We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, well priced”

Playfair's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 155 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$50
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Playfair's is one of the oldest established restaurants in St Andrews and continues to offer great value for high end casual dining in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. All our food is freshly prepared with ingredients from local independent businesses wherever possible. Our dishes are created in house by our experienced chefs led by Head Chef Duncan McLachlan. Duncan's skills were refined at Gleneagles before he joined Playfair's last year, and we now have three highly trained Gleneagles chefs. To complement the food there is a tempting wine list with great choices offered at reasonable prices. Children can enjoy their own exciting menu, also prepared from fresh ingredients, in both Playfair's restaurant and bar. Join us in Playfair's and enjoy good food as it should be.
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner Playfairs, great steaks with good service and reasonably priced. Staff we're attentive and accommodating.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant. We're delighted to hear your comments about our steaks and service. We hope you enjoyed your visit to St Andrews and look forward to seeing you again next time your in St Andrews

Regards

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 556 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our foursome had dinner here after a day on the links. Short wait for a table gave us time to select beers. The bartender patiently explained the differences and gave us samples to help decide. Small place with not many tables, but very nice. Had to try the Haggis, Neeps and Taties appetizer. It was a good way to sample the local favorites. Also had the onion rings which were also good. For dinner, we tried the burger, Rump steak and Salmon. My salmon was delicious. The only thing that was odd was they only gave us 1 piece of bread each. There was an additional charge for more. We thought the waitress was kidding when she said that. Anyway, sticky toffee pudding all around for dessert- yum! So, if you are looking for a nice place that isn't a pub after golf, this is a great spot to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Dan H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We delighted to heat your comments about the food. Our kitchen team take great pride in their bread and it is made fresh on the premises everyday. The first slice is complementary, however additional slices are chargeable and we are upfront about this. We hope you enjoyed your stay in St Andrews and looking forward to welcoming you back next time your in the area

Regards

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were 4 couples on a golf trip and looking for a meal on our first night. Walking around town we stumbled on this place. Service was excellent and friendly. The mussels were excellent and the salmon tasty and moist. Tennents beer was sampled by several and they also had a wine list. Would definitely recommend for a casual meal at very reasonable prices

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear maapar,

Thank you taking the time to review Playfair's. Our kitchen team is delighted to hear your comments about mussels and salmon. We hope you enjoyed your visit to St Andrews and look to welcoming you back next time you are in the area

Regards

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our service was wonderful, the food was tasty and fresh. The waitress courteous and mindful. We sat outside on the quiet patio and enjoyed a wonderful dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank pia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear pia60,

Thank you taking the time to give us a such a great review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. Our patio area fills up very quickly during the hot summer days, so we are glad that you were able to take advantage of it during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit St Andrews

Regards

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Great food and excellent friendly service. Well priced! We enjoyed our visit and will return. Outside seating in demand so requires booking in advance

Thank Jeff045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Playfair's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Jeff045,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We strive towards meeting our guest's expectations of great food and service. We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your dinner with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Darren Trimble
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playfair's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Playfair's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing