We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Playfair's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$44
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Playfair's is one of the oldest established restaurants in St Andrews and continues to offer great value for high end casual dining in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. All our food is freshly prepared with ingredients from local independent businesses wherever possible. Our dishes are created in house by our experienced chefs led by Head Chef Duncan McLachlan. Duncan's skills were refined at Gleneagles before he joined Playfair's last year, and we now have three highly trained Gleneagles chefs. To complement the food there is a tempting wine list with great choices offered at reasonable prices. We also serve a wide selection of beers including more unusual choices such as a St Andrews Ale and our very own Playfair's Ale Our day menu is available from12 noon in the restaurant and bar and offers dishes for a casual meal such as Bookmaker Sandwiches and Highlander Steak Burgers as well as homemade soup and fresh salads. Alongside this, the brand new lunch menu, served until 6pm in the restaurant, offers a choice of delicious dishes for a fixed price of £12.95 for two courses and £14.95 for three. The A La Carte menu, served from 6pm, has a range of dishes from prime steaks served with chunky hand cut chips and local mussels in a spiced tomato sauce to more exotic daily specials which celebrate the best in seasonal produce. Children can enjoy their own exciting menu, also prepared from fresh ingredients, in both Playfair's restaurant and bar. Join us in Playfair's and enjoy good food as it should be.
exeter
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Love this local Restaurant. Lovely staff, great food and nice surrounding - what more would you want?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank luludExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear luludExeter,

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in St Andrews

Kind regards

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    227
    44
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent supper!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner here on our last night at St Andrew's. Had the Orkney scallops as a starter and poached Shetland fillet...extremely yum!

Helpful?
Thank kolaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kolaboy,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time your in St Andrews.

Regards

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Darren Trimble and the staff at Playfair's Restaurant in St. Andrew's, Scotland treated us to an excellent evening.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The four of us had excellent meals at this restaurant. From the red headed female bartender to the waiter and waitress staff, we had an excellent evening. First time to have Haggis and it was excellent. We also had salmon tar-tar, another favorite appetizer. The entry's were all good and the desserts were out of this world. The sticky toffee pudding was especially fantastic. Definitely two thumbs up. Also want to add, have a happy and memorable wedding, Darren.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Dennis,

Firstly thank you so much for the great feedback. Both our kitchen and service team are delighted to hear your comments. We pride ourselves on great food in a relaxed environment. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in St Andrews. We'll pass your best wishes on to Darren

Many thanks

Gary Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1 pound for bread”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Food was good but they charge around 1 pound for 1 small piece of bread. Seriously? ?...waitress and service was good

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank d t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear d t,

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your recent visit to our restaurant. We are constantly looking at ways of improving. Please email me directly on darren@ardgowanhotel.co.uk to discuss your comments further

Kind regards

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere fun place”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A good place to grab a drink or light dinner. Great, friendly service. Get a 'crumble' dessert! Open late, too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mark P,

Thank you for your great feedback. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in St Andrews

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playfair's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Playfair's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing