. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playfair's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Playfair's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing